We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Superbe"...Great stay, Good Food, Great View”
Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"Superbe"...Great stay, Good Food, Great View”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I was on an impromptu visit to Pondicherry and didnt have any reservations. The moment i reached the sea face of Pondicherry i knew I had to say in one of the hotels overlooking the bay of bengal. All other hotels were too dingy and the so called best rated hotels were not even facing the sea.

During my walk I saw this white colonial styled building and my senses went WOW..If i had to stay in pondicherry it has to be The Promenade. The staff is courteous, the ambiance is great, the food is good, rooms are spacious and carry the flavor of Pondicherry architecture.

A little bit of problem I faced was with the cleanliness of the bath tub. When i checked in the room at night i found a stain on the bath tub which later came on. After a hard day of work all i wanted was to have a hot water bath and sleep.

Highly recommended for staying in Pondicherry

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

We were so happy to read your amazing comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Promenade

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and courteous staff.

I have noted your comment on bathtub, we do understand there are opportunities for us to improve and with targeted training and monitoring that our service standards are consistently adhered to, we will ensure that such issues do not re-occur. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you were caused.

I thank you once again for your positive and appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    400
    150
    63
    35
See reviews for
354
315
53
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we stayed at promenade from 6th april to 8th april 2014.
we had visited puducherry earlier also and stayed at the french quarter but the location of this property is the best.
the moment we entered our room we fell in love with the hotel.the view was amazing.they keep the window doors locked since the sea breeze is too strong
.the place is what you want it to be.if you want solitude it is there ,if you want vibrancy it changes to the same wavelength.
Special thanks toMr K Iyappam (bartender ) for making our stay extraa special.
Thanks to the promenade team for the wonderful experience.
will visit you soon.here i come puducherry
ps DO NOT visit cafe shantee .it is bad bad bad period.

Room Tip: the view from deluxe rooms is better as compared to suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roundy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest

We were so happy to read your amazing comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Promenade.

My team and I deem it a privilege to have served you and we are happy to read such a delightful review from you. Every guest is very special to us and it is our endeavor to make sure that they have a memorable experience. Your compliments will certainly act as a source of great motivation for all of us to strive even further for excellence.

I am delighted to read your comments and will share the same with all members of the team especially Mr. Iyappan who would be happy to know that their efforts were so well appreciated.

We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I went here after my 12th boards got over. It was a lovely experience because the hotel knew just what mind set we came with. They knew we were going to be noisy and yet they handled us very patiently. They have a lovely property and is located splendidly. A special mention to Mr. Karthick for being a very gracious host. Definitely going to come back here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Promenade to chill out and spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your wonderful words of appreciation and encouragement for our team. It is truly heartening to have our efforts recognized by you in such a manner. I shall share your compliments with the Mr. Karthick and the entire team.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we look forward to your continued visits to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I Visited the hotel promenade in the month of Feb and i enjoyed the my 4 days stay . The besting thing about the Hotel is its right opposite to the Ocean (Bay of Bengal) Beautiful view from the hotel room. The staff were so nice and enjoyed their service(Pavithra, Nizam Uddin , Iyappan who made wonderful drink for me) ..The rooms were so clean and so nice. I enjoyed my stay and would love to visit them again along with my friends during my next vacation. The food was also very good.Thanks to all the staff of Promenade..

Regards,

Dina

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest

We were so happy to read your amazing comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Promenade.

We really appreciate your going out of the way to detail your stay and for taking the time to highlight location, lovely view of Bay of Bengal, food and services of Ms. Pavithra, Mr. Nizamuddin ,& Mr. Iyappan , Thank you.

Team Promenade is pleased to know from your comments that their efforts were so well appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We do look forward to your return to our hotels in not so distant future. If I can be of any assistance whatsoever in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Couple of days back when we planned for a small road-trip to Pondy, we were hunting for a place to chill out which was cozy enough and at the same time shouldn't burn a hole in our pockets! Fortunately, it was ladies night at Promenade and we had 5 pretty women in our gang, so we didn't think twice! Girls had cocktails while we guys had to settle for shots!=( It wouldn't be fair on my part without thanking Mr Iyappan who helped us with the drinks, he made sure we had the time of our lives and at the same time mixed it up responsibly so that we all were in our senses! :D Only turn offs were that there wasn't a proper dance floor and they had a curfew time of 9 30 while all other bars were open till 10!:( So, if you are longing for a night that you would never wanna forget, go to The Promenade and get hold of Iyappan to serve you!xD

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sannadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Promenade to chill out and spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I would like to thank you for the special mention of Ladies night at Risque which happens every Wednesday where free drinks are served to the ladies.

Due to general elections bar’s timings are restricted, we would like to acknowledge you appreciation for our bartender Mr. Iyappan, I have shared your feedback with the entire team, I am sure your positive feedback will encourage them to do their best further.

We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Guys if you are looking for an amazing customer service, Then promenade is the place.

Especially with regard to Mr. Iyyappan at the bar. He simply made our visit to pondy complete.

The ladies night at the promenade is an amazing thing they have.....the cosmopolitan vodka (cranberry mix) is just too good !

Thanks a lot iyappan for making our day ! :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sahana123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor, we are glad to know that our hotel was at par with your expectations.

I would like to thank you for the special mention of Ladies night at Risque and appreciation for our bartender Mr. Iyappan.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our product and services. We are delighted to note that we have exceeded your expectations.

I have shared your feedback with Mr. Iyappan and the entire team.

We're committed to total guest satisfaction and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubli-Dharwad, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

stayed in sea facing room and the view was really good. it was in the 3rd floor. staff were very helpful, breakfast buffet spread had too many options for veg and non veg, roof top restaurant and the hotel bar served good food and drinks. Mr. Basha helped us with everything, right person to be contacted.

Room Tip: 3rd floor first room. got sea view on the front and the right side windows. basically need to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnupJavali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

We were so happy to read your amazing comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Promenade

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

Your compliments is inspirational for all of us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discreet service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

Your positive comments about Mr. Basha are deeply appreciated and have been communicated to the entire team. I am sure that these will go a long way in encouraging them to strive for higher levels of excellence.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back and to get another opportunity of creating wonderful experiences for you.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
503 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#7 of 82 in Pondicherry
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
490 reviews
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 82 in Pondicherry
773 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Property: The Promenade
Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing