We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money but quality compromised!”
Review of Hotel Jayaram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jayaram
Ranked #36 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Value for money but quality compromised!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have been to Pondicherry last month and stayed in this hotel for 4 nights....We booked this hotel two months prior to our visit and we didn't have to pay any advance payment to reserve our booking....The hotel exterior is quite attractive and the reception lobby is well decorated....Reception staff are quite helpful and we didn't have to wait long to move into our room....However the room interior was disappointing though, since the room furniture, wall paint, bathroom door etc were carrying the mark of lack of maintenance....Room service was excellent and the food (veg only available) quality was good....been to the hotel’s own restaurant (on ground floor) once but it was too crowded....The hotel seems to be very popular as a marriage venue since we observed three marriages in 4 days....in general the hotel has all the facilities you can expect from a modern hotel (including WiFi internet facility for which one has to pay Rs 50 for an hour which will be valid for 24 hours and the speed was good)....Hotel location is bit off from the beach and the ashram....however one can reach to the beach by 10 minutes (Rs 50 for auto) and the auto rickshaw stand is exactly opposite to the hotel....In general the hotel is a value for money but the room standards can be bit higher….

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana_Ghosal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    62
    34
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
19
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I and 2 of my gal friends decide to visit Pondy on a long weekend on Sept 2011 and hotel Jayaram was a last moment booking. We had booked a homestay and hotel was a backup. But the backup turned out to be the best bet. Since Pondy is predominantly hot and humid, it pays to stay in a good hotel which is very close to bus stands, Aurbindo Ashram, French Restaurants and the main market. we paid INR 1600 for a standard room that was spacious with clean sheets, utilities and helpful staff. It is well located and known to localites. Bus stand, Sri Aurobindo Ashram, Beach Road, Market and Resturants are all walkable from here. Food at their inhouse South Indian restaurant is very good, decently priced and a delight for vegetarians. I would recommend this place for anyone who would prefer luxury of a/c and accessibility during their trip and for families and group of girls.

Room Tip: Book in advance as its a popular location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Its probably good value for money (though we never found out what the bill came to since we had gone to attend a friend's wedding and his family had booked the rooms) but the experiance was terrible. The room was stinking, there was a coackroach in the bathroom, room service took an hour to deliver 2 cups of coffee and the restaurant was permanently full. By the way, the vegetarian restaurant in the hotel is very well know and popular in Pondy and it is due to this that we could not get a table even after a 20 minute wait. And since room service had already proved their 'extreme slowness', we decided to go to an outside restaurant for our lunch.

The view from our room was that of a compound full of rubble and rubbish so we never bothered to open the curtains, but the lighting and Airconditioning in the room was good. The ride to Auroville (which is a must visit place in Pondy) was only half an hour, but the staff at the hotel were not at all helpful with arranging transport/taxi, so we had to come outside and take an auto.

Overall not a good experiance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LManghat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. The pros are many - it's situated in the center of Pondicherry, less than a couple of kms from the bus and railway station. The service is prompt and the staff are courteous. The check out is 24 hrs, so you pay only for the time you stay. The food is vegetarian, and though not the best I have tasted, it was good. The rooms are not overpriced and you get what you pay for. The price range is pretty reasonable as the single room and the suite range between Rs 1300-1800. Can recommend this to anyone who wants good value for money with basic luxury thrown in. They do live up to their motto - Athithi Devo Bhava!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drtashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I would not recommend you to stay at this hotel. We stayed there for two nights in February. There's no breakfast included and the rooms are dirty. After taking a shower you'll be more dirty than before. It is not located in the oldest part of Pondy - latter is reachable within a 10 Minutes walk. The staff was not friendly and did not seem to cope very well with the english language.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nubuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

It is a very old and famous hotel. Veg. Restaurant is very famous. More customers come to eat only. With age the hotel has lost the quality of interior. Toilet is very old. Extra beds were there outside the rooms. No toilet paper was there.
Towels were clean but must have been used n washed 1000 times.
The only plus was money. It is cheap price compared to that location n reputation.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinga1000miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed in Hotel Jayaram with 7 other friends for 2 days. The rooms are spacious, airy and clean. The front office staff and waiters are very polite and courteous.There is ample space for parking and the hotel is located in the heart of the city @ close proximity to major tourist attractions.Initially I was disappointed as the hotel served only vegetarian food but when I tried their food, I was amazed by the food quality and taste.Service is quick and food is delicious. I specially recommend the 6 feet long Dosa to tourists visiting this place.Electricity back-up is a problem and needs to be taken care off. Overall, a very good hotel or I should say a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SourabhMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.0 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#34 of 80 in Pondicherry
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramana Residency
Ramana Residency
#31 of 80 in Pondicherry
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#38 of 80 in Pondicherry
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#33 of 80 in Pondicherry
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#11 of 80 in Pondicherry
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Devis Grand
Devis Grand
#29 of 80 in Pondicherry
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jayaram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jayaram

Property: Hotel Jayaram
Address: 90 Kamraj Salai, Pondicherry 605011, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 80 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jayaram 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jayaram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing