We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in a shabby chic boutique hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice stay in a shabby chic boutique hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We liked the quaintness of this hotel that is starting to look a little brab, it would have been fabulous 5 years ago. Our room was reasonably clean and comfortable but the restaurant and breakfast room was grubby, with old decorations left lying around and it felt un-cared for.
We enjoyed an early morning promenade from the hotel as it is close to the sea front.
The staff were quite friendly and efficient...all in all we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Room 10 is up the steps on the left hand side behind the check-in desk. It is large and has a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    211
    44
    8
    5
See reviews for
124
164
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

In french it means a "Good place to stay" . If you are looking for a weekend getaway and bored with the usual modern hotels and architecture DU Parc is the place you should be . 16th Century villa takes you back to the years gone away from all the modern hustle and bustle and creature comforts of any posh swanky hotels . Located at the French quarters easily accessible to the promednade and all good restaurants by walk .This is where i would stay when i am back to Pondy .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A quaint hotel in the middle of a busy street – that’s Hotel Du Parc. It takes a moment to register that the ‘lobby’ is actually an open desk right by the entrance. There is no show here, just a plain unadorned procedure that takes less than 5 minutes. A group of five, we rented the suite for the night and the manager at the hotel let us have an extra bed free of charge. The room was just gorgeous…it was like stepping into a piece of history – which means that as lovely as it is…it does show some wear and tear.
However, the best thing about the hotel, besides its architecture, is its location. It’s a five minute walk to the beach on one side, and a five minute walk to the busy shopping district on the other side. Since we wanted to get the most out of the fading day, we left our bags in the room and proceeded to walk around the area. We did come back to Du Parc for dinner though and the Le Maree didn’t disappoint in taste even if it did in portions. We had to place a second order once we saw how economical the portions were.
Our one quibble – breakfast. Yes, it comes complimentary with the room, but that doesn't mean it should be so basic. In the buffet were two Indian dishes, bread, croissant (poorly baked), eggs, juice, and sausages. We are not picky eaters, but we did expect a better spread…and the staff were slow in replenishing the food, which meant the quantity dwindled substantially before you got it was refilled.
The check-out was equally smooth, though we did leave the place feeling that the over-all service could have been better, and the staff could have been friendlier. We would check in again in for no other reason than that the shopping area/ beach/ other restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhatterdiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We ( my wife and eight year old daughter and wife,s family) stayed for a week in two deluxe rooms . The location is fantastic with the bazaar, beach , park and ashram all within 5 min walk..what blew us completely is the service..everyone from the manager to staff looked after us like family..the hotel became our home after the first two days as mr Krishna, Venkat and others made the stay memorable..we will return in December..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is located in a central location, the famous temple, aurobindo ashram, garden and seafront are very close from the hotel (walking distance).
On arrival we were greeted kindly and i was happy to see the place as shown in the professional photos. The way in which the hotel is made gives an authentic french appearance with a charm of its own.
The service, house keeping was very good. Rooms were spotlessly clean. We had stayed in a standard room which was decently good and spacious, good bathroom. What i liked about the room was it had a nice sit out for two (chair and a very small table). The total wood effect in the room gave a cozy feel to it.
The food was good, wide variety on the hotel menu and we could order our lunch/dinner at our room, service was prompt and the food was mind blowingly delicious. But i feel they can improve on breakfast which get repetitive (though good- but u cant eat the same for more days. Live omlette or dosa counter would be a welcome addition)
I'd suggest them to provide electric kettles (which mostly all hotel rooms nowadays have) in addition to the minbar (even in a standard room).
I'd specially like to thank Mr. Ravi (manager) and Mr. Gerrad for providing great hospitality.

Overall i'd recommend this place.

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms as the deluxe rooms are not as big as you would expect them to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draltafarsiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for one night in standard room. Hotel is bang opp to manavalku temple inside french colony. 2 Min walk to the beach. Property is maintained ok. They have tried to maintain the french relics and ascetics. Room has a mini bar stocked to chill from the heat. Service was good. So the only letdown is food. Breakfast option was average with not too many options to try the french cuisine. Prices for food very pricey. Stay here and eat at villa shanti if you want to sample some authentic french cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalpskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
504 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Hotel du Parc is well located next to an interesting temple, where every evening, an elephant blesses worshipers for some small change. That is about all.
The rooms need a good fresh coat of paint. Breakfast is diabolical. The courtyard is plagued by a kind of metal mezzanine, which kills its colonial charm. I would not stay again, even though I was upgraded to a superior room.
Of all the hotels I visited in Pondicherry, I would have liked to stay at La Maison Tamoule, a superbly refurbished traditional south Indian house.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#11 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Property: Hotel Du Parc
Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing