We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best European style holiday in India”
Review of Le Dupleix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Dupleix
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Wow real classic, unlike other hotels a Mango tree welcomes you and you will go through nice open patio style restaurant and they named it after the Mango tree, I had a very pleasant stay , the rooms are equipped with nice art work old style furniture and cupboard well maintained and neat, the staff did a swan with the towel on our bed that was a awesome , the pent house beautifully designed, the staffs were courteous and always smiling, we broke one of the lamp and they did not charge of it that’s the level of customer care. In fact the upgraded to pent house when we went for the second time
Nice place to try out some International cuisine try the Shrimp peas Ricardo which is heavenly overall it was nice experience and I would recommend to every one
One problem I see is the parking you have to park your car on the road but you have staffs always watching though

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sivaramachandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It has been a pleasure having been able to welcome you to Le Dupleix again during your most recent trip to Pondicherry and I would like to thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.

It is always nice to see guests returning, it motivates us all in our efforts to maintain the set standards by the management and I am glad that we have been able to make you feel comfortable with us.

Your appreciation of our cuisine has been noted and shared with the entire team.

Like most hotels in the French Quarter we do not have our own parking space but with the availability of parking space within the eyesight of our security team this has so far not been a cause for concern.

I do hope you will travel to Pondicherry again in the near future, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Le Dupleix.

Warmest regards,

Danielle W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If you love natural elegance of life this hotel is truely a place developed with essence of ageless taste of international style of living . Very customer centric people always ready to extend support to make you comfortable. Food and drink variety is lot and especially continental oriented choices are better . How ever the restaurant staff can be more groomed , the only one area where I noticed less courtesy and less willingness to connect with guest.
My family loved the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanmay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Pondicherry and thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor, it was a pleasure meeting you and having you as our guest.

I am happy you appreciate the elegance and character of Le Dupleix and I'm glad that we have been able to make your stay a comfortable and memorable one.
I understand your concern about the restaurant staff and I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We are, and will remain, committed to assure that the expectations of all our guests are exceeded and that the standards set by the management are maintained at all times.

I do hope you will stay with us again, should you visit Pondicherry in the future. I would be looking forward to welcoming you as our guest once again.

Warm regards,
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

i had been to pondicherry a couple of days back and i had my friend taking me to this hotel Le Duplex for dinner.I should say d entire hotel was picturesque and the food was delicious nd relishing.And i should'nt forget to acknowledge the manager Mr,Basha for taking us around the hotel and showing us the rooms which is marvelous..It was such an enthralling experience for me and i cherish all those experiences..I have never seen such a sincere person who shows interest and keen towards his profession.I thank him and d hotel and it tempts me to keep coming back to this place pondicherry and i m definitely gona stay here whenever i come.Keep Up the Good work,Mr.Basha.Thankyou..!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrVaniVijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having dinner with us recently and thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I take great pride in reading that you appreciate Le Dupleix and that the entire team has been able to make your evening memorable. Your appreciation of Mr. Basha has been passed on to all and motivates us in all our endeavours to assure every guest leaves delighted.

I do hope that upon your next trip to Pondicherry you will chose to stay with us, it would be a pleasure having you as our guest.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Special thanks to the Sarovar Hotel team and Danielle for accommodating our last minute change of accommodation.

Due to unavoidable circumstances had to move from Promenade to Le Dupleix and the request was heartily managed.

The heritage Hotel was very well maintained and must appreciate the very courteous staff who were very cooperative with all our little requests. The food was amazingly awesome.
Breakfast spread is decent but good.

Enjoyed our short trip in Pondy thanks to the team again !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shrivini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor and thank your for being our guests, it was a pleasure meeting you and having you with us.

I am glad we the Le Dupleix team has been able to make the remaining part of your honeymoon a comfortable and memorable one. Your appreciation has been shared with the team and it motivates us in our continuous endeavours to make sure every guest leaves happy and with a promise to return soon.

Once again, it was a pleasure meeting you and I do hope to be able to welcome you to Le Dupleix again, should you visit Pondicherry in the future.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We came to pondicherry to escape the hum drum of daily life, and le dupleix turned out to be the perfect place for us. The whole hotel was adorned with flowers and our room was decorated with lace. The staff was quick and cooperative and made sure that our every little request was taken care of. All in all it was a magical experience.
Thank you Le Dupleix for an amazing stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhawya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Pondicherry, it was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that the team has been able to exceed your expectations and that we have been able to make your stay in Pondicherry a comfortable and memorable one. Your appreciation of the staff has been shared with all and motivates us in our continuous efforts to assure that all our guests leave with the promise to come and visit us again.

Once again, thank you for being our guest and I do hope to be able to welcome you to Le Dupleix again should you visit Pondicherry in the future.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Another one of our favorite haunts in Pondicherry,this time we went as a couple during our daughter's school trip.The mango tree and lovely period furniture,the candles on the tables and the violinist(on weekends),feeling the sweat running down our bodies as we read the interesting history of Dupleix inside the menu booklet,and of course the food-the best that fusion cuisine can offer,with French names and Indian spiciness.......
The service is good,with crisp slices of French breads and tangy sauces served along with the drinks,which are very filling too,and it is a good idea to go with friends for a leisurely dinner,lively conversation and David Wacheux regaling us with his violin!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ITravel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor and thank you for being our guest again.

I am pleased that you enjoy our cuisine and that our services have exceeded your expectations. Your appreciation of David has been noted and I will make sure to pass it on to him.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future, I would be looking forward to meeting you again.

Warm regards,

Danielle W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The best part of the hotel is it's architecture. You feel lost looking at the beautiful designs which amuses you whether you are in France for a second. The hospitality is exceptional and it is very close to sea. A perfect place to rejoice. I strongly recommend this hotel.
Cheers!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sadala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle S, Manager at Le Dupleix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and thank you for taking out the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am happy that the entire team of Le Dupleix has been able to exceed your expectations and appreciate your admiration of the beautifully restored building.

Should you revisit Pondicherry in the future, I hope you will be staying with us again. I would be looking forward to welcoming you to Le Dupleix again.

Warm regards,
Danielle W.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 85 in Pondicherry
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 85 in Pondicherry
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Orient
Hotel de l'Orient
#29 of 85 in Pondicherry
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 85 in Pondicherry
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#4 of 85 in Pondicherry
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#17 of 85 in Pondicherry
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dupleix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dupleix

Address: 5 Rue Dela Caserne Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#5 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: £65 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Dupleix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dupleix offers a fusion between the rich, colonial heritage and a contemporary flavor. The hotel beautifully complements Pondicherry. It is a 14-room luxury heritage hotel, nestling in an 18th century French colonial villa, originally built for the Maire Mayor of Pondicherry. Now restored and modernized the hotel is an architectural masterpiece showcasing the life of the 18th century French Governor Marquis Joseph-Francois Dupleix. The 14 suites are all distinct in style and furnishings and each provides a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Dupleix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dupleix Pondicherry
Le Dupleix Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing