We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach”
Review of The Promenade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Promenade
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a smallish hotel on the edge of the city's French Quarter, where the Town Hall proudly proclaims itself as HOTEL DE VILLE. The best two things about it are its French-influenced cuisine, best represented by the quality of the croissants served with breakfast; and its superb location right on the promenade that allows you in three short steps to smell the fresh sea air; hear the thunder of the turbulent waves, and take in the stormy view of the Bay of Bengal in January. One of the downsides to our visit was that the open-air gourmet restaurant on the top floor was not functioning,and that the staff seemed a little clued out. The room was comfortable, and all right for a one-night stopover but for longer than that, there was inadequate storage space for the contents of our cases. The place was clean, nicely appointed, and just a little old-fashioned. But other than for summer holidays with the family, I am not sure why anyone wold want to visit this city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

Thank you for spending your valuable time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We would like to acknowledge your kind compliments.

We assure you the best of our attention at all times, we thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Promenade.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    385
    146
    62
    34
See reviews for
338
310
52
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Pi's zoo and Richard Parker may e long gone, but The Promenade has to be one of the prime places to stay in this unique and beautiful town! From the cooling AC to the attentive service, from the great sea views to the outdoor roof restaurant this is an oasis from which to explore the town. Comfortable rooms, great service and good food at a reasonable (by European standards) price.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - it may be a little noisy as the promenade is outside but things quieten down af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick7929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments. We are happy to note that you have had a great stay at the hotel.

It is our continuous endeavour to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and it is recognition such as yours which inspires us to strive even further to deliver our best.

The team and I thank you once again for your time and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel with superb ambience, located right on the Beach Road. Rooms are comfortable, however some renovation was going on the floor where our room was allotted, I requested a change as I was allergic to the strong paint smell. They upgraded us to a sea-facing room, lovely view, very cosy. The wooden floors had a nice feel. However during late night the aircon started giving a very strong sewage smell, and early in the morning it starting pumping out strong diesel exhaust fumes (I wonder how the central aircon unit picked up this smell - maybe it was located near the generator?), as a result I had no sleep whole night. Expensive insomnia!! Apart from this, the restaurant was excellent and the dinner at the rooftop particularly good. Bathrooms badly need renovation - fittings are very old & rusted, tiles are stained - but it looks like several rooms are already undergoing renovation. Suggest anybody to stay here after all renovations are complete. Superb location right on the beach road, allows walks at all hours - the beach road is closed to vehicular traffic from 6 pm till next morning. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, except for the bad experience with the a/c.Hope the management gets the aircon issues fixed. Also, if you are self-driving, note that the hotel has no parking lot, one has to park on the street.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room, even though they are costlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sekharr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Promenade, Pondicherry

We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and its location advantage, superb ambience, comfortable rooms on Trip Advisor.

Please do accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your last stay with regards to air conditioning, please accept my apologies for inconvenience caused.

As you rightly mentioned our entire accommodation is undergoing complete renovation and we have completed half of the renovation and will be completing the remaining accommodation very shortly for comfortable stay.

We look forward to your future visits. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The best thing of this hotel I liked was its location. Other tourist spots was also very nearby. We visited with our parents and we got both the rooms right next to the sea-beach. One of our room also opens towards small lawn of this hotel. We loved watching this rocky and calm beach. We stayed there for three nights and opted for three times meals. They provide you good varieties of dishes but trust me you will get bored with these varieties after some-time. They have very good collections of painting on the corridors, which are mostly for sale.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us.

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and its location advantage making it an ideal hotel both for a business traveller as well as for a family get-away.

We look forward to your future visits. I take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

had a stay last week. enjoyed a lot. really appreciate it. will come back in October again. one negative point is room service.other wise everything is perfect i could say. thanks. good work.. love u all

Room Tip: best in pondy. good for honey mooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandrew75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Promenade, Pondicherry.

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor and also for posting your generous compliments. We are happy to note that you have had a great stay at the hotel.

We have shared your feedback regarding room services with our team and would like to assure you that the concerns raised will be addressed.

Look forward to welcoming you back to The Promenade again during your next visit in October
Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The best part of this hotel is the Location. It is right next to the beach and walking distance from the other tourist spots. Like others, we did stroll in the morning and in the evening which was really nice. The pool was kind of small but that did not stop my kids from having a good time. Even after spending quite some time in the beach they wanted to play in the pool. The rooms were just fine and the staff were courteous.

The breakfast buffet was just perfect. We had dinner in the restaurant and the restaurant manager was nice enough to get some starters since our dish was getting delayed. It also has a roof top restaurant and a pizza place which we did not try. Maybe next time. All in all it was indeed a fantastic experience.

They are renovating some rooms which did not bother me at all. Hopefully they will complete it soon.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdev11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

We were so happy to read your amazing comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Promenade

Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

Your compliments is inspirational for all of us. We are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discreet service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is our greatest reward.

Your positive comments has been communicated to the entire team. I am sure that these will go a long way in encouraging them to strive for higher levels of excellence.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back and to get another opportunity of creating wonderful experiences for you.

Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in Rm 28 which is Sea Facing and we had taken an extra bed - wooden flooring and classic windows overlooking the sea. Waking up from Sunrise is always a great thing and felt good. Their swimming pool was very small (I guess must be 5m long) but since we are just beginners, we enjoyed it. No crowd during off season does make it more interesting and more attention on us. The breakfast was more than enough and had variety. The reservation by Devanathan and reception by Rajmohan were super. Of course, some renovation was going on in the floor below on the other side and that odd noises persist. Location is both great from the 1.5 km Promenade beach which we walked both in the morning and evening, and close to all the stuff to be seen - Vinayagar koil, Ashram, Museum and walking distance to Mission Street where all the shopping can be done. Both Adyar Anandha Bhavan and Surguru Spot were close by for vegetation restaurants and good as well. A Small GYM would be nice and more varieties of vegetarian dish would have been great.

Room Tip: Both Rm 28 and 29 are sea facing room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
promenadepondicherry, General Manager at The Promenade, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Promenade, Pondicherry
We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and its location advantage, room décor, breakfast display on Trip Advisor.

We are truly grateful for your wonderful words of appreciation for Mr. Dev, Mr. Rajmohan, our hotel and services.

It is our continuous endeavour to ensure our guests have a comfortable and memorable stay and it is recognition such as yours which inspires us to strive even further to deliver our best.
Regarding your comments on more vegetarian options and gym, thank you for sharing your expectations, please allow me to assure you that we will initiate necessary corrective action in this regard.

The team and I thank you once again for your time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards,

Bharat Chandu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
9.2 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 77 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Promenade

Property: The Promenade
Address: 23 Goubert Avenue | opp. Gandhi Statue on Beach Road, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pondicherry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Promenade is a luxury boutique hotel on the ocean front of one of India's most beautiful and romantic towns. Most of the rooms overlook the shimmering waters of the Bay of Bengal. Stylishly designed rooms with wooden flooring, specially designed luxury bedding, LCD TV, work desk, Wi-Fi, tea-coffee maker, fully loaded mini bar & electronic safe. DVD player and movies on demand service. All rooms are accented with exquisitely crafted pure leather accessories & an inspiring leather head board. All baths come with a hand dryer, bath tub, magnifying mirror and international 'Bodyshop' toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Hotel Pondicherry
Promenade Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing