We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, Relaxing but Overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quirky, Relaxing but Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Having lived in India for over 3 years we have experienced all levels of hotels in differing states. This is really at the core a nice concept with great staff. The staff were helpful, attentive and kind (with activity at cow & pottery written off as a language barrier). The concept is good... Large acreage, with your own bike to get around at your convenience (needing new locks and some oil). Fun activities for the kids but there was no schedule in our room as told on check in. We missed the activities the first day. The second day we couldn't find the cows and although we arrived before timing was over we were told no. Another guest stepped in and helped translate but it was a rushed experience albeit kind of cool. Pottery was the same story- my kids barely got to make a pot but the adult woman was given plenty of time and helped to make a nice dish. The next day someone had broken my sons pot that was set out to dry by the staff...hummm? Our last morning at checkout we noticed a chaulk board around the corner with all sorts of information, wish it wasn't tucked away. Beach was close and we could hear the waves from the pool side restaurant although we couldn't see them. It's funny to me to build a restaurant & hotel on the beach with no view (with the exception of the tower room, I think?). The beach was fun though, the kids played and we walked to both ends picking up shells.The "Portal" ( entry) to the beach is creative and makes for a great pic. The pool was very well done and the little restaurant next to it quaint, although everything shut down right before sunset... again a bit bizarre. The main restaurant was well managed, the food good and serene. I've eaten a lot of Dosas and Sambar, and these were some of the best yet, served at breakfast as part of a copious buffet. We stayed in the Gramam suite which was dark had shoddy drapes and was missing the touch that would give the feel of artsy luxury. We are from Texas... Austin is the heart of zainy luxury, salt of the earth yet cultured. EcoDune was so close to being great but missed the mark. If it had not cost so much my expectations would have been lower and then I think I would have walked away saying it was brilliant. You should not charge 5 star prices for a 3 star experience... maybe I just got the wrong suite.

Room Tip: This is a good stop between Chennai and Pondi for a beach break. Choose the room wisely as cost does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMandLittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    248
    90
    42
    69
See reviews for
297
240
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visited this place during the last long weekend (April 18) . Found this place thru Tripadvisor and booked directly .
Excellent property very courteous staff , I would like to specially mention the manager Umapathy- you ask for any information he will have a printout ready for that.
Thoroughly enjoyed cycling,pool,private beach especially the morning walk on the beach.


The biggest disappointment was the food, tasteless and overpriced-

A different holiday experience

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renjithmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was my wife's birthday and thought of taking her to this place. Came to know about Dune from my friend. We were totally impressed with the service provided by the staff. Starting from the watchman/security at the gate to the front desk staff, house keeping staff, restaurant staffs, everyone was very polite and helpful all the time. Its a nice place to get relaxed without any noise or pollution or any kind of disturbance. We stayed the Garden Room (AC) which is very close to the FUN restaurant. Room service was quick and good. Room was very clean. In the evening took a walk to the beach. Private beach could have been maintained a little more to keep it clean. few things which can still be improved are, cleanliness around the property (pathway, lawn, gardens, etc), can improve their food menu and DVD collections as well.
Ultimately, this property is a bit expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prabhaharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Recently, my friends and I visited Dune, an Eco Village Beach Resort, 17 kms before Pondicherry. The resort is run by a French couple. The resort has nearly 65 themed houses and spread over 35 acres of land. No two bungalows are alike, and each one is uniquely designed and created by various artists, designers and architects from all around the world. All the houses are fully equipped with solar water systems, low consumption bulbs and organic linen. Not all their accommodation has air conditioning for environmental reasons, however, most of the time, there is a refreshing sea breeze which you can enjoy from the comfort of your own private garden, lounge or terrace. The resort has a spa, DVD library and a pool table too.

We arrived at the resort by 11:00am and went straight to the reception. We had booked for a Baywatch house that faces the sea. However on arrival, the manager indicated to us that the previous guests had still not vacated and may leave only by 3pm despite the check out being 12pm and the check in being at 11am. We did not want to make a fuss so instead asked the manager if there are any other rooms which are available. He indicated that there is a Bamboo house that is available but again that will be open for us by 1pm as the cleaning was going on. We still had two hours to go for our check in. In the meantime, the manager suggested we take a quick look at the Bamboo house and tour the resort before checking in. So, we walked to the Bamboo house which was 4 minutes from the reception. We saw the Bamboo house and it looked extremely spacious and nice. The toilet looked spacious too, had a nice shower and wash basin and many mirrors. There were three beds, one table, two chairs, two bottles of water, mini fridge, wardrobe with a security locker, two table fans, one ceiling fan and low dim lights. It appeared very cozy and relaxing. There was a lounge area which had 3 sofas, two glass top tables and a ceiling fan. Even more interesting, there was a hammock outside the house too.

The manager asked us if we would like to take a look at the other restaurants, swimming pool and the way to the beach. We said yes and continued walking to these places. On the way, we saw a tennis court and volleyball court too. We started liking the place and it was time for us to make a decision to opt between a Bamboo House and the Baywatch House which we initially booked for. After a long discussion, we decided to opt for the bamboo House. Since the cleaning was in progress, we paid the rent and then took the bicycles, a part of the resort which each guest gets, and rode to the restaurant that faces the restaurant. We had a couple of drinks and nibble before we checked in.

At 1:30pm, we checked in to our rooms and relaxed for a while before venturing out. During the night, we used 2 table fans and the ceiling fan while sleeping as the room was getting hotter considering it is summer time. We had a good undisturbed sleep that night. The next morning, we used the swimming pool which was extremely clean and nice despite a couple of crows drinking water to quench their thirst. The water was a bit cold and soothing to beat the heat. We had breakfast and dinner the previous night at the main restaurant situated in the middle of the resort. Follow my Blog for the restaurant review - http://pritishyaitsme.blogspot.com


Overall, we were extremely satisfied with Dune Resort and strongly recommend to people who want to unwind for a day or two along with their spouse/family. For those who want to spend their honeymoon or pamper yourselves, I suggest you to choose the Tower Suite, which is the only house on the top and has a Jacuzzi. It also face the sea and has a breathtaking view of the entire environment. We were told that it is a bit more expensive than other rooms but is definitely worth it.

Disadvantages - You call the Reception or Restaurant and order for something, it will arrive very late.

Minimum Rate Per Night - Rs 5500/-

Room Tip: Honeymoon Couple - Tower Suite or any Room that has an aircon else people can hear from outside when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pritish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Dune Eco Beach Hotel is the ultimate get-away. Beautiful designed bungalows (with or without AC), more than enough space, excellent food, great beach, fine Spa and Yoga and very nice staff who will go out of their way for you. Their is a farm on the grounds where they grow their own products. Very organic and delicious. Everything is very 'eco-friendly'.The thing I really liked is that a community college is situated on the premises. Part of the hotel revenues go to this college. Youngsters get a vocational training here they otherwise would probably not receive. This college is open voor visitors! It is a no-brainer: just book and go!

Room Tip: In hot season book a room with AC. In cold season (dec-febr) AC not necessary. Book an Ayerveda-day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenHoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a great place to unwind yourself...excellent....very unique and very comfortable...i loved this place...and would want to visit again and again.....I would like to recommend this place to a whole bunch of friends....

One thing that they can improve upon is constantly improving the collection of DVDs...keep it updated.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here a couple nights on my way south from Chennai.
No paved roads here! Bicycle from room to beach side pool and spa, or just walk in hot tropical sun. Listen to ocean surf at night when it cools down just a bit. Want nothing but a bathing suit on all say at ocean or pool. Great Aruvedic massage in spa.
Rustic and slightly primitive so open to nature here.
Close drive to Pondicherry.

Room Tip: I stayed in Garden Room 1, second story with huge deck pointed towards ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drtike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
4.4 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
9.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.8 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 73 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dune Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Property: The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Address: | Pudhukuppam, Keelputhupet Village, via Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 605014, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dune Eco Village & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our village is designed for travelers who are looking for a place for a long, leisurely stay surrounded by tranquility, peace, and comfort. This 25-acre eco-friendly beach village features uniquely designed bungalows and cottages, a swimming pool, a tennis court and 700m of pristine beach. The Dune welcomes guests all through the year. We aim to create an environment "to live in harmony with nature and men". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Dune Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dune Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing