We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay and def value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sunway Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sunway Manor
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Certificate of Excellence
chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay and def value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We were two families spent 2 days at this hotel and had a pleasant stay. Excellent customer service..courteous and helpful staff. The food was very good and again great service at the restaurants. I must mention that the breakfast buffet spread was awesome. Very satisfied with our stay and will def visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Ms Suba,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your kind positive feedback. This will motivate our entire team and also useful for the tripadvisor users. Will pass on your positive feedback to my entire team. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    260
    80
    13
    4
See reviews for
268
134
10
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed in hotel for two days and the hotel is excellent for family stay. The hotel staff is very good and provide very fast service at any time. The swimming pool is good, the only thing is for kids you need to guard as there is no permanent staff to guard the kids. Overall ambiance is very good, rooms are clean and food served there is also good. We hardly ate outside as hotel provides good food.

Room Tip: If possible choose pool facing rooms, you get good view from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavanpatel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Mr Patel,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your precious time in appraising us with positive feedback. This will definitely motivate our entire team and also helpful to all tripadvisor users. Shall pass your positive sentiments to our entire team who will be enthused. Please do visit our GRT properties and enjoy the hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We just visited with Family - Great Hotel. Value for Money.

Only thing is nothing to See in PondyCherry.

Hotel- Please change towel. Buy new towels....!

Food- Chang your North Inidan Chef....

Everythign else was awesome.....

Room Tip: Dont go to Pondy - Nothing to see there -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgyPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Mr Praveen,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time in appraising us. I shall pass on your positive feedback to our entire team which will motivate them. Have taken your suggestions also to do the needful. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I had stayed at hotels in US, Singapore, Malaysia, middle-east. By far, this was THE best hotel i have stayed, in terms of exceptional professionalism shown by the staff across the board.

We were 2 families, staying over for 2 night. We were welcomed by a soft drink at the reception counter. The staff was extremely professional - reception desk, security, swimming pool, restaurants. Haven't seen this quality of service anywhere in any hotel.

Breakfast was complimentary, but the staff was still serving you at the table and treating you as if you are their guest at a wedding reception. The quality of food was consistently superb, albeit slightly pricey. We had lunch outside once and decided to stick to the in-house restaurants for the rest of our stay. The veg-biryani was unlike any i have tasted - fresh veg, long-grain rice with good aroma and flavour.

Rooms are quite spacious, with a queen-size bed and good/clean furniture. Even the bathroom was meticulously clean. The swimming pool also has a life-guard who doubles up as a enthusiastic and friendly instructor (which the kids didnt like - they wanted to enjoy not be schooled).

I would highly recommend this place. Would visit again if i happen to be in pondy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaseerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Mr Naseer,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand!

Thank you very much indeed for your positive feedback which will motivate our team and also helpful to tripadvisor readers. I shall pass on your positive comments to my entire team who will be enthused to take care of every guest like this. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest who visit us as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

Superb is the only word. Stuffs are very friendly, amazing people they have got. They will make you feel very special. They provided us room even though we check-in at 9:30 AM and we had a every smooth check out as well at 1:00 PM!! We request to keep our luggage with them after check out to visit places and they did :) Complementary Breakfast buffet is one of the finest I have tasted. We spent most of the day time in this hotel, relaxing in cafe and lounge (cannot compare with lounges in Bangalore). Food is very delicious. Swimming and the gym were also good. Don't miss to experience the SPA, they even gave foot massage as complimentary for both. Will visit again very soon.
NOTE: BOOK hotel through their website to get BEST TARIFF / DISCOUNTS.

Room Tip: Rooms are standard, spacious and very clean. only thing it lacks is the Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijAbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Mr Vij,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback which will motivate our team and also helpful to tripadvisor users. Shall convey your positive feedback to our team. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Went with family (2 kids aged less than 3) for a weekend to Pondicherry and chose GRT after reading reviews on Tripadvisor and had a wonderful time.

Room
Very clean, spacious, with all amenities and being a Suite the kids had lots place to run around and play. It was actually much bigger than the pictures on the net

Cost
We got a excellent online price with 40% discount and breakfast.

Food and service
Breakfast and lunch were very delicious with a wide spread. The staff were very accommodative and provided us with milk for the children and allowed us to pack food for them.

Location
Its inside the city and not on the beach but Pondi being a small city it did not matter.

Will surely return and reccommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dayal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Mr Dayal,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much for your kind positive feedback which will motivate our team and also very helpful to all tripadvisor readers. We at GRT always strive hard to satisfy every guest. as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Shall convey your positive comments to our entire team who will be enthused. Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hopitality.

Warm regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

superb hotel --v had booked the hotel in grt website which is best value for money compared to other websites. my with twin kids really enjoyed as the hotel had swimming pool, small play area, a garden, v also as they have spa facility.the staff (everyone one) was courteous and help ful.they breakfast is good and tasty.North indian food is not that great, bt chinese, pastas, mocktails are really good also keep in mind the quantity is really good if u r ordering in room .Paradise beach (Chunnabar boat house) and promeade beach r very nearby, staff knows the route to everywhere.i felt value for money after returning from pondi. if i go back i will definetly stay in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRTHotels, General Manager at The Sunway Manor, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Ms Sarita,

Greetings from the Sunway GRT Grand !

Thank you very much indeed to appraise us with positive feedback. Your feedback will motivate our team and will be very useful to tripadvisor users. We at GRT always strive hard to fulfil every one's need and satisfaction of every guest is our motto as per our slogan "The Promise of More". Please do visit our GRT properties to enjoy the GRT hospitality.

Warm Regards
Rajoo Rangarajan (+91 90030 10137)
General Manager
rajoo@grthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
2.1 mi away
The Promenade
The Promenade
#9 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
Accord Puducherry
Accord Puducherry
#17 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
7.8 mi away
Club Mahindra Puducherry
Club Mahindra Puducherry
#14 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
Bonjour Bonheur Ocean Spray
#15 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Windflower Resort and Spa Pondicherry
2.1 mi away
Anandha Inn Convention Centre & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunway Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunway Manor

Property: The Sunway Manor
Address: 155/D Hundred Feet Road | Mudaliarpet, Pondicherry 605004, India (Formerly The Sunway GRT Grand Pondicherry)
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Pondicherry
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pondicherry
#7 Family Hotel in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sunway Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SUNWAY MANOR - IT'S A LOT MORE THAN JUST A PLACE TO STAY. It features a contemporary ambience that is blended with traditional South Indian hospitality. Located in the city center, it presents 61 aesthetically designed spacious rooms, OPEN HOUSE - 24 Hour Restaurant, GARDENIA - Multi Cuisine Restaurant, LE VERANDA - Open Sky, DELICE - Cake Shop, ASTA - Bar, Spacious Banquet Halls, PALI - Spa & Fitness Studio, RA - swimming pool, kids' play area, biggest parking, etc., which suit your leisure and business requirements. Opulent in decor and detailed in needs ensure an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sunway Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunway Grt Grand Pondicherry Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing