We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco friendly and Living with Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dune Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Never imagined such a huge place Eco-friendly near Pondicherry (Pondy) and hardly 2 hours escape from Chennai (a.k.a Madras). They provide different types of rooms (Check their web-site). We took Baywatch room, which was facing the sea. Could not see sun-rise as it was cloudy for the entire duration we stayed.
Room we stayed had bamboo floors, thatched roof. It was quite a difference experience.
Our kids were scared with the insects and Millipedes crawling around the floor, roof, seat, bed, and our dresses that were left for drying. Had to be cautious. Couple of Millepede were lucky enough to travel with us back to Chennai :-P
Rooms had a closed cupboard with mini refrigerator and safe. You can keep few dresses in that, but not many that can escape from the insects
Restaurant was good, Staffs were courteous, Negative part is food was too costly. Cannot imagine to have Cup of Tea for Rs 100 & Coconut water for Rs 150/-, I get in Chennai for Rs 30/-, and Pondy area is famous for Coconut trees.
Swimming pool facility was good. Although a small pool, Negative part No life guards or life support equipments. Deep (7 ft) is immediate to small pool, and there is no markings of the deep.
Good kids play area, you get bicycles to roam around the resort. You also get kids cycles on request.
They have organic farm internally.
The climate was horrible, although it was OK in night (one of the night it was raining heavily) day was quite sultry, although the whole place is green with some small ponds inside. Worth the money.

Room Tip: Select rooms near beach if you would like to see sun-rise and enjoy the sound of waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IndianVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Normally, i read the negative reports from TripAdvisor, before zeroing in on a hotel or resort. Eco-Dune was no exception. Reading the negative reports keep your expectations grounded and honest. We wanted a quick but quiet get-away. The concept of Eco-Dune appealed to us, as against a regular 4 or 5 star hotel/resort, and thanks to the Trip Advisor reviews, it exceeded our expectations. We found the Reception managers, led by the friendly Shri Umapathi, very capable and accommodating. The Check-in here is at 1 pm and Check-out at 11 am. Shri Umapathi extended the check-out time by another 3 hours, in our case.....ofcourse thanks to availability. The other staff were very prompt and helpful. We needed their support in the Wood-house-2 suite, where we stayed on atleast 3 or 4 occasions and everytime, their promptness of service exceeded our expectations. They replaced the mini-refrigerator, which was leaking, immediately...................they supplied the food in our suite in less than 15 mins...... and supplied 3 bicycles, as requested by us within reasonable time.....................thus negating all the reports about their apathy and delay. The Wood-house-2 suite was simply beautiful, rustic and yet, sophisticated. We simply loved the verandahs, front and rear, the gardens, the room itself, the toilet, the tub and the furniture. Yes, there was a stray earthworm.....and we expected and enjoyed it's presence, very much. The Carbon foot-print conscious resort ensured that we enjoy our comfortable stay with less guilt. The swimming pool is snazzily designed and one of our favorite hang-out. There are many things there to write about, but I shall limit myself to the mis-match with the negative reviews here and my own opposite experience. I would suggest that Indians stick to the AC suites/ rooms. Please don't expect a regular, compact 5 star hotel or resort when you visit the Eco-Dune. It is a rather irregular, 5 star resort, which is sprawling across a large area.................and kudos to the staff, as it is not easy to maintain 5 star service over such a large, sprawling area, depending mostly on bicycles( which are in reasonable condition, mind you, (contrary to some reports here) and eco-friendly night-lamps. Please don't expect high SLA, precision service here, that you may have enjoyed in some other star hotels....but enjoy the uniqueness of this place with an open mind.

Room Tip: Stick to the AC rooms. Staying more than a day is required to enjoy all aspects of this sprawling re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Blwe_torch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have been to dune a few times now and this is one of the best resorts we have stayed. Each room is unique and is private. You need to have right expectation when you go there. It will not be contemporary with modern flair. Lot of traditional values are maintained and the whole place is green. It is lovely to see ponds, small pools, LOTS of trees. It has become such a rarity these days.
The food quality is exceptional. It is not spicy but it will be really really healthy. The breakfast spread is decent. the staff members are pretty good. They have simple interesting activities in the place. Spa is a little over priced.
This is THE best place for Romantic get-away.

Room Tip: Choose the tower room if you are honeymooners. Its a must. Beautiful view of the sea and jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ArviDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

If, differntly themed rooms lined with lizards, centipedes, spiders and other unrecognisable insects, dusty floors, tables and chairs connected to the walls with spiderwebs, unkempt property with overgrown grass, meals with hundereds of flies swarming ur food and unapologetic service is your idea of holiday then Dune surely is the place for u.

We booked dune after reading rave reviews about it but were ready to checkout 2hours post checking into the silver room. We had about 5 lizards hovering over the cieling above the bed, a couple somersaulting from the roof in the bathroom, a trail of about 1000 ants on the bathroom platform, table fan greased with dust, spiders on all doors and centipedes on the table. Our complaints of such unhygience rooms feel on deaf years and the manager (not uma, but the one who were connected to on the phone) had the audacity to tell us that the rooms were absolutely fine as they are eco firendly and as per the hotel policy we were not entitled to any refund irrespective of what ever the issues are. After an elongated argument he agreed to refund the money paid for the next 3days post deducting one day's tarriff and our meal charges. Not once did he apologise for the inconvenience we faced, infact he seemed annoyed even to speak to us. It unbelievable that such people are employed in the hospitality sector.

Although uma is a good person, he is absolutely not the guests go to man when you have an issue as he has no resolution to offer.

The food is disasterous and served with a lot of flies and insects = guess this is how they define bieng eco friendly.

We emailed the owner of Dune -Dimitri about our experience at dune and its been 4 days now but have still not recieved any acknowledgement or response from him. This just goes a long way to show that the management is not concerned about any issues or problems faced by the guests on thier property and surely is not receptive to any feedback too.

AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE PLAQUE

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
13  Thank ManishaShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have been to this place many times. Every stay of mine gives me a perfect holiday here. The trees are growing and this place is taking shape of what the owners must have thought years back.it is not easy to maintain Eco balance and requirement of modern days tourist but here in Dune they are quite successful. Although beach is not great with this resort but the Greens of 40 Acres keeps you busy in side the resort. People are quite helpful but very strict on checkout times.

I always miss pongo. ( Dalmation Dog) which is no more now.

Must visit this place if you are in puducherry

Room Tip: Select a garden room. Very near to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ashwani189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel when it had opened , years ago. This is just an overpriced hotel. Never would go back. Food is lousy, not much to say about the service, a big cement hole called a pool which was painted not tiled. Try as much to be rustic it just feels so fake and is very obvious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prakmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

had been to the Dune this weekend, and hell ya what an experince it was. we stayes at the baywatch room. staying in this kind of room was a differnt kind of experience since there are no AC. the rooms were well maintained and eco friendly. the staff were very helpfull and corteous.
the Pool is just amazing. the sea was a bit rought since it was windy and raining so we couldnt venture into the sea, but ya spent lot of time near the beach. the food in the restraunt is very good, and the tamilnadu delicasies were well made, my friends did enjoy those.
kids would love the pottery making and the organic farming just to get a first hand experience on farming.
the manager Mr.Umakanth was very helpfull and took us around the resort to show us different rooms to get a feel of the resort.
overall with family or friends yo would suerly enjoy your stay out here, ya it is a bit expensive but once in a while its fine to sped on this great experience.

Room Tip: try staying in the Baywatch which is just near the sea shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Andykrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.2 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
800 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
13.1 mi away
RKN Beach Resort
RKN Beach Resort
#38 of 82 in Pondicherry
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 82 in Pondicherry
634 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
626 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dune Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dune Eco Village & Spa

Address: | Pudhukuppam, Keelputhupet Village, via Pondicherry University, Pondicherry 605014, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: £67 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dune Eco Village & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our village is designed for travelers who are looking for a place for a long, leisurely stay surrounded by tranquility, peace, and comfort. This 25-acre eco-friendly beach village features uniquely designed bungalows and cottages, a swimming pool, a tennis court and 700m of pristine beach. The Dune welcomes guests all through the year. We aim to create an environment "to live in harmony with nature and men". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dune Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dune Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing