We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint property with rough edges”
Review of Hotel Du Parc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Du Parc
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel du Parc is located on the edge of the French Quarter, a few minutes walk from the Ashram, the Ganesha temple and the promenade. The rooms are adequate with a quaint touch--- stairs leading up to an upper floor with a single bed, i.e. a duplex room.

Service is acceptable, but neither the choice nor the presentation of the breakfast meets required standards. For example, all guests have to use common bowls of butter and preserves, not a hygienic practice.

Overall, one could get better accommodation for this price. I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Du Parc
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel Du Parc added that charm to our Pondy trip. One of my friends stayed here last year and she recommended this place to me. We got upgraded to a deluxe room (a duplex style, perfect for 4 people); the decor was lovely, the rooms were clean, the food is lip-smacking and the entire place is designed like a dream. Fresh linen, towels, well stacked mini bar - just perfect! It's truly a heritage hotel with amazingly well-mannered staffs (all of them, literally). The location is perfect - it's in the French colony; everything from heritage restaurants to shopping places are right next to Du Parc. This is my second trip to Pondicherry and I feel like coming back again just for this amazing hotel. Would definitely come back here and recommend it to others as well, that too in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you have 4 people. Room no. 1 is great, we stayed in it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed in this heritage hotel in mid July'14, it is inside the french colony, and practically within walkable distance from all attractions. We reached there in early morning, and as we stand in-front of the gate, we found the whole place is very inviting. It has an old french villa touch. People in the hotel are very helpful and friendly. Our room was not ready...but they provided us another room to rest. When we got our room...we just loved it. We stayed at room no 3, which is a split level room with comfortable bed. Also loved the decor of it. The best part of the hotel is they made us feel at home.
The breakfast ...though it doesn't have fancy staff , but very warm feelings. Their dosa is very good..Because of the heat, we mostly stayed back in the hotel, and we loved every bit of it.
If we go back to Pondichery, definitely we will stay in this hotel. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 1, 2, 3, and 4 are nicer. and bigger.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhaswati_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband & I stayed here in the weekend of July 26. It is admist the french colony. The overall vibe of this place is just beautiful. It's got a French Villa type of architecture with it's mustard walls and mint green french windows. Immediately you feel at home. The reception staff was very pleasant and cordial. You are welcomed with a refreshing drink. As luck may have it, we got upgraded to a better room with no extra charges. Recommend Room 4, if you wish to stay here. Its got a mezzanine floor within the room which makes it quite an experience. Du parc is within 2 min walking distance to all touristic pit stops and street shopping areas (Do visit:-Rock Beach (Sunrise), Aurobindo Ashram, Pondicherry Museum, Promenade, Vinayaka Temple & Mission Street). Buffet Breakfast is complimentary but it is a very basic continental/indian cuisine.
The only let down was the restaurant La Maree. Absolutely despised whatever I ordered a la carte. Recommend you avoid this and try some other restaurants for all other meals
. All in all, this is definitely the place you want to stay when u want a home away from home for the weekend. Would definitely love to come back and stay here.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a mezzanine floor with a single cot available there. Absolutely loved it..!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RinkuJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best heritage hotels that i have stayed in. This hotel is in one of the most wonderful areas in pondy. You can practically walk down to every major tourist destinations around. Promenade, Aurobindo ashram, vinayaka temple and French colony is nearby. Hotel staff (Gérard, venkatesh and ravi) are very cordial and very quick to respond. Hotel ambience is very serene and calm. Food is Ok but due to locations you have lot of options nearby. No traffic around the hotel. Gives you a nice, calm and relaxing feel about itself at a very reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anil687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A hotel with the feel of an old French Vila feel, we were satisfied with our stay at this place. We stayed in room no 1, which is unique as as it has an attic/duplex type setting with an additional mattress placed here which was ideal for the kids. Economical and with complimentary Buffet breakfast which is quite decent. The stay is made more comfortable with the staff at the front Desk giving you directions/maps to the places at Pondicherry, thanks to Venkat, Gerard and Raghu. Mr Ravi at the front office is corteous and helpful. Rocky in the restaurant goes all out to ensure the best for you. Located at J N street, very close to Promenade, the temple and the Ashram, it is ideal place for staying. We had a great experience and a memorable one.

Room Tip: Room No 1 & 2 are ideal for families with small children or 3 adults,
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Devander-Shivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Amazing experience! Hotel Du Parc gives a direct competition to the hotels in France, Italy & Switzerland, after having several travelling experiences in Europe Hotel du parc gave the same feeling of living in abroad and a beautiful first experience in Pondicherry French town. Perfect hospitality, friendly & helping staff which made the trip to pondicherry much easier and trouble free :) I would be glad to recommend this hotel to my friends & family in Mumbai and in France.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 82 in Pondicherry
516 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#8 of 82 in Pondicherry
1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 82 in Pondicherry
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#19 of 82 in Pondicherry
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 82 in Pondicherry
497 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Sunway Manor
The Sunway Manor
#6 of 82 in Pondicherry
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Parc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Parc

Address: 5 Jawaharlal Nehru Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Parc 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Villa Selvom - restored as Hotel du Parc with close proximity to the beach and the Auroindo ashram, was built in the early 17th Century and was a part of Villa Aurome. It has served in the past as the residence of many French Governors including Dupleix. The Villa has been remodeled as a reflection of the colonial times. Nestled ingeniously between the mango and coconut trees, the hotel offers two exquisite Multi-cuisine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Parc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing