We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Disaster.........Pls avoid”
Review of Hotel Mass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mass
Ranked #61 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Complete Disaster.........Pls avoid”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I had stayed their along with my family (16 adults +2 infants)on Aug 15th 2013 at Hotel Mass. We had booked 7 rooms for 2 nights :((
However, we had the worst experience with the Hotel which was part of MAKE MY TRIP package.

1. Rooms were very dusty (unhygienic to stay with kids)
2. No floor matts, no menu, no towels,no hot water in bathroom
3. Poor service- we literally had to beg to get the above things
4. Family had to wait for almost 45-60 min to get one sandwich /food served was cold
5. Staff was highlty unco-operative "khanna hai to khau"
6. Charging points location- below television /behind bed -highly unaccessible
7. Cramped & dusty bathrooms
8. Eaten Plates not cleaned for more than 12 hours

As we had reached late night, we had no option but to spend the night. In morning inspite of assurances from the General Manager -nothing was done.
This is not expected from a 3 star hotel- Lack of Basic amenitities.

Hotel manager replied saying we are overbooked & trying our best. Somehow we managed to get 3 upgraded rooms to Deluxe after lot of fighting with MAKE MY TRIP & HOTEL MASS due to infants
We could instantly feel the difference- so much difference between the room category - Executive to Deluxe

We felt completely cheated ,our entire vacation was spoilt due to this physical & mental trauma.
Also hotel doesnt show the executive room category on website, on calling they will say rooms are same only facilities are different.

So please avoid this hotel as all cost............

Room Tip: Room Tip: Avoid Standard & Executive rooms . Those are worse. Basically avoid Wing 2 (numbers st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shraddha_K82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    37
    42
    12
    27
See reviews for
55
28
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Our family stay at this hotel was good and comfortable.Although located in a busy area, the rooms were nice and clean.Food quality is good, more variety in buffet/breakfast is much appreciated. Has a central A/C which covers reception and room approach areas also.We stayed in executive rooms which was maintained well, bathrooms can be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAR-BLORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Me and my cousin went with family, location wise hotel is good as its near the bus stand. But hotel service needs to be improved. As we asked for a mosquito coil but we did nt get it after calling 3 times also. And also our TV was not working. Rooms are decent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anshul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had to book this hotel after we cancelled our earlier booking at Prince Park resort. We checked in on 9th Aug and Checked out on 11th Aug.
Uncooperative staff and we had to shell out money for the buffet food which we never completed because of mismanagement of staff. We waited for Roti for more than 30-40 mins and even after that we did not get it. We lodged an official complaint with Front manager Mr Shankar and he assured us that it will taken up with the management and it will not be charged but at the time of check out it was billed on us. Even though we had not signed the bill. We were even threatened if we fail to pay.
We discussed this matter with GM, Mr. John who assured us of action against errant staff.

Positive Points:
1: Good location, right near bus stop.
2: Good room.
3: Good parking space

Negative Points:
1: Horrible restaurant management, no change in menu.
2: Not able to manage crowd and could not serve.
3: Unprofessional staff as they mixed Veg and Non-Veg utensils.
4: Rooms are old fashioned.
5: Dirty water in bathroom.
6: Double bedroom has two separate beds instead of one bed.

Not preferred as it will leave you unsatisfied with the services.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adityatiwari2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed the weekend of Aug 9th at Hotel Mass. My parents had stayed here about 8 years ago and they were extremely happy with the Hotel at that time, as a result we booked 2 rooms for the weekend.

However, we had a disappointing experience with the Hotel.

The Good:
1. The rooms are spacious, moderately lit
2. Centrally airconditioned
3. Towels and soaps were provided which were convenient
4. Newspaper in the morning

The Bad
1. There was no water in the bathrooms for the flush the first day, it was better the second, but still barely so
2. There was no hot water in the morning, it was restored at about 11, but was completely muddy
3. There was no mat outside the bathroom door, leading to the room getting wet and muddy when people had baths or washed their feet
4. Its not friendly for families because the beds are separate and it is difficult to share space with small kids, but there is a separate sofa which can be used for kids that sleep alone and do not need guard rails at home (they might have rooms with joined beds, but despite specifically booking with children mentioned we were given rooms with separate beds)
5. The restaurant is poor, the taste of indian food is very good, but it takes a godawful time for it to come, and the service there is atrocious (orders take more than 30 minutes, we needed 4 followups to get coffee at breakfast, etc)
6. While the restaurant menu is comprehensive you get nothing other than common Indian dishes

Room Tip: Avoid Wing 2 (numbers starting with 2) because that's where there were issues. I am guessing win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArijitChatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel Mass, though located in a bit congested area offers a comfortable stay once inside. Rooms are big enough and furniture tidy and comfortable. Bathrooms are well appointed and spacious. Room service is reasonable good. The restaurants offer multi-cuisine food, quality is also good. Over ambiance is cosy and refreshing. Offers value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side do not have a good view. Prefer rooms on north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travepass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Hotel Mass is located nearby Pondicherry Bus Stand. The entrance / exit attracts mob and is crowded due to its location. Rooms are less spacious and clean. Room service needs to be improved and should be serviced fast. Staff should be courteous and pleasing which is lacking here. There is a scope for improvement by providing appropriate training to the staff. I was able to strike a better discounted price (20%) while checking in. Most of the services claimed in their web sites are missing here. TV is old and needs to be upgaraded to LCD / LED. Overall this hotel can be choosen for one day Business visit. Not recommended for family trip / vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen-Timken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#49 of 80 in Pondicherry
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 80 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#29 of 80 in Pondicherry
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#51 of 80 in Pondicherry
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#34 of 80 in Pondicherry
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ginger Pondicherry
Ginger Pondicherry
#40 of 80 in Pondicherry
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mass

Property: Hotel Mass
Address: 152 Marai Malai Adigal Salai | Near bus stand, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mass 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mass Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing