We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilling out with the famiy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #38 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilling out with the famiy”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second time I have been there with the family, and if you are looking for a relaxing, slow paced break, with the sound of the ocean in the background, then this is it!!!

Great pool and very friendly staff, especially the manager Uma. Its a eco rustic feel with the ocean minutes away. Plenty for the kids to do....with a working farm.

Room Tip: Pick one with good lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    255
    96
    45
    72
See reviews for
310
245
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Really enjoyed, comfortable stay... Best time to visit would be in October..The staff are very efficient and definitely go out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay at the resort.
Dune is located away from the city enroute Mahaballipuram, hence the restaurant options in the vicinity are limited. If you are mobile then one can always hop into town or visit the various cafes at Auroville. Having said that, the resort itself is worth every penny you pay( if not more). Every cottage has an interesting theme. Dune is an ideal beach gateway if you are looking at a different experience.
Personal favourite is Nawabi House,and the break fast spread is good...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrishnaR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was my first experience and a proper theme resort and Dune lived up to exactly what I saw on the website.

Beautifully designed themed rooms covering varied interest points is an absolute fascination. I lived here for 3 days and experience the Silver Room and the Woodhouse Room. Each of the rooms are well spaced out from each other, giving good privacy. Both the rooms were extremely spacious and the bathrooms were gigantic. The patio area was huge with nice deck chairs to laze around. The bathrooms in both the rooms were very interesting, one had a tub right in the centre with a glass ceiling above it, so you could actually see the sky while taking a nice tub bath.

The touch of giving cycles to move around the property and these adorable pet dogs who follow you around everywhere just makes it more fun.

The food at the restaurant was good. Not much to do on the beach, however the property itself had a bunch of activities like pottery, milk the cow, camel ride, etc. So an evening could be spent just doing that. Plus you can choose to go for a short snorkelling trip right from there.

Extremely satisfying experience. The beauty about the hotel is that even if you have gone here once you would go again to experience the other rooms and have a completely refreshing experience yet again. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KhushbooTulsiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at this resort. Let me warn you though, if you are expecting 5 star comforts then this is not a place to be. This resort is definitely comfortable and has character, something i find missing in most of the pseudo eco resorts of current times. The staff are very efficient and definitely go out of their way to ensure a comfortable stay at the resort.
The food however was a bit of a let down, given that they didnt serve fresh sea food on both the days we were at the resort. I found the menu choice a bit limited and can become a challenge for stays beyond 2/3 nights. Dune is located away from the city enroute Mahaballipuram. Hence the restaurant options in the vicinity are limited. If you are mobile then one can always hop into town or visit the various cafes at Auroville.
Having said that, the resort itself is worth every penny you pay( if not more). Every cottage has an interesting theme.

Dune is an ideal beach gateway if you are looking at a different experience. It connects you to nature yet providing one with some modern day comforts. Perfect for couples and families. Do not recommend for the older generation or people with walking disabilities as they dont have buggies. You need to walk a bit to get to anywhere, whether its the restaurant, beach or the recreation facilities. Cant wait to come back here.
Also, a special mention to the general manager who is doing a fantastic job taking care of his guests and providing exceptional service.

Room Tip: Personally i prefer the rooms with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Himali81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

For the people who are caught in the mechanical city life , this is a great relief. A complete village type set up with lot of activities and beautify designed rooms and courteous staff. Yes there are few instances of lizards but that's about living with the nature ! Food is really good and the beach is awesome !! Go for it and you wouldn't feel for it. Little expensive though :)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Srinivasa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is an absolutely romantic place to stay in Pondicherry. This huge property has about 55 private cottages to choose from. I and my husband went on for a 'Wood House' which was beautiful in every inch of it. The entire landscape and placements of cottages is so well done that every house feel private with its main gate and backyard. Every cottage is provided with two bicycles to go around the property. The service provided by them was very good, Very friendly and warm staff.
Two Negatives- They give a cell phone with every cottage to be in touch with the staff, which i found irritating. These days everyone carries a phone and above that if you have to take care of another one, its not too convenient. We ended up paying the price of the phone which is Rs 1500/- because while it was with us the phone stopped working. Which is ridiculous.
Another thing we hated is the Sea Food restaurant. The food was very bad. Very bad.

A very good point- We were on our honeymoon and we had struck a deal where they would give us a private dinner set up on our chosen date. The private dinner was an absolute treat. They lit the whole cottage with candles and diyas and tons of flowers. Also while we were sitting and enjoying our private dinner they took our room keys and decorated our room with flowers too. An amazing experience it was.
The number of activities provided by the resort makes you stay in it and leave the resort at all. We experienced the yoga and spa which was extremely relaxing and rejuvenating.
Overall a very good experience. If you are looking out for romantic stay this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samsain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

V good resort on the shore.
Nice beach View.
Fun for kids with swimming pool and other activities.
Veg/Non veg combines - not comfortable with it as we are vegetarians.
Prefer rooms with A/C.
Eco cottages have a lot of mosquitoes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajitkumard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
12.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
1.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#19 of 80 in Pondicherry
765 reviews
13.1 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#42 of 80 in Pondicherry
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
596 reviews
8.7 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
475 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 80 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dune Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Property: The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Address: | Pudhukuppam, Keelputhupet Village, via Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 605014, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dune Eco Village & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our village is designed for travelers who are looking for a place for a long, leisurely stay surrounded by tranquility, peace, and comfort. This 25-acre eco-friendly beach village features uniquely designed bungalows and cottages, a swimming pool, a tennis court and 700m of pristine beach. The Dune welcomes guests all through the year. We aim to create an environment "to live in harmony with nature and men". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Dune Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dune Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing