We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the most beautiful heritage hotel”
Review of Le Dupleix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Dupleix
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Jaipur in India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“one of the most beautiful heritage hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2010

it is not a huge hotel but it has that attraction that holds you for a while. I have visited this hotel in the low season so most of the rooms were vacant. The staff was so nice they showed me all the rooms. Being a heritage hotel all rooms are different interior. We have selected the room on the first floor and i must say it was the room that i loved the most in my south India visit. Best place to stay for honeymooners.

They got open restaurant and we enjoined our breakfast in this open restaurant under old the Mango Tree. If you are in Pondicherry then this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian-Hitch-Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    170
    44
    29
    16
See reviews for
124
196
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chennai
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2010

The hotel is wonderful, very nice small heritage property. Quiet area and relaxing. The food was great, nice helpfull staff. The rooms are very comfortable with good beds. Heartily recommend Le Dupleix for its beautiful rooms and hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night it was a nice comfortable stay. The rooms were tidy and properly maintained. The hotel staff is very polite and courteous. We enjoyed our food under the old mango tree.Food is one of best thing that hotel have and i liked my stay in Le Dupleix.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
begaluru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

we loved it, its a gorgeous old house, with a courtyard cafe and fabulous restaurant, and the rooms are fabulous too!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazygalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Its a very unique hotel... A lot of effort has been taken to retain the heritage value of the hotel..Right from the decor to the services, its a feeling of luxury ...The place has an old world charm.At the same time it has super efficient staff...

My favourite part of the hotel is the front lounge and the food...

Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gpriya11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The hotel has been fashioned from an old bungalow and as such, retains its charm and grandeur. There is a little courtyard at the entrance and about 14 rooms arranged on the 1st and 2nd floors, the ground floor being an exclusive dining area.

The cleanliness and fit-and-finish of the hotel are top notch. The wooden roofs of the rooms we occupied were nothing short of exquisite, thanks to detailed carvings. The furniture and linen took us back many centuries. The bathroom deserved a special mention due to its clever arrangement and thorough livability, though we found a few ignorable issues with the faucets.

The service was fine, as one would expect of a hotel of this stature. I should mention that the reception was quite helpful in giving us advice and directions for roaming about Pondicherry and the General Manager took care to enquire about our stay over the 2 days.

The hotel is located in the White Town, the narrow strip of land containing beautiful European-style architecture and adjoining the sea. Pondicherry is not a huge town and it is quite easy to cross the town in half an hour. Being in White Town versus the main city gives this hotel that much more points.

Overall, this hotel is highly approved by me, especitally for its old European-style charm and splendid rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhartha_Agrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed for two days and found the staff extremely helpful and prompt. The room service food was unexpectedly good and breakfast was very filling. The rooms are exquisite and is situated at a prime spot with beach road within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKHYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 80 in Pondicherry
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 80 in Pondicherry
350 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 80 in Pondicherry
592 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dupleix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dupleix

Property: Le Dupleix
Address: 5 Rue Dela Caserne Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Dupleix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Dupleix offers a fusion between the rich, colonial heritage and a contemporary flavor. The hotel beautifully complements Pondicherry. It is a 14-room luxury heritage hotel, nestling in an 18th century French colonial villa, originally built for the Maire Mayor of Pondicherry. Now restored and modernized the hotel is an architectural masterpiece showcasing the life of the 18th century French Governor Marquis Joseph-Francois Dupleix. The 14 suites are all distinct in style and furnishings and each provides a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Dupleix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dupleix Pondicherry
Le Dupleix Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing