We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Pondicherry
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem..”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked LMT after reading the reviews in Tripadvisor. As none of my friends have stayed with Neemrana, we did not have anybody to get first hand review. But still the positive reviews gave us hope that this will be special. Finding the hotel itself was a challenge. Being between two very busy streets, In think, this particular road did not have that much of a change in the last hundred years.
The hotel has been nicely tucked in a road full of heritage buildings. The hotel itself is pretty big and has been very nicely revived and preserved. We went the day after the Election results and did not expect much of a crowd. As expected, the place was half empty. We were even given a chance to upgrade to Pearl. Since, the room we booked was on the terrace we happily chose Cat's eye and had the complete terrace to ourself.
The rooms have been very tastefully decorated and all the antique items around adds to the heritage feel. We felt like staying in our ancestral home in our home town. The room was extremely quite even during the day time. A/C's did their best to keep us cool during this hot summer. We did not try their restaurant since we've already made other plans.
There were a few areas, even though is minor which could definitely add more value to the hotel if done with : The bath fittings definitely need replacement. The floor and other furnitures needs a bit of dusting.
All said and done, this is one of the best places I've stayed in Pondycherry. I will definitely recomment this to all my friends who wish to be taken back to the previous era while relaxing in Pondy.

Room Tip: Go for the room in second floor to have the terrace all for yourself..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RagsRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Cat’s eye room. Your feedback is a huge motivator for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a heritage building.

Your compliments about the ambience of the room and the building have been conveyed to the interiors and restoration team at Pondicherry.

Your observations regarding the bathroom have been noted and have been conveyed to the housekeeping department. Please be assured that the necessary actions have been taken.

We thank you for your continued patronage to the Neemrana non-hotel Hotels. Our team looks forward to welcoming you at our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    40
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I would give this place perhaps five stars but we only stayed a weekend and that was perhaps a little too short. Nice restaurant and spacious rooms and centrally located with about 10-minute walk to the beach/promenade. Helpful staff and child friendly. Staff did their best to accommodate the 2-yr-old travelling with us in terms of providing warm milk and simple food items not on the breakfast buffet. Nice cirt views from the roof. Wifi was working on all floors but ours only negative

Room Tip: Again, we were on the top floor of three floors and the wifi did not work there though we were told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoosierromy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback about the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

It is rewarding to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the property. Your appreciation about the warm and personalised hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and the team.

We assure you that we shall add supplementary routers to boost the signal on the second floor at the earliest. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were in Pondicherry for the Auroville marathon over a weekend and it turned out be an amazing weekend getaway. We were a little apprehensive about the place, given the hustle bustle of the Nehru Street. But once we turned the corner, the old tamil mansions lined up in the street transported us to another century.

This is a mansion converted into a modern hotel, but it still manages to retain its old world charm. The courtyard in the center is particularly welcoming. On arriving we were quickly checked in and even got an upgrade since our originally booked room was given to an elderly couple who couldn't climb to the first floor. We had nothing to complain about.

The room we got on the first floor was large, with a high ceiling and a seperate area for the bathroom and wardrobe. The real highlight was the mini-balcony which overlooked the street. The cooling was satisfactory. We got a great sleep at night. The staff spoke good English and we faced no problems communicating.

The breakfast was included in the tariff. It was a good spread of south-Indian and English items. Specially the eggs which were made to order. All and all it was a great value for money experience.

Now the cons (which are not many but if the hotels improves upon these, the stay would become incredible)

1) The loo is the biggest problem. The fittings are dated. The exhaust does not work great, hence the loo constantly has a strange smell.
2) If too many hotel guests take a hot water shower at the same time, be assured you wont get hot water.
3) The hotel premises does not have a parking, so if you have your vehicle, you are parking at your own risk on the street. It is relatively safe though.
4) The rooms facing the street is incredibly noisy during the day. Chances are you wont be in your room but if you are no sleep in the afternoon for sure.

but all in all great going!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amruta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay at the property. Your appreciation about the breakfast spread has been conveyed to the Chef.

Your observations have been noted and we shall certainly consider the same.

We thank you for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our stay in La Maison Tamoule, situated in Tamil quarter was comfortable and service was very good. This Chettinad style mansion has 10 rooms and retains the old world charm and traditional decor with Athangudi tiles, central court yard with soild, carved wooden pillars and old style wooden furniture. Some of the rooms have mezzanine floor bedrooms with a sitting area with day bed and bathroom in the lower portion and a ladder like or slightly winding wooden staircase, with railings, which may not be suitable for elders. The low height ceiling on the upper area also may cause discomfort to some. So, one needs to talk to management and choose carefully.
Our rooms were moderate in size, but had a dressing room and had A.C. in both areas and hence comfortable.
Breakfast buffet has limited choice, but tasty.
There is no parking area. The lane is lined with many such old, traditional buildings and not too clean.
Market place is close by. The distance to sea promenade takes 5 minutes by walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pravi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read about your experience at the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

It is great to know that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the property.

We always encourage our guests to inform the Sales team about their requirements so that they can assist in finding a suitable room. Alternatively you may visit the tariff page of the hotel website which provides room descriptions as well as photographs.

Please note that the complimentary breakfast includes a choice of different cereals, milk & porridge, fresh fruit, fruit juice, eggs made to offer, a choice of Neemrana jams, toast, an Indian dish (parantha/aloo poori/poha/upma/chhola bhatoora) and tea & coffee. We would be happy to receive feedback about what you missed at the email address mentioned below.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

If you want to make a change from impersonal hotels try this place. It's a lovely building and our room was comfortable and spacious .
The restaurant food is delicious ,although not many people seem to eat here. The tandoori chicken is fantastic and the salads make a change from curry . Also the Creole style fish soup is full of delicate flavour.
Nothing happens quickly here but it seems to work.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 55Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review about the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay.

Your appreciation about the cuisine has been conveyed to the Chef.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

La Maison Tamoule (a.k.a. LMT) sits in the Tamil quarter of Pondicherry, so don’t expect the fanciness of the French quarter here. But if you like the old world charm, the traditional antique houses surrounding LMT and the bustling marketplace on the street that leads you to the hotel will completely win you over. The smell of fresh flowers, incense, a brief whiff of sandalwood every now and then and the intoxicating aroma of the most authentic filter coffee in Tamil Nadu is what welcomes you every time you step out of the hotel and onto the main street.

The hotel is tucked into a quiet street off the main road creating the most quiet and tranquil mood, perfect for long hours of reading. But all my books remained untouched, as I lay down on one of the hotel’s many antique recliners. These reclining chairs call out to you, and once you’ve given in and sat on any of them, be sure of cancelling all sightseeing plans as you will experience the best holiday nap you can ever have.

LMT itself is a heritage property, a typical Tamil-style house with every pillar and every piece of furniture waiting to tell you a story. Even the stone tiles in the bathroom have character! I stayed in the Blue Sapphire, a room with a little loft that gives the room its cosy touch. But what made my stay even warmer was the gentility of manager Anbu and the ever-serving nature of the staff who seemed very happy working there and were always smiling.

For those worried about the hotel’s proximity to the promenade, it’s just a 10 minute walk, or a 50rs rickshaw ride. Not inconvenient at all. And for that lazy evening when you don’t feel like heading out, the in-house restaurant is known for its Tandoor. They cook up some really good fish as well as vegetarian specialities.

So if you’re looking for a quiet, old-fashioned holiday to relax and rewind away from the tourists, check into La Maison Tamoule and let the fantastic staff take care of you.

Room Tip: The loft rooms and the rooms with an ante chamber are perfect for families travelling with children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimiraGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with joy and gratitude that we at Neemrana received your positive feedback about the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay in the Blue Sapphire room. Your appreciation about the warm hospitality has been conveyed to the Manager and the team.

The Chef is pleased to know that you enjoyed his preparations.

While we are grateful that you complete the viability cycle for any heritage ruin to be restored and then maintained for future generations, we urge you to continue on this less-travelled path.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had booked all of La Maison Tamoule for a wedding in the family because the property provided the perfect setting for the occasion, as it turned out this was one of the best decisions (with respect to the choice of location) we could've made. The hotel staff and the manager Anbu were phenomenal. They, along with the staff of Hotel de L'Orient (the other Neemarana property in Pondicherry) and its manager Ranjit along with Neemrana's regional manager Kiran, met all our requirements and those of our guests (which was a difficult mix of Indian aunties, families, children, young couples, groups of friends and foreigners).It was not just the big arrangements (extra beds, seating, cooling etc) that impressed us the most rather it was the tiny details such as stringing lights on both the properties for the two day celebration (at their own cost I must add).
In terms of the property Tamoule offers its guests an authentic heritage Tamil house. The duplex rooms are delightful and perfect for young families and those traveling with friends. The rooms on the 2nd floor have access to the terrace, which is a great place to star gaze. If you are in Pondicherry and want to stay ion the heritage Tamil quarters then I'd strongly recommend La Maison Tamoule. Just check in and let the staff take care of you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mithun K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to commemorate your family wedding at the La Maison Tamoule heritage hotel in Pondicherry.

You will be pleased to learn that majority of the team is from the local are and has been empowered by Neemrana to run their local heritage with pride. Your compliments about the warm hospitality have been conveyed to them.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you at our 28 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.7 mi away
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
Neemrana's Hotel de l'Orient
#25 of 81 in Pondicherry
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Perumal
Maison Perumal
#5 of 81 in Pondicherry
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Chateau
Le Chateau
#20 of 81 in Pondicherry
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Dupleix
Le Dupleix
#10 of 81 in Pondicherry
507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais de Mahe
Palais de Mahe
#1 of 81 in Pondicherry
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 81 in Pondicherry
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule

Property: Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule
Address: 36 Vysial Street, Pondicherry 605001, India (Formerly Calve Heritage Hotel)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a distinctive Tamil street of Pondicherry with red-tiled verandahs and seating platforms, lies La Maison Tamoule. This street was restored under the Asia Urbs Programme. Polished red-tile Attangadi floors surround a pillared courtyard over two floors. The verandahs lead to the rooms with Burmese teak doors and furniture. Light filters through a translucent roof above and the windows in the rooms tint the sunlight with their stained glass panes. This Baroque, Franco-Tamil architecture represents the same fusion as the colonial furniture and Creole food of Pondicherry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Neemrana's - La Maison Tamoule reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcomheritage Calve Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing