We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget family hotel”
Review of Hotel Jayaram

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Jayaram
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Comfortable, clean, spacious hotel , ideal for family . Difficult to communicate with room service staff, because they hardly know english, leave hindi.

The food was ok, i mean you would like if you enjoy south indian meals.

The checkin/checkout time is very strictly adhered too. and they wouldnt allow extension of even half an hour.

The hotel is inside the city and good distance from the sea shore and french colony. The furniture is a bit old and he bathroom fittings are also a bit rusty. The water in the bathroom is very salty and not suitable for washing hair.

We managed to seek in one of our friends to stay with us for the night . So we were 4 of us staying in a double room, with a single extra bed. No one askied us anything.

Average accomodation, good for someone on a budget trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pratik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jayaram
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

+ves:
Clean, Spacious Rooms (a double room is enough for 4 people to stay!!), Clean Bathrooms, Not pricey at all and pretty choice for Breakfast. Staff was quite polite but for some reason they did not give us the room when we went there first. After checking the availability online we approached them and then they gave us the rooms. Not a big things but did feel weird!! A lot of space to park your hired bike/car!! Not to far from Asian House which happens to be the only EDM club in Pondicherry

-ves.
Not close to the attractions/beaches but then again you could rent out a bike or car.
The hotel's restaurant is pure veg.

On the whole, not a bad place to stay if you don't want to spend too much on hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sukesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This has been my second stay in 5 years. Nothing has changed much. The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms. Dont miss their South Indian lunch which offers great taste and pure value for money. It is my one shop stop when it comes to staying in Pondicherry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed in Hotel jayaram in March 2013 for a couple of nights. Room was quite clean, spacious, with ample ventilation and sunlight, and with cleaner bathrooms (as evident from my earlier reviews, I am very particular about that). We chose this hotel after looking at 3 other options and found this to be economical and good in terms of location. Hotel has ample 2/4 wheeler parking space. Staff is quite polite and helpful.

Its situated on the main road and well built when you look at it from outside. (we actually thought of it as an expensive hotel from its exterior look, but to our amaze, it turned out to be reasonable).
Very close to main market (Nehru Street), rocky beach and Aurobindo Aashram, are hardly 2km from hotel. Its own hotel at the ground floor serves very nice food in quite reasonable prices (its evident from the fact that on weekends, there's a waiting queue of people coming there to eat).

Just so you know, if you wish to eat at a Heritage hotel, visit Hotel Du Parc, next to Raj Nivas, on Nehru Street. Its a Governer House-turned-Hotel dates back to 1800s.

Overall, its a good option for budget stay with good food option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salil_Ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Recently, I had been to Hotel Jayaram, No.90, Kamaraj Salai, Pondicherry 605011.

My purpose of the visit is official. But this hotel can be used to stay even with our families. Such a safe hotel. The main advantage of this hotel is its in the heart of the city and close to the main bazaar named, Nehru Street. Though its in the heart of the city, the tariff is economical when compared to all the other hotels near by. Food is good. Overall its a convenient location at an affordable cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at Hotel Jayram for 2 nights. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. Food at Akshara restaurant is amazing. What impressed us most was the amazing attitude of all staff to serve. They were amazing and all of them actually made us feel welcome and all the requests are responded to within couple of minutes!! Would definitiely recommend it and look forward to staying with them again! Only thing which they can look into - the mattress and pillows are not very comfortable. Mattresses are old foam type and pillows are giant. This did impact our sleep quality and left us with a slight back pain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Prabal_834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

good for a budget stay. its clean and basic and the food is good. the location is ok with in 1 to 2 km to mission street for shopping. Overall good option for short stays but beware they charge 50 rs for wifi for 1 hr.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahkish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pondicherry hotels
1.0 mi away
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
Ungal Vasanta Bhavan Residency
#33 of 82 in Pondicherry
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
Abirami Residency & Vista Rooms
#34 of 82 in Pondicherry
207 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Tamizh Park
Hotel Tamizh Park
#14 of 82 in Pondicherry
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
Pleasant Inn Pondicherry
#37 of 82 in Pondicherry
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramana Residency
Ramana Residency
#30 of 82 in Pondicherry
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Corbelli
Hotel Corbelli
#52 of 82 in Pondicherry
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jayaram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jayaram

Address: 90 Kamraj Salai, Pondicherry 605011, India
Region: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Pondicherry
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Pondicherry
Price Range: £16 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jayaram 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jayaram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing