We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jayaram
Nearby Hotels
Dune de l'Orient(Pondicherry)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Perumal(Pondicherry)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
La Villa(Pondicherry)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
24
67
36
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
67
36
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelthe heart of the cityroom service isveg restaurantpure vegreasonable tariffsouth indian foodnehru streetfood quality and tastemain marketrooms are basicbathroom fittingsimportant placesbus standdecent place to stayneeds improvementnon ac
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Hi,

I live and work in chennai. I am a native of Pondicherry.
I have been visiting this hotel atleast once in a month all these years.
It is just because its food as such. This is a vegetarian hotel, the quality of food this great.

We have been ordering food from Jayaram hotel in Bulk for all functions in our house.
The veg meals is real value for money. the restaurant menu is also great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vignesh2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Bit old, but clean rooms. Above average service, great quality food. Hotel Jayaram is pretty good for the money you pay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here just before Christmas '11 (just before the storm) and we had a really nice time. By Indian standards, we got exactly what we paid for. The room was a little dated and basic but clean, although in saying that, there was a flat screen TV in the room and Wifi. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment but again it was clean.

We order delicious room service when we arrived although we avoided the cold dishes. The food came from a vegetarian restaurant on the ground floor which we heard great things about and it did not disappoint. We had dinner there on a separate night and it was superb, my only complaint was that the banana leaf on which our food was to be served was drenched in water which gave us cause for concern as we didn't know if they treated(boiled) the water or not. We ate instead from the various dishes which we ordered and avoided the banana leaf. (Call me soft but I didn't get sick once in India so...)

The staff were mostly friendly although not all the staff spoke english(it is a french quarter after all) and to cover this fact many used the 'Indian head wobble' to excess!(Comical but frustrating at times)

On our second night at the hotel, our Wifi gave out on us and the manager - Mr. R Manikanda was super helpful!!!(I kept his card) After failing to resolve the problem, he offered us the use of his office to make our travel and accommodation reservations. We used his office for over an hour during which time he worked diligently from another desk, while telling us the occasional anecdote and offering us tea and coffee. What a gent!!! For this reason alone I would recommend this Hotel. What a legend!

The hotel is located on a busy shopping strip and we thoroughly enjoyed shopping for Sulwar Kurtas etc for a wedding that we were attending. The Hotel was a 20 minute walk from the coast/promenade and while it was hectic, the shopping experience followed by a cold beer at another hotel on the beach front was delightful!

Upon our departure, the hotel ordered us a taxi at no extra charge, but that Taxi ride is whole other story...

If you're not too fussy then this place is great but if you are fussy then remember, you get what you pay for. Hotel Jayaram is definitely bang for buck and the management excel!!! Great for Vegetarians too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnoCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed this hotel for 3days with my friend,hotel very clean and the service also good.Tariff also affordable.Only one problem is that non-vegitarians has to serch for other sorce for food,veg.lovers will happy they will have good veg. cuisine is there.But no problem a lot of non-veg restaurants are near by this property.

Room Tip: Suite rooms in higher floors are good
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bijuantony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Jayaram looked good from outside during our last trip and hence we booked it for our stay during Jan 26 long weekend. The room was run down and the door needed a special thrust to get locked. The room service needs a lot of improvement and if you need something, then it is better you keep calling the room service every 2 minutes to make sure that what you ordered is on the way. The captain in the restaurant had loads of attitude. They served us cold idlis and when we brought this to their notice, instead of an appology, the captain walks in with fresh steaming idlis and said "here take this, will this do"!!! Will never repeat this place. This is neither a budget hotel nor a pricey one. But for the 1600 INR that we paid, I think we got a raw deal. To top up the trouble, our floor had a marriage hall and we had to make our way through a maze of people to get to our room each time we went out of it.

Room Tip: Avoid 4th floor when there is something happening in the "Mathura" convention hall.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramakrishnan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews