We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good budget hotel with great italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Corbelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Corbelli
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good budget hotel with great italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed here for over a week, we had some difficulty getting the hot water working, they came to repair it but then it did work normally (not that you need hot water so much)
but what we really loved was the food at the rooftop, really delicious italian food, its my favorite kind of food and im pretty picky when it comes to it, but that man makes some truly delicious pizza bottoms! everything was really great there.
just not the tiramisu, i love tiramisu and make it myself, so im even more picky there, but i dont think there was any mascarpone in his, and that is a must to me.

i would definitely recommend this place, if you're ok with normal things, meaning, the tiles in the bathroom are colored due to the calcium in the water and its a pretty small bathroom (at least ours was) but it was definitely clean and the bed was comfy, free bottled and internet and great food (at the top, we didnt try the bottom, we didnt feel too safe trying it)

Room Tip: ask for one that is not near the center when you're below the rooftop, the kitchen tends to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c0rbelli, Manager at Hotel Corbelli, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Dear Heleen

Greetings From Hotel Corbelli....!!!!

sorry for the inconvenient at your stay in corbelli hotel, we will corrected the errors in our hotel(hot water complaints), thanks for appreciate the Italian restaurant food, surely we will convey your regards to them, we will surely speak to the kitchen peoples for their faults.


thanks and regards
Deepak
Hotel Corbelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    78
    56
    20
    18
See reviews for
58
58
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you've a limited budget but want something which offers something more, this is the best place to be. The location is excellent, you can simply walk your way to all the important locations in Pondicherry. The staff are very courteous and do not bother you and respect your privacy and comfort. The rooms and bathrooms were exceptionally clean, which is very important as most budget hotels try to compromise here.
Overall, the best budget hotel in Pondicherry. Why spend 3-4K on an expensive hotel? Simply ask for their balcony room (you can mail them and they'll reserve it for you) and enjoy a bath in their bath tub!

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms. They're excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Somsubhro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c0rbelli, Manager at Hotel Corbelli, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Mr. Somsubhro

Greetings From Hotel Corbelli....!!!!!1

thanks your so much for your comment about our hotel , your review is very much helpful for us, we will keep doing to given the good service to the guest like you.


thanks and regards
Deepak
Hotel Corbelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I got really influenced by the reviews in trip advisor and opted to book this place for two nights on 14th and 15th march 2014. After reaching the place with my family, they checked me in to room no 103. Fortunately, I told the guy to show me whether warm water is coming in the bathroom tap. It was discovered that water is flowing only on warm side and the cold side is jammed. It was really difficult for me to convince the staff that water from both sides is required to take bath otherwise one will end up with burns. They tried to do some make shift things and told me that it is max that they can do. Further when I checked the blower of the central AC, it was throwing normal humid air. Hence I once again called the staff to fix it. However, the staff said that the AC works in that manner and nothing can be done. When I requested to change my room, I was told that since it is central AC, all rooms would be like this. As I had made prepayment thru a travel site makemytrip, I felt stuck. However as a last resort I went to the reception physically and requested to change the room even if I have to pay extra. By God's grace they shifted me to room no 102 without extra charge, where the AC was working. Thus I didnot ask for anything more. In this process I lost about 2 hours and missed out on the entry time to aurobindo ashram distrubing the whole of my travel schedule.
Based on my experience I would not recommend anybody to stay in this hotel if he/she is looking for a comfortable stay. The room and bathroom are dark and dirty. All fittings are corroded.There is one small window which faces to service shaft. You won't know whether it is night or day as long as you are in the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNM901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c0rbelli, Manager at Hotel Corbelli, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings From Hotel Corbelli....!!!!!

we will very sorry for your inconvenient at your check in , in our hotel corbelli, we will taken your kind review to solve all the problem in the rooms , i future we will given the good service and good rooms for your stay in pondicherry hotel corbelli, we will waiting for your next stay for given good service.


thanks and regards
Deepak
Hotel Corbelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pondicherry hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I was staying for 4 nights, staff were friendly and professional on arrival check in was fast and efficient. I requested a room on a higher floor so had to wait for the room to be cleaned, took longer than necessary but while I waited I went up to the top floor to look over the pool and surrounding areas there was also an Italian restaurant on the floor below tbe pool. I had dinner there food was average and quite pricey. I was unsure if the pool was clean so I never used it, photos attached, it did not look clean to me. I then went back down to the lobby area and used the free wifi while waiting for my room to be ready, the Indian restaurant below the hotel has nice food at reasonable cost I had lunch there.
Eventually my room was ready I stayed on level 4, room was spacious however had the smallest letterbox window I have come across in my travels. The bed was twin pushed together and very hard, I found this in many hotels across India. Wifi worked well although I was connecting to level 3 not 4 for some reason better, so if you have a problem try that. Bathroom was basic, shower was the otherside of the basin so did not wet the toilet each time you showered which was good.
Hotel was a 10min walk to the harbourside, you could not swim there but was a lovely area. I found a hotel that had a vacancy opposite the ocean so booked in for the last 2 nights, this is where I wanted to stay when I first booked. Nothing wrong with the Corbelli just not what I wanted for 4 nights in Pondicherry.
A good budget hotel, you pay for what you get. I would recommend the hotel for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I will highly recommend this for family and bachelors :
Budget cost, clean and tidy, All rooms AC, free wifi,swimming pool
Staffs are very cooperative,,2 restaurants indian and italian - free room service

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Bhaskar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

it was very comfortable stay for 2 days in pondi at hotel corebelli. they provide breakfast, which is good. we loved the room with balcony. It is on the main street, lot of options for food. close to the beach and you can just walk.
This is center of pondi and all important places can be walkable...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff at Corbelli is very friendly and helped us with a lot of information regarding directions, where to rent a bike, safety in general etc. The Hotel is at Prime location with most of the things around just 5-10 mins away by bike. The rooms are Spacious and hygienic with Hot + Cold water 24 hrs. The hotel also offers very decent Breakfast :)

Thanks for the wonderful stay

Room Tip: Take the room on upper floors with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul_Priyadarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
0.4 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#34 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#28 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Abi Krishna
Hotel Abi Krishna
#61 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Inn
Golden Sun Inn
#46 of 74 in Pondicherry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#11 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#36 of 74 in Pondicherry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corbelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corbelli

Property: Hotel Corbelli
Address: 170 R D Mission Street, Pondicherry 605001, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corbelli 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Corbelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corbelli Hotel Pondicherry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing