We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 15 May 2014

had a stay last week. enjoyed a lot. really appreciate it. will come back in October again. one negative point is room service.other wise everything is perfect i could say. thanks. good work.. love u all

Room Tip: best in pondy. good for honey mooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandrew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments. We are happy to note that you have had a great stay at the hotel.

We have shared your feedback regarding room services with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Promenade again during your next visit in October
Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The best part of this hotel is the Location. It is right next to the beach and walking distance from the other tourist spots. Like others, we did stroll in the morning and in the evening which was really nice. The pool was kind of small but that did not stop my kids from having a good time. Even after spending quite some time in the beach they wanted to play in the pool. The rooms were just fine and the staff were courteous.

The breakfast buffet was just perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant and the restaurant manager was nice enough to get some starters since our dish was getting delayed. It also has a roof top restaurant and a pizza place which we did not try. Maybe next time. All in all it was indeed a fantastic experience.

They are renovating some rooms which did not bother me at all. Hopefully they will complete it soon.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest

We were so happy to read your amazing comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Promenade

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

Your compliments is inspirational for all of us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discreet service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

Your positive comments has been communicated to the entire team. I am sure that these will go a long way in encouraging them to strive for higher levels of excellence.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back and to get another opportunity of creating wonderful experiences for you.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in Rm 28 which is Sea Facing and we had taken an extra bed - wooden flooring and classic windows overlooking the sea. Waking up from Sunrise is always a great thing and felt good. Their swimming pool was very small (I guess must be 5m long) but since we are just beginners, we enjoyed it. No crowd during off season does make it more interesting and more attention on us. The breakfast was more than enough and had variety. The reservation by Devanathan and reception by Rajmohan were super. Of course, some renovation was going on in the floor below on the other side and that odd noises persist. Location is both great from the 1.5 km Promenade beach which we walked both in the morning and evening, and close to all the stuff to be seen - Vinayagar koil, Ashram, Museum and walking distance to Mission Street where all the shopping can be done. Both Adyar Anandha Bhavan and Surguru Spot were close by for vegetation restaurants and good as well. A Small GYM would be nice and more varieties of vegetarian dish would have been great.

Room Tip: Both Rm 28 and 29 are sea facing room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Promenade, Pondicherry
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and its location advantage, room décor, breakfast display on Trip Advisor.

We are truly grateful for your wonderful words of appreciation for Mr. Dev, Mr. Rajmohan, our hotel and services.

It is our continuous endeavour to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and it is recognition such as yours which inspires us to strive even further to deliver our best.
Regarding your comments on more vegetarian options and gym, thank you for sharing your expectations, please allow me to assure you that we will initiate necessary corrective action in this regard.

The team and I thank you once again for your time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stay in 5 hotels around the world and decided to try something different on my last trip, hence my stay at the PROMENADE PONDICHERRY
this was the best all round experience, from beginning to end. The Staff in all sectors are warm and extremely helpful, leaving nothing unattended. The most amazing was when we suggested on the comments card that the manager at the front very helpful , when the manager Sakthi and Raj in front shown some beautiful rooms in le dupliex, almost a dream for a quick reaction.
I send my sincere thanks and appreciation to all that make these stays both pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anime2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

We thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and hospitality. It is our constant Endeavour to provide our guests an outstanding experience. Please be assured of the same on your next visit.

I have shared your review Mr. Shankti, Mr. Raj and the entire team; They are also excited to know about your experience. Thank you!! It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Promenade.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

sweet location - by the sea, on the 5th floor, roof opens in the evening great ambiance - quiet, dim-lite place friendly staff for a quite pretty evening. Nice food, good booze.. Perfect for a special occasion, on the expensive side

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank HaritaVinnakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We would like to acknowledge your kind compliments.

We assure you the best of our attention at all times, we thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Promenade.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here last month with my family,everything was Excellent in regards to service,food,staff and location. The light house specially which is Superb in the night time, Would certainly recommend this to everybody.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris7616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

I appreciate your time to comment on your recent stay with us. Thank you very much indeed.

Your comments have been shared with the entire team. They are happy to read that you enjoyed our service, food, staff and location.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit to Pondicherry. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best services and attention at all times.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice place, with great food. I went there with a friend, and we had a blast. Their buffet meals had a lavish spread, with good quality food. The service was also outstanding, especially by Mr. Basha and Ms. Divya. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Madhura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review on our hotel and its services.

It is heartening to get such reviews and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Promenade Pondicherry. It was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

Ms. Divya, Mr. Basha and my entire team are inspired by your comments and truly appreciate your gracious praise.

We look forward to your future visits. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#20 of 83 in Pondicherry
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 83 in Pondicherry
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 83 in Pondicherry
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 83 in Pondicherry
525 reviews
2 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#14 of 83 in Pondicherry
642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range: £72 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing