We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Olde-world charm and most helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyed staying here and wouldn't hesitate to do so again. Centrally located, good food and well priced. My only issue was a lack of hot water and pressure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Visited Pondy for the first time last week and we wanted to stay in a heritage villa rather than a plain hotel room....and du Parc fulfilled on both counts...economically too. The staff are well behaved and helpful. The rooms are neat and spacious enough.
The place has a homely feel to it with great ambience...the location is good. It is close to all the major attractions in the city.
The food in the hotel 'La Maree' too awesome. We never bothered to eat anywhere else. Cost is economical too. If you are looking for a stay with a difference...this is the place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinamrata_Eswar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I love Pondicherry and visit once in a few months.This time round, I was taking my aunt and uncle here and wanted to stay and explore the French Quarters. Hotel Du Parc was a perfect stay in this aspect. It is a beautiful heritage building. Chrome yellow and difficult to miss, great location- a short walk from Aurobindo Ashram and the rocky beach, this hotel is lush with greenery inside and a beautiful deck to sit out in.
The staff were very helpful and courteous. They even upgraded us to a suite as we were three of us. The room was large and colonial, quite well done as well. Overall our stay was short and sweet.
The only negative here is the breakfast and cutlery. Breakfast is below average and cutlery could do with some cleaning. I would highly recommend getting out and walking a few steps to the left and eating at A2B for some yummy typical Tamilian breakfast.

Room Tip: Corner suite is large and palatial. Good if you are travelling with group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prithviii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I are fans of antique/ heritage homes converted to hotels. Du parc is exactly that, with its French style entrance doors, high ceilings, duplex rooms and all that jazz. The property was built in the 1700s by the French colonials, which gives my husband and I a breeze of history that it might've witnessed during those times.

The hotel is in the French side although its just a few meters away from the hustle and bustle of the shopping market. About the hotel and its services, our booking was relatively hassle free; we were able to get a reservation 2 days in advance. The property is maintained alright, could do a bit better. The best part is the cozy courtyard in the middle. Breakfast was good enough, didn't try the restaurant though.

The room was really pretty with matching wall colours and drapes. The bathrooms were devoid of toiletries - moisturizers, shampoos & conditioners, although the soap and shampoo are ones that you wouldst want to use on account of it drying out your skin and hair. So don't forget to bring your own!

We enjoyed our little vacation because of the quaintness of the place and the sense of "cut-off" that it gives when you enter.

Happy Staying!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandhya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I think we have been here around ten times, and the stay was never disappointing. Most of the times, luckily, we get upgraded to deluxe rooms inspite of booking a standard room. My husband loves anything that's antique n we both fell in love with this place instantly. My friend introduced me to this place before 5 years n we visited this place every six months since then.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SaranyaVamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I also stayed at the Hotel du Parc based on Tripadvisor. Many visitors had highly praised it. I must say I was disappointed. As a visitor has written before me:
“Hotel doesn't look as good as good as pictures, but a fairly clean place to stay. Staff is helpful, friendly but slow. Breakfast is sufficient. Beat about this hotel is location in the French section of Pondicherry.” The first evening I had to ask the bed sheet to be changed, it was not clean! The Internet is best after midnight, but perhaps this is the overall Indian system and not the hotel. I came to Chennai by flight and the hotel arranged a car to bring me to Pondicherry for 3,200.00 INR. That was fine!

This may be a hotel that can satisfy backpackers and the price for a room per night was low. Unfortunately this hotel was not for me, which had to do with the standard of the facilities not the friendliness of the staff or the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Located right in the middle of the French Quarter, Du Parc is a beautiful little place with many sight seeing locations set just around it !Rooms are nice and big with an old world charm.Service was very good and courteous.
We stayed as a family of 4 and had a great stay for 2 nights in May 2013.
The games room is small but we did get to inaugurate the table tennis table while we were there.
Good complimentary Breakfast - order a couple of dishes by choice and sufficient quantity was served on the table.No Buffets.
Overall Recommended - Very Good.

Room Tip: Has mezzanine rooms which children may find fun.The other duplex room was also pretty nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 83 in Pondicherry
1,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 83 in Pondicherry
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pondicherry Executive Inn Pvt Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 83 in Pondicherry
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
2 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#5 of 83 in Pondicherry
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £37 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing