We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday ruined by bad management.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday ruined by bad management.”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The Dune eco village welcomes you to 42 acres of artistic brilliance, with everything from the sunny clean beaches to quaint theme based cottages; right from traditional Kerala to a dream doll house accompanied with a rejuvenating spa.

However, when you join the dots - you are faced with the harsh reality of how a bad run management can ruin a perfect vacation - starting from assigning you to a wrong tiny yet cozy cottage instead of a bigger comfortable wood house that you reserved, extremely low quality food for the price, frozen day old fish instead of a fresh catch from the Bay of Bengal, and last but not the least - a very poor spread in the dinning area. You also realize that the management doesn't really care about your feedback - with their only answer being 'we will discuss this in our meeting'.

I would recommend this place only to those who have the money to spend on a mediocre holiday for the price of a exotic vacation.

Room Tip: Learnt it the hard way... the Wood House 3 & 4 are actually Doll House 1 & 2 (tiny yet cozy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    253
    94
    44
    72
See reviews for
307
244
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My fourth trip, and as always the resort is a breath of fresh air. Loved the Bangle room's pretty designs with broken pieces of colored bangle. Would rate this the prettiest room I've stayed in so far. Spacious, private, close to restaurant, and big bathroom. Breakfast was superb and they accommodated special requests with grace. Pool and beach are amazing.

But...
1. The shower is too short and is not positioned properly over the bathtub.
2. The room needs more lights at night, especially the bathroom. Lighting is dim.
3. We were two adults and two kids and all 4 bikes we got were rusty and out of alignment. The kids bikes were hardly usable on the rough roads within the resort. The salt air corrodes, so maintaining bikes is essential. Kids soon gave up trying to ride them. There were no extra bikes available, so we didn't get replacements.
4. The DVDs we borrowed from the restaurant were scratched. It's frustrating when kids are watching something and it stops, and they have to restart all the way from the beginning. The DVD players are archaic.
5. While the room was pretty, the roof was made of what looked like plywood pieces put together. Nothing artistic or quirky about that. Cheap, lazy...these are the adjectives that come to mind.
6. Usually i enjoy eating at the FUN restaurant, but this time dinner was chaotic, food was delayed, and some of it was just average.
7. Looks like there needs to be better management at the restaurant, and better maintenance and attention to detail overall.

Dune is a family favorite, so I hope the wrinkles are ironed out and we have some good bikes, better DVD players and DVDs, and efficient service next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Been2Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I'd rate this lower if not for a couple of friendly people at the front desk that really helped when needed.
We stayed in accommodation that would qualify as backpacking material - thatch with lizard droppings on the sheets. I've travelled 3rd class from Chennai to Kolkata so I know unclean !
The entry to the hut is very child unfriendly. My son fell and had to have 6 stitches to close a cm long cut. The first aid is located in the spa, the people at the spa do not know what has to be administered and kept asking me what i wanted. No wrap bandages available, and i was offered part of a gauze bandage, actually cut in front of me as though it was gold i was asking for ! Not kid friendly at all!!! refer attached photo for details
The food is nothing to speak of. I understand the health and nature thingy here, but to have no salt in your food is awful. Breakfast is nothing to speak of. the spread is mostly fruits, lousy dosa's, hard idly's and weird muesli. The egg station is the saving grace. the seafood was average with no specials of the day for the time we were there. The worst part, there is no separate smoking zone which i believe is mandated by law. there were many foreigners merrily smoking in the main eating area. wonder how the health thing fits in here !!!
The lighting in the hut was low powered CFLs in arty lampshades which actually blocked most of the light. CFLS are to be used as is and not to be put in enclosed shades-says so on the box. The carpet grass in front of the hut probably ensured we had a steady supply of mosquito's for the night. The mosquito net was several inches short so couldnt be tucked into the bed. The saving grace was a mosquito repellant device which gave out an eerie orange light throughout the night.
Cycling though a good idea need to be followed up with properly maintained bikes considering the paths are all mud.
Saving grace was the kiddy pool, the hammocks and the easy access to the beach.

For the price we paid, this was a let down. Certainly a no-no for a second visit. we'll head to the french q the next time..

Room Tip: dont choose the stilts please. try the flex room though
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Oh it was an amazing experience.
We stayed in the Thatched hut which at the first glance didn't impress me but once you go inside, you'll be mesmerised by the bed and the minimal yet essential interiors.
The bathrooms are nice and big and one of kind, actually... ;)
Loved the idea of the sit out, you can sit there on the quieter evening, grab something to drink, feel the breeze and enjoy your time with friends and loved ones.
They provide bikes/bicycles to move around the property. But the seats are really extremely uncomfortable !!!

The pool is perfectly done and lit. Also, they have the changing room next to it.

And their breakfast spread is one of the best !!
Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Recently stayed at the Dune for the second time. Overall the experience was terrific, the staff were extremely helpful and the food at the restaurant was exceptional. It was also wonderful to be in the thick of nature, although I can understand why that aspect may overwhelm some guests. One drawback would be the quality of the room we stayed in. Although nice, it was starting to show its age a little and could use a coat of paint. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at Dune and loved every feature and the overall spirit of the village/hotel with a unique cottage experience. The people were kind and helpful, the restaurant food was impeccable and offered enough variety to eat in daily! In addition, the atmosphere was artistic, inspiring and calm. If I had to make a suggestion, it would be to provide more evening entertainment since the hotel is far from the city. Otherwise, a great pleasure and I would recommend to all!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We had booked dune for new year 2011 celebration. On our first night the Cyclone was forecast. The management knew everything but didn't inform the guest about it. On the day of cyclone we didn't get proper food to eat. In the entire property of 42acres they have kept only 4 staff to help during night time. There was a heavy leakage in our room but no one came for help. Staff knew about the leakage but didn't offer us another room. Entire night without lights we watched all the tiles were falling out, trees were falling, Kindly see the photos to understand. The management was not at all ready with any back up plan for basic needs like Food, candles, torch, first aid box etc In the morning no one bother to check our condition. We had to manage everything by our self. I have traveled all over world like USA, NEW ZEALAND, AUSTRALIA, EUROPE,CHINA, MANY PARTS OF INDIA but never seen such bad management. DON'T EVER GO TO DUNE EVEN IF IT IS FREE........you will be treated like Baggers’. The management had left us on Gods mercy.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the management is terrible. Don't go even if you get free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Neha_dadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
12.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
1.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 80 in Pondicherry
759 reviews
13.1 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#42 of 80 in Pondicherry
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
591 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
469 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dune Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Property: The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Address: | Pudhukuppam, Keelputhupet Village, via Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 605014, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dune Eco Village & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our village is designed for travelers who are looking for a place for a long, leisurely stay surrounded by tranquility, peace, and comfort. This 25-acre eco-friendly beach village features uniquely designed bungalows and cottages, a swimming pool, a tennis court and 700m of pristine beach. The Dune welcomes guests all through the year. We aim to create an environment "to live in harmony with nature and men". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dune Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dune Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing