We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
189
231
50
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
231
50
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aurobindo ashram heritage hotel old french villa walking distance would highly recommend this hotel french town continental food market area white town the hotel staff french heritage central location place to stay deluxe rooms hotel restaurant antique furniture mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2014

The heritage property has its charm thanks to good thoughtful detailing in the rooms and other interiors. The breakfast is not too exciting (not bad either though) and the service might be slow. Ask for a custom omelette and head out!

PS: If you hire a two-wheeler, park it inside the premises as it 'might get stolen' from outside they say!

Room Tip: Number 4 is good, read it here on Tripadvisor!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalayDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel du Parc is located on the edge of the French Quarter, a few minutes walk from the Ashram, the Ganesha temple and the promenade. The rooms are adequate with a quaint touch--- stairs leading up to an upper floor with a single bed, i.e. a duplex room.

Service is acceptable, but neither the choice nor the presentation of the breakfast meets required standards. For example, all guests have to use common bowls of butter and preserves, not a hygienic practice.

Overall, one could get better accommodation for this price. I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jaytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel Du Parc added that charm to our Pondy trip. One of my friends stayed here last year and she recommended this place to me. We got upgraded to a deluxe room (a duplex style, perfect for 4 people); the decor was lovely, the rooms were clean, the food is lip-smacking and the entire place is designed like a dream. Fresh linen, towels, well stacked mini bar - just perfect! It's truly a heritage hotel with amazingly well-mannered staffs (all of them, literally). The location is perfect - it's in the French colony; everything from heritage restaurants to shopping places are right next to Du Parc. This is my second trip to Pondicherry and I feel like coming back again just for this amazing hotel. Would definitely come back here and recommend it to others as well, that too in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room if you have 4 people. Room no. 1 is great, we stayed in it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed in this heritage hotel in mid July'14, it is inside the french colony, and practically within walkable distance from all attractions. We reached there in early morning, and as we stand in-front of the gate, we found the whole place is very inviting. It has an old french villa touch. People in the hotel are very helpful and friendly. Our room was not ready...but they provided us another room to rest. When we got our room...we just loved it. We stayed at room no 3, which is a split level room with comfortable bed. Also loved the decor of it. The best part of the hotel is they made us feel at home.
The breakfast ...though it doesn't have fancy staff , but very warm feelings. Their dosa is very good..Because of the heat, we mostly stayed back in the hotel, and we loved every bit of it.
If we go back to Pondichery, definitely we will stay in this hotel. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 1, 2, 3, and 4 are nicer. and bigger.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhaswati_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband & I stayed here in the weekend of July 26. It is admist the french colony. The overall vibe of this place is just beautiful. It's got a French Villa type of architecture with it's mustard walls and mint green french windows. Immediately you feel at home. The reception staff was very pleasant and cordial. You are welcomed with a refreshing drink. As luck may have it, we got upgraded to a better room with no extra charges. Recommend Room 4, if you wish to stay here. Its got a mezzanine floor within the room which makes it quite an experience. Du parc is within 2 min walking distance to all touristic pit stops and street shopping areas (Do visit:-Rock Beach (Sunrise), Aurobindo Ashram, Pondicherry Museum, Promenade, Vinayaka Temple & Mission Street). Buffet Breakfast is complimentary but it is a very basic continental/indian cuisine.
The only let down was the restaurant La Maree. Absolutely despised whatever I ordered a la carte. Recommend you avoid this and try some other restaurants for all other meals
. All in all, this is definitely the place you want to stay when u want a home away from home for the weekend. Would definitely love to come back and stay here.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a mezzanine floor with a single cot available there. Absolutely loved it..!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rinku Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews