We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jayaram
Nearby Hotels
Le Dupleix(Pondicherry)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dune de l'Orient(Pondicherry)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Accord Puducherry(Pondicherry)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Promenade(Pondicherry)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Pondy(Pondicherry)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
La Villa(Pondicherry)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maison Perumal(Pondicherry)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais de Mahe(Pondicherry)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
24
67
36
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
67
36
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelthe heart of the cityroom service isveg restaurantpure vegreasonable tariffsouth indian foodnehru streetfood quality and tastemain marketrooms are basicbathroom fittingsimportant placesbus standdecent place to stayneeds improvementnon ac
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

value for money for sure. room service is not very good. good location.language problem with room service people and very rarely come on time when called.food is good and not very expensive. definitely a budget hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pramod_bidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had planned a brief "cousins reunion" in Pondy and we zeroed in on Jayarams for Luch based on the reviews on tripadvisor. We had a request to seat 20 pax. initially we found the restaurant steward to be extremely rude and we were dismissed saying that " we cant seat so many people at a table". we reasoned that tables could be joined together to seat all of us, but he was in no mood to listen.

We decided to take our business elsewere. I just took a chance and escalated the problem to a higher up in the hotel. it took exactly 4 minutes for the steward to change his mind and we were seated in 1 group.

The food was ordinary. Simple south indian thali, highly overpriced.

there are better places in Pondicherry!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArunSreedharamurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent VFM hotel with an awesome location. Good cheap food. But a few caveats
- Room smelt of cigarette smoke
- Bathroom tap was leaking with a dirty brown stain below it
Can overlook these due to the low price. These would be inexcusable in a 3-4K hotel room, but when you pay 1500, it is just an annoyance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank JagannathMoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked our stay at Hotel Jayaram from 25th to 29th Dec for a lack of availability at any other hotels at peak season time in Pondy. If there was place available, it was for whopping cost of 7k per night or more!

As glad as I was to have gotten rooms at peak season at a decent price, it was a spark-less stay at Jayaram.
As a vacationer, I would have liked peace to some extent. But, Jayaram situated on the road does very little to help with that. I toured the hotel to find one room where I could get good sunlight with less noise, but failed to do so. The rooms which have window in the east, face some over-crowded alleys and the dirty back side of the hotel. Hence, its a bad view.
Rooms which face the road face the music(crazy traffic noise) at all times. Rooms which face west get quite hot coz of afternoon sunlight, thought the view is good(trees in the hotel). Now, why would I care if I have A/C in the room? Yeah, but when you go to Pondy during winters, its to enjoy pleasant weather and not A/C....

Breakfast at their restaurant is quite good. Going by the queue at night for dinner, its restaurent is quite a popular south Indian food place for Pondy-ites.

In terms of ambience, I frankly found it claustrophobic coz there was no view or fresh air, dungeon-like in terms of the darkness they maintain there. But, going by the queue, ppl quite love the food there.

I liked their parking space as well which was quite spacious.
Service at the hotel was average. Some staff are very attentive and prompt, while some just like to take their time and delay things. They promptly bring stuff on the menu, but do not take any special requests flatly refusing to help out. We had asked for our milk to be cooled before serving and they refused to do that. "As per menu, we will give hot milk. You can cool if you want" was all they could offer. They refused to put some stuff of ours that needed cooling in their fridge as well.

Well, as I started out saying, it was a very sparkless stay at the hotel though the Hotel sparkles at night when decked-up.
I have kicked it and applauded it. Lemme sum it up for you.
Well, would I visit it again...? No.. But, if back in the same situation as this time, would I?....Yes :)

Room Tip: As mentioned, all rooms have some flaw or the other. If you want to be just in the A/C, then pretty much any room is fine.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nehathegr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews