We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredibly serene!”
other travellers have booked this property
The villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The villa
Restored antique rosewood pillars Time to catch up on those books with some coffee
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The villa
Restored antique rosewood pillars
Time to catch up on those books with some coffee
A lerge terrace, lay out the mattresses and stargaze
The central skylight and courtyard
Guest room 1
Guest room 2
Guest room 3
Guest room 4. The Big room.
The living room has a big LCD with satellite tv.
A time to bond over some yummy food.
A fully equipped kitchen.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Pondicherry, Union Territory of Pondicherry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mgopalakr...
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly serene!”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Its impossible to walk into the Sharanya compound and not feel completely calm. Perhaps its the hundreds of plants and trees, or the pretty stream, or the creeper-ed gazebo. It was also the warmth of the staff and the sense of space and air in the home.
A perfect place to retreat to, or to base yourself while you explore Auroville and nearby Pondicherry. Highly recommend to groups and families.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you Maitri, come back soon :)
Regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie O
1 review
“A beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in February 2015

Me and ten other students spent 5 weeks in this amazing villa. Sharanya had hot showers, a beautiful garden (with fruit you can eat for free!) and it was always clean. Ishwar and Saraswati (the caretaker and the housekeeper) were always so helpful and kind. They were helping us out with breakfast, filtered water and everything we needed. They were also making us local dishes and teaching us how to make them. The whole group thought it was sad leaving them. Shiv (the owner) was always easy to reach and so helpful. If we had any problems he was helping us out right away. The villa was located in a really peaceful area of Auroville, surrounded by yoga schools and beautiful nature. Sharanya was only a ten minutes walk to the main road where you could take the bus to Pondicherry city for around 30 rupi.
We were all really pleased with our stay and we would highly recommend Sharanya!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thanks so much for your kind words Julie! You are all welcome back anytime .:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desitrave...
Rochester, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best stay during our trip to South India”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

12 of us stayed at Sharanya in Jun 2016 and it couldnt be a more wonderful stay. Shiv is the best host, who will give you clear directions to the house and things to do etc, much before you actually arrive. The house is everything terrific and more, clean, bright, traditional and authentic. The caretaker Ishwar and cook Saraswati are wonderful and helped make our stay that much better.

Thanks to Shiv and his team who go over and beyond to exceed expectations in this wonderful homestay, close to Auroville.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2016
Thank you,
I am glad you had a great time. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCWChelte...
Cheltenham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oasis of calm in a wonderfully interesting part of the world”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Shiv's villa Sharanya and would have stayed longer if we had more time on our hands. We stayed with our two daughters aged nearly 13 and 15.
Shiv was an excellent host (on the phone and by email and WhatsApp) throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble.
The villa was large, clean and prettily decorated although not plush. Its setting was magnificent.
Transport to and from the villa from the airport and Pondicherry was excellent but it was a little difficult to 'pop out' for anything unless you had booked a taxi or auto rickshaw with notice.
We had some wonderful typical breakfasts, lunches and dinners cooked by the welcoming staff. The neighbouring swimming pool was gorgeous (large and picturesque) but you can't be too wild and raucous in the pool as it is set in a tranquil space and bring a swimming cap to wear to comply with regs!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Hi Lucy,
It was great having you stay with us, hope you come back for a longer break next time.
Warm regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonlinFor...
1 review
“Peaceful Paradise in Puducherry.”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Highly recommend this place. Came to visit Adishakti (which was only a stones throw down a very beautiful path. It's in a prime location for seeing this very wonderful arts community outside of Puducherry.
The house was peaceful, beautiful, very clean and we had wonderful conversations with staff and owners about the area, the house and just life.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Hey Ronilin,
It was great to meet you and Ryan. Here's to seeing you back in Pondicherry soon.
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagha D
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place to sat, WIth friendly owner and helping Staff.”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

A spacious Villa, jst as the name suggests. One can go with family or a bunch of Friends, we were 12 people all together (including Kids).
Space in no Problem there. one might at 1st get confused as the way to the villa is a little inside. but once ur in. Welcome to Peace.
the owner Shiv is very Friendly, even if he is not Personally Present there, every think was already taken care of from his side. Shiv"s Father (Uncle) were very welcoming. showed us in and around the house. We went for a garden walk i the morning. all the veggies cooked in the house are grown Out side the Land of the Villa.
There are books one can read, Play some games, watch Television, go ride the Cycle, or jst Chill.
The Auro Bindo Asharam is near by.
While It is a Little away from the Pondi City.

breakfast, lunch & dinner, all are available. you jst hav to pre-inform them earlier so they have time to prepare. and also tell them the menu you want to eat.
They will do the best possible.The kitchen is free for you to venture, you can cook too. :P

All i will say....It just feels like a Home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space...Lots of Space.
Liked least: Some times the Language can be a gr8 barrier
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Dear Dagaji,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It's our endeavour to make Sharanya a home away from home. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon.
Thanks again
Warm regards
Shiv.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poorvi N
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were a group of 5 and we went to sharanya in the last week of December. The villa is beautiful and it is huge could easily accomadate 8-10 people. There is so much peace there . Perfect for a peaceful vacation what most of us look for. Would recommend this place to all my friends

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Thank you Poorvi for your lovely review. Hope to see you back soon for a relaxing break.
Warm regards
Shiv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing