We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Villa Helena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Helena
Ranked #18 of 149 Pondicherry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the villa for about 4-5 days in July and had a great time. The staff and owners are cordial and friendly and very helpful. The villa itself is perfectly located in one of the better parts of Pondicherry, close to the center of town, close to the best restaurants and within a 5 min walk of the beach. The interiors of the villa were fabulous, a quaint french villa, spacious rooms with balconies and patios, which made for some very picturesque photos. You will not regret spending a few days here the next time you're in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivTrasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    40
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
62
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We planned a trip to Villa Helena in August 2013, after reading all the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The property is set in a colonial bunglow of the british era, with lazy arm chairs and british look. Lovely rooms with a porch. Loved the garden and the Terrace areas. Rooms were huge with equaly huge bathrooms. Breakfast spread was decent.

Cons -- No hand shower or mug in the loos, which were a huge backdraw if you are travelling with kids.
They give preference to foriegners as compared to indians. Give the best rooms to them and the service rendered towards them is better than what was given to us. We were not allowed to have breakfast at the lawn area as few europeans were seated there.
Would definately go only for the ambience and feel, but not for the service.

Room Tip: Try choosing the room on terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunitaNandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Villa Helena was a delightful surprise where we ended up staying for three nights, always thrilled to return to a beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable room and private balcony. The garden is well maintained, the antique furniture a delight.
Breakfast is redundant, that would be my only criticism.

Room Tip: The T1 room is huge and the bathroom spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth33000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

There is a big problem with visiting the Villa Helena: not much else in India will live up to it after you've stayed there. This place felt like a home from home and Gregory is the perfect host. It's tastefully decorated, calm, cool and in the perfect location for exploring Pondicherry. We inevitably extended our stay, a couple of nights here just isn't enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed there for one night in the deluxe room. The room is missing basic amenties like Extension , Jet for the Loo (Very important) , Tea Coffee maker . The shower doesnt work properly. There is no one to attend in case of any issues / problems. They say Wi fi is available although it doesnt work in the rooms. One has to go out in their courtyard to use the same . In a nutshell , I felt the stay was not very comfortable and relaxing as one wants it to be when goinfg for a vacation. Also the breakfast is pathetic . They give canned juice , a bowl of fruits whic are cut i guess at abt 6 am in the morning and refrigerated .Some bagguettes and butter and jam . The staff is not very welcoming and hospitable . Once we checked out and made our payments the staff didnt bother to even help us keep pur luggage in the auto . I would say they really need to imprve on lot of things to help people have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardiva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Arrived after being recommended this Villa by a French family we met in Munnar. We were not disappointed. 'Chic' - boutique and wonderful atmosphere. Also had one of the quietest A/C systems in the whole of India

The owners are planning to renovate some areas but are keen to keep the right balance of old colonial charm without making it too perfect - as some of the other villas in the area do look a little too grand - hey have cleaned out the ghosts!

Only (minor) fault is that for the overall reasonable price - the breakfast could have been a little more special - throw in the odd croissant or two along with the toast.
The evening porter also doubled as the waiter at breakfast and he was a lovely charming man.

Room Tip: Go for one of the two higher priced rooms - they are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed 4 nights in Villa Helena and I would rate Villa Helena as good, it is a great location in the French quarter in Pondicherry, walking distance to all main sights and good restaurants.
The place is charming, quite "brut" though needs urgently some refreshing and tasteful renovation. The owner told me they are going to do this during 1 1/2 months soon.
Staff on site is not very friendly, pushing for tips, passive and not able to make any decision or advice (restaurant for instance) without owner. I arrived at 3 in the morning after a 3 hours drive from Chenai Airport, they did not offer me a glass of water or put a bottle in the room. Pricing could be more transparent. There are some basics in "guest services and hotel management" to put in place and this would be an excellent, charming and well located place in Pondicherry . Good luck.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Reinardus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#24 of 82 in Pondicherry
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helena

Property: Villa Helena
Address: 13 Rue Bussy Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Guest house in the heart of the Pondicherry's old town The "Villa Helena", by her heritage architecture, her authenticity, her charm and her beautiful and lush garden, is truly the best way to discover the charming past of the old french counter.In contrast to India's perpetual movement, Villa Helena offers to every traveller looking for a unique experience, a really peaceful abode.More over she is perfectly located, near by the sea and best restaurants, bars and boutiques ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Helena Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing