We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not to bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Corbelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Corbelli
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not to bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

7day stay in october.room needs an update, and a good clean. Rooftop pool is not up to the job and only suitable for children. Needs to be umbrellas and tables on roof terrace. Italian restaurant was only used once and found to be overpriced and poor quality. Indian restaurant in the basement was the worst food I have ever encountered on many years of travel. Wi fi coverage is a bit hit and miss, but i sat in reception to get best resultsThe hotel is located in the middle of town so if you don't like the things on offer you can always go discovering which I think makes your holiday.pondicherry is a 3 hour drive south of chennai.0

Room Tip: Try for room at back away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    78
    56
    20
    18
See reviews for
58
58
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. We were 3 people spending about 5 days in Pondicherry. We had booked a room for the night initially at Pondicherry Executive Inn.. however, they refused to give an extension to our stay and moved us to their other location, which was not very good either. After being forced to move hotels every morning for the first 2 days, we decided to try Hotel Corbelli and I must say we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was helpful and prompt. The price was much lower than Executive Inn whereas the facilities were the same if not better. The rooftop swimming pool was surprisingly clean and the Italian restaurant Don Giovanni was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moumitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Me and my friends had booked 4 rooms and we got the top floor. The terrace had an amazing view although we did not admire it as much as we did the swimming pool. 8 of us were in that pool for so many hours in 2 days. pure fun.
the rooms are adequate in size with mini fridge. apt for a place like pondi where u have to keep beers stocked all times. did not have a chance to eat in their restaurants but ordered room service which was decent. For rs.1500 per room, u get swimming pool, bathtubs, balconies, mini fridge, big rooms and great location. I guess its more than value for money.
Special thanks to Mr. Deepak who gave me a confirmed reservation without any advance and just through emails.
Room tip - ask for 401. room with balcony and great view.

Room Tip: room 401 - thats the one on top floor with balcony and one room adjacent to it. maybe 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikhilAdhlakha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

While nothing spectacular. The Corbelli works if you want to stay in Tamil town. Air-con took 24 hours to cool the room, but from then on worked fine. Rooftop pool is NOT in service, and the rooftop restaurant seemed indifferent to whether we ate. We didn't.

Room Tip: Beware of ground-floor construction, noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileyToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I will not recommennd this hotel due to bad experiance .e.g . no hot water to the boiler . food is of poor quality . no parking place near hotel .etc .Lift was not working . It is located in busy bazar place . Only Visiting places are nearby & it is centerally located .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I wanted to spend a day in Pondy with my friends. By seeing the reviews i thought this is the best place as they have swimming pool along with the package .

1st. When i tried contacting the people about hotel booking they said only online booking not via phone. so i booked the room via their website http://www.hotelcorbelli.com/.. i received a email status stating Success from eglobe-solutions.com.

When i reached their and asked for the room showing the receipt they said no rooms are available and my name is not in the list. i was so shocked i said i have already booked the room via online. They were like i'm sorry we cant help u out.
I asked them i received a email stating success and how come u say so .. the receptionist said its on hold . after many conversation they said they will arrange room some other place..

I asked how about the money i paid via online they said when i cancel i will receive in my account . Another person came(Mr.Senthil), he asked whats the issue and i explained everything .. to my surprise the rooms were available and they dint provide me.

I came to know how cheat they are : if i had cancelled the booking i would have lost the money because they would have taken it as No-shows.

Rules written in the email:
If cancelled before 7 days: 85% refund, Between 7 days-72 hrs: 50% refund, Less than 72hrs, No-Shows or Early Checkout : No refund.

2nd : Extremely poor Service .. The room was stinky

3rd: I have never seen a swimming pool maintained that bad ... along with the water it was full of insects, even after complaining no initiative was taken. Moreover its a not swimming pool its a mini-Tank.

Thanks to Mr.Senthil who helped us to avail room in Corbelli.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rafidragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is in a crowded narrow street. The first room we went was not even having a proper window and it was smelling bad. The second room was a bit better but was closer to the renovation work that is currently going on in the hotel. Else the room were clean and the staff OK. The basement restaurant serves average quality food and is very dark (as is most of the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Eaazhisai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#34 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#29 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Abi Krishna
Hotel Abi Krishna
#61 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#46 of 74 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#11 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#36 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corbelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corbelli

Property: Hotel Corbelli
Address: 170 R D Mission Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corbelli 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Corbelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbelli Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing