We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in pondy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best resort in pondy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a great stay, the rooms are great, comfy, the manager is very obliging, makes the guest feel at home, complimentary breakfast was really good, wide varieties of food. The resort as such is very relaxing , free from WIfi( only in the restuarant the guest can use the internet with their password) no cable TV, which makes family time priority and all the activities like pottery making, yoga, meditation are amazing. we felt very rejuvenitated after 7 days stay. Of course it is worth the money spent. I highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    249
    92
    42
    71
See reviews for
301
241
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, the first day we stayed at the bamboo house (Non AC) and the season being peak summer, the non AC rooms can be very hot. On the second day we requested to be moved to an AC room, which luckily for us was available for that day.
All the rooms get bicycles, but quite a few of them were not well maintained. Restaurant offers a good variety of dishes, but are very expensive, given that only breakfast is complimentary.
The entire staff were very courteous and the hospitality was good.
The common areas and the lanes leading to the rooms can be better illuminated as they are pretty dark and the rooms are quite far from the restaurant and reception.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srinidhi_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirupur, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This was our second trip to Dune and we stayed at the same room. Though a bit expensive, this eco resort is well maintained and the staff are very friendly. But I must add that the lizard problem has to be sorted out or the resort will certainly lose quite a few repeat customers.
Overall a memorable experience. The 'cycle only' commute strictly enforced by the resort is a great idea but a number of the cycles need to be replaced as they are all in 'pathetic' condition.
Food and food service are superb.
A suggestion: Continuous innovation and implementation of exciting new activities while maintaining the existing facilities in great condition is the only way that Dune can maintain the exorbitant pricing and making this eco-resort welcoming to the repeat customer. If this is not done, then this resort will simply be a one-visit wonder thereby guaranteeing the decline in quality and standards of this marvellous place. I wish to see this place prosper and 'be different'

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gautham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the silver room for 2 nights and the room was infested with lizards. Our complaints were completely ignored and all they kept saying is they would fumigate the room but did nothing at all. The tub also had some 3 or 4 lizards so we never entered. The photos all look nice in the website but in reality the place is horrible and expensive, they don't offer anything at all for the money we pay. The linen was blood stained and they didn't change it also. Stay away from this place. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarv22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

we were allotted the baywatch3 house. it was the farthest from the reception and the restaurant !. when we asked for the options, the manager this would suit us without any explanations !. we shelled out nearly 3k for a kid and adult extra !. and they said the breakfast is complimentary !. when this is overpriced like this ! they can as well give lunch and dinner as complimentary !. with ac rooms the charges are still extra !. ours was a nature cooled one (meaning non a/c), the breakfast was good , but the cycling and the trekking from the room to the restaurant and the pool makes one tired !. may be, this one tries to make us fit !. the cycles were all in poor condition and the tyres were all punctured !. but no one seemed to care !. there were unnecessary interferences in the swimming pool (only for indians). foreigners were left undisturbed eventhough they were doing the same things !. some even had alcoholic drinks !it reminded of colonial times !.it was very hot during the day and somehow managed to sleep during the night as it was a bit cooler ! ac rooms are advisable as mosquitoes and other insects are prone to enter !. the service however was very good after we protested !. lot to improve still !. the experience was exotic no doubt !. the idea is superb ! but the implementation part is poorly done !. the roads could have been better !. the activities were good !. but i doubt whether i will return again to the same place ! choose the rooms wisely before booking lest you may be in for disappointments !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitcha6908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The place definitely is different and a typical eco resort; Rooms are well thought off but can be expensive. Great beach; Small pool but there is a separate kids pool as well. All rooms get bicycles - a good thing; but not all of them are good; The internal lanes are not well laid and could be an issue during rains and during night; Good ground staff and good food! Spacious rooms/cottages;

Overall, the family was spread across three rooms; all different; great stay especially with kids; Pricing could definitely be better!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went to The Dune after nearly two years of booking as we had to cancel our earlier booking due to a cyclone in 2012. But the entire trip was worth the wait!

The service levels are exemplary. The ambience of the entire project is so beautiful, green and relaxing. The design of the villas are unique and different from all the other places that we have stayed till date.The food is tad bit expensive but the taste of everything we ate was so simple yet exotic. I regret that we forget to thank the chef on our way back.

We were welcomed at the entrance by a friendly security person and then we were escorted to our villa by the staff in their van, and they gave us a tour of the property before heading to our villa. Each and every person there was so courteous and served with a smile at all times. Very helpful and always ready to offer assistance...with a smile of course.

Since they have an organic farm within the property the food is organic and "Clean". There are many activities which excited the kids...such as Pottery, milking the cow, Kite flying etc. We could not explore all due to the heat and my kids wanted to play in water all the time. But i am sure it would have been memorable.

We requested for a baby cot, the person said he would try. But by the time we came back from the pool it was already in our room, neatly tucked and ready to sleep in.

The only reason I rate it as very good and not excellent is because the room misses certain small conveniences such as place to hang wet clothes, ventilation, plug points..only three available..two of which on the cot and one for the tv. This proved a problem for us as the A/c blow was insufficient during the afternoons when the heat was at its peak. There was no fan in the adjoining living room and although they provided a large floor fan (again promptly upon asking for one) there were no plug points to plug it in. Fortunately nights were cooler and the A/c cooling was more than sufficient. Beach activities too would be an added bonus.

It was our anniversary and Mr. Umapathy there surprised us with a cake and room decorations to suit the event. He went an extra mile to see to it that, that day was memorable. But i cannot stop reiterating about the attentiveness and courteousness from each an every staff member there. Somebody would make sure they ask us at the restaurant if everything was ok and if we needed anything. And if we did need it would be addressed promptly.

A bit more expensive, but running such a place and with their own organically farmed vegetables and fruits, I am certain has its costs. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pallaviishetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
12.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
1.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#16 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
17.6 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dune Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Property: The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Address: | Pudhukuppam, Keelputhupet Village, via Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 605014, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dune Eco Village & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our village is designed for travelers who are looking for a place for a long, leisurely stay surrounded by tranquility, peace, and comfort. This 25-acre eco-friendly beach village features uniquely designed bungalows and cottages, a swimming pool, a tennis court and 700m of pristine beach. The Dune welcomes guests all through the year. We aim to create an environment "to live in harmony with nature and men". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dune Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dune Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing