We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Mass

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mass
Ranked #59 of 76 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice rooms”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We went to pondicherry in january and the experience was really great one coz of the rock beach and second coz of this hotel.
we got complimentary breakfast which was really good and the room was so nice that we extended our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoojaSarveshSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    37
    42
    12
    27
See reviews for
55
28
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I was planning for a trip to Pondicherry with my wife. This was our first trip in 2 years. I got to know about this hotel from one of my friend, who is from Pondicherry. When I checked about this hotel in net, it was ok sort of. I checked in tripadvisor and makemytrip also. As per the facilities in the hotel, it was overpriced. But thanks to makemytrip, I got the room in half the price. I opted for Delux room. As per Hotel Mass, cost of deluxe room is Rs. 4, 200 per night which I felt is over priced. I got it for Rs. 6, 300 for 3 nights and 4 days. So that comes to around Rs. 2100 per night. This included buffet breakfast.

Hotel is around 300 metres from the bus stand, in main city.

Pros:



In Main city, around 300 mts. from Bus Stand



Good and supportive staff.



Nice ambiance



I opted for Deluxe Room. Room is good.



Good Housekeeping done by staff.





Cons:



Over Priced



Same menu for breakfast for all days.



No knowledge on Cutlaries by waiter staff, which to an extent matters to me. Like Soup was served in a small katori, which is used for serving Dal in local hotels.



No facilities. Only Spa is there, that too highly over priced. One Head massage is Rs. 800.





Will I stay here again, if I go to Pondicherry? Yes, but only if I get same deal again. If I have to pay the original Price of the hotel, then no.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmritPalSingh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Mass is living on its past glory. The beds, tables, chairs,... have not changed since the doors opened. The room, however, was spotless as was the bath. Plenty of hot water. The breakfast buffet was quite nice. The dinners I had were also quite good. I highly recommend the strawberry milkshakes -- ask for extra ice cream instead of ice! Very quiet once the outside traffic slows. The staff were attentive and friendly. The young man who cleaned my room was also good in English, which would have been quite helpful had I needed anything. Great location. One major drawback was the lack of wifi, tho there are two Internet cafes on either side of the building. If they don't want to slide into oblivion, 1) update the rooms to 2014 standards, and, 2) add wifi!

Room Tip: Chatting with others at breakfast, I think all rooms were quiet. The front facing rooms could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookworm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The hotel is situated very near to most of the main places like railway station,promenade beach.The rooms are overpriced and still using old television sets with only south indian channels with 3-4 other language channels.the food is very costly.The staff though is very friendly and caring.the food taste is good.the phone in the lift in new block does not work.As i got stuck up for a shortwhile in the lift the phone was not functioning like a toy phone.the bus stand is very near to the hotel for private as well as state buses.you can plan trips to kodaikanal,ooty and kanyakumari from there by SRS travels and PArveen Travels.Just 5 minutes walk from hotel.DO NOT take the autorickshaws from the front of the hotel.They just have a union and will push you to pay high.

Room Tip: rooms in the new block are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOUMYAB_271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Room was big. Bathroom was not that clean. Bed is also ok. No proper TV and Fridge. Location is good. Food is very bad. Don't eat here. Breakfast was ok. House keeping service was good. They were quick for service.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Manish_Gheewala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Blanket and Pillow was smelling like it was kept there for long days.Room was same smelling like not open from long days.Breakfast was nice and lunch and dinner also fine but little costly. Front people is good to help.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Neeraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The room was large but pretty basic for what was probably a little overpriced hotel. The restaurant was clean and the food was ok. There was no wifi and it was a bit of a walk to get to our room, the hotel was situated on a busy road.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.7 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#28 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#47 of 76 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Abi Krishna
Hotel Abi Krishna
#62 of 76 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#46 of 76 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ginger Pondicherry
Ginger Pondicherry
#39 of 76 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mass

Property: Hotel Mass
Address: 152 Marai Malai Adigal Salai | Near bus stand, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 76 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mass 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mass Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing