We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
189
231
50
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
231
50
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aurobindo ashram heritage hotel old french villa walking distance would highly recommend this hotel french town continental food market area white town the hotel staff french heritage central location place to stay deluxe rooms hotel restaurant antique furniture mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A quaint hotel in the middle of a busy street – that’s Hotel Du Parc. It takes a moment to register that the ‘lobby’ is actually an open desk right by the entrance. There is no show here, just a plain unadorned procedure that takes less than 5 minutes. A group of five, we rented the suite for the night and the manager at the hotel let us have an extra bed free of charge. The room was just gorgeous…it was like stepping into a piece of history – which means that as lovely as it is…it does show some wear and tear.
However, the best thing about the hotel, besides its architecture, is its location. It’s a five minute walk to the beach on one side, and a five minute walk to the busy shopping district on the other side. Since we wanted to get the most out of the fading day, we left our bags in the room and proceeded to walk around the area. We did come back to Du Parc for dinner though and the Le Maree didn’t disappoint in taste even if it did in portions. We had to place a second order once we saw how economical the portions were.
Our one quibble – breakfast. Yes, it comes complimentary with the room, but that doesn't mean it should be so basic. In the buffet were two Indian dishes, bread, croissant (poorly baked), eggs, juice, and sausages. We are not picky eaters, but we did expect a better spread…and the staff were slow in replenishing the food, which meant the quantity dwindled substantially before you got it was refilled.
The check-out was equally smooth, though we did leave the place feeling that the over-all service could have been better, and the staff could have been friendlier. We would check in again in for no other reason than that the shopping area/ beach/ other restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madhatterdiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We ( my wife and eight year old daughter and wife,s family) stayed for a week in two deluxe rooms . The location is fantastic with the bazaar, beach , park and ashram all within 5 min walk..what blew us completely is the service..everyone from the manager to staff looked after us like family..the hotel became our home after the first two days as mr Krishna, Venkat and others made the stay memorable..we will return in December..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is located in a central location, the famous temple, aurobindo ashram, garden and seafront are very close from the hotel (walking distance).
On arrival we were greeted kindly and i was happy to see the place as shown in the professional photos. The way in which the hotel is made gives an authentic french appearance with a charm of its own.
The service, house keeping was very good. Rooms were spotlessly clean. We had stayed in a standard room which was decently good and spacious, good bathroom. What i liked about the room was it had a nice sit out for two (chair and a very small table). The total wood effect in the room gave a cozy feel to it.
The food was good, wide variety on the hotel menu and we could order our lunch/dinner at our room, service was prompt and the food was mind blowingly delicious. But i feel they can improve on breakfast which get repetitive (though good- but u cant eat the same for more days. Live omlette or dosa counter would be a welcome addition)
I'd suggest them to provide electric kettles (which mostly all hotel rooms nowadays have) in addition to the minbar (even in a standard room).
I'd specially like to thank Mr. Ravi (manager) and Mr. Gerrad for providing great hospitality.

Overall i'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms as the deluxe rooms are not as big as you would expect them to be
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draltafarsiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for one night in standard room. Hotel is bang opp to manavalku temple inside french colony. 2 Min walk to the beach. Property is maintained ok. They have tried to maintain the french relics and ascetics. Room has a mini bar stocked to chill from the heat. Service was good. So the only letdown is food. Breakfast option was average with not too many options to try the french cuisine. Prices for food very pricey. Stay here and eat at villa shanti if you want to sample some authentic french cuisine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalpskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Hotel du Parc is well located next to an interesting temple, where every evening, an elephant blesses worshipers for some small change. That is about all.
The rooms need a good fresh coat of paint. Breakfast is diabolical. The courtyard is plagued by a kind of metal mezzanine, which kills its colonial charm. I would not stay again, even though I was upgraded to a superior room.
Of all the hotels I visited in Pondicherry, I would have liked to stay at La Maison Tamoule, a superbly refurbished traditional south Indian house.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews