We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Facility”
Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Facility”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights (29th Sep to 1st Oct 2012) at GRT Sunway in Pondy. The hotel rooms were neat, clean and was well maintained. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Restaurant options were good and food was quite tasty. Online room reservation offers were good. The swimming pool was well maintained and had a dedicated trainer overseeing the activities.

If a small indoor play with facilities like carrom, chess or table tennis can be added to this hotel, this would help keeping kids and families entertained.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parthasarathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Mr Sarathy,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback which will motivate our team and also very useful to trip advisor users. As mentioned in your feedback we do have chess, carrom and table tennis - indoor games for spending your leisure time. However we will make this exposed during check in briefing. Please do visit to enjoy the GRT hospitality in your forthcoming visits.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    267
    81
    13
    4
See reviews for
278
135
10
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liuyang, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed 7 days and all was very good . Very nice staff at swimming pool, spa and restaurant ) Room clean and quiet.
Slightly away from the white city but it's not a problem.
Good hotel in Pondicherry

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Valuable Guest,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. This will motivate our team and also helpful to tripadvisor readers. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Sunway Grand in Sept 2012 and booked a 3 nights package for Rs11,500/-. We also got Rs1000 per night as cash back for restaurant use. It was a great value for money. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The hotel is spacious like 5 Star hotels. The hotel is 5km outside of pondicherry downtown. So the outside roads are clean and clam.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameerhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Mr Sameer,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much for your valuable positive feedback. This will be motivating to our team and very useful to tripadvisor readers. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest who visits GRT as per our slogal "The Promise of More". Please do visit our properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I was there for 1 day. Very courteous staff . The only thing that I didn't like was we booked a double room and the beds in that room were separate room and I cant think of any rational reason behind that. Breakfast at the hotel was awesome. Lunch was average. My overall rating would be good.

Room Tip: Make sure when you book a double room , you get a double bed not a single bed ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhakanta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Mr Subhakanta,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much for your positive feedback which is motivating to our team. Regret inconvenice during your stay and we will make sure that you enjoy your forthcoming visits.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

It's a loong review, pls excuse.

We booked 2 rooms grt sunway, pondicherry on 18th september 2012 for long weekend of
Sep 30 - Oct 2nd ( if you take a leave on OCT 1).We got a confirmation SMS for two rooms.
I have called up them and asked if it is confirmed and told them that room has master double bed. The lady who ever answered the call confirmed that the Bed is single master bed.

I got three calls on 28th from the hotel if the booking was confimed and and I said, yes, we will be there before 1PM. We were just about 500Meters from hotel in pondi on 29th around 12:30 Pm and we get a message saying the room is cancelled as per your request.We went in, we could sense some confusion in the front desk. However we got two rooms( superior rooms ) and we checked in. Now the surprise. the Room has two individual cots. We went back to reception to ask the same, and we got a response that the rooms we booked in this one only and they do not have any other rooms.On asking about the cancellation SMS, they told me that the htel had another guuest
who has my name and they cancelled the booking, and message has gone to me. They said they can change the rooms next day and give me the actual superrior rooms next day only.

Being stayed in GRT Salem and Vellore, I know how the superior room looks like and the rooms given to us was
in no match for 4444rs a day. We cut short the vacation and left the hotel very next day.

Now, what happened to the room that was promised. They would have got Some other loonger booking and they swapped the rooms with us is what I veleive.

The rooms were ok type, but definitly not worth 4444 a day.The Staff were soft spoken but the service was really bad. It took at least three reminders before any service is delivered.

I strongly sugest to avoid Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry where as other GRT's(Salem / Vellore) were good.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel if you have any other options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Mr Changarangath,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you for your feedback. Regret inconvenience caused during your check in due to miscommunication. We will make sure that we will take corrective measures and make your forthcoming visits are satisfied. Please feel free to contact us any time for any assistance.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The good things.....
Excellent amenities
Modern and clean rooms
Spacious layout
Great pool and gym facilities (best in Pondicherry)

The not so good thing
Location- Slightly away from the city hub but given that Pondicherry is a small city, this is manageable

The absolutely bad thing
Food- the buffets are pathetic both in terms of variety and taste..dishes of lunch are repeated for dinner. Even the south Indian cuisine does not taste authentic...all this when they charge double for their buffet when compared to comparable hotel


  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumitpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Mr Sumit,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your precious time in appraising us. Your positive comments will motivate our team and useful to all tripadvisor readers. Have noted your suggestions and will certainly make the rectification. We will make sure that you enjoy during your forthcoming visits.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

positives:check in was quick,rooms were clean & spacious,restaurant staff & food was excellent,breakfast buffet was sumptuous & delicious, swimming pool was excellent.pool attendant was exceptionally helpful .
negatives:housekeeping was very slow,requested for a shampoo & conditioner which took ages,atlast when the guy came he brought a shampoo & lotion,ironing board was not working apparently they had only 2 ironing boards in the hotel.

the stay was otherwise excellent & enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanu2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Ms Kanu,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you for sparing your precious time in appraising with positive feedback. It is a motivation to our team. Have noted your suggestions. Will certainly take care during your forthcoming visits at our hotel.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 80 in Pondicherry
1,097 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shenbaga Hotel & Convention Centre
11.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#18 of 80 in Pondicherry
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#16 of 80 in Pondicherry
603 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Royal Park
Le Royal Park
#26 of 80 in Pondicherry
366 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Shanti
Villa Shanti
#3 of 80 in Pondicherry
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Property: The Sunway Manor
Address: 100 Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing