We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
119
162
55
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
162
55
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfun zonetravel deskmain citycm resortsactivity centernathula passsnow fallteesta riverindo china bordersmall resortleased propertyorchid restauranthilly terrainpick up and dropbuffet spreadgangtok townsouth sikkim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My friend and I spent a weekend here in July, and overall, it was a fine experience. The property is located a bit outside the main city, but naturally. That's what adds to the charm here, although Gangtok by itself is a largely peaceful and serene place. It's an utterly beautiful hotel, with its impressive facade and reception interiors done up in colourful Oriental architectural style. We took a room up on the third floor, and the view outside was stunning, especially in the cloudy weather we encountered. The room was spacious and comfortable, all the basic amenities in place, with a small picturesque balcony as well. Club Mahindra services were above par, from room service and travel service to entertainment nights in the recreation centre/ dining hall and warm behaviour of the staff.

We did face a few issues, though nothing insurmountable. The climb up to the top floors can be tiring, but it's quite worth it. The rooms (at least our room) didn't have an ac/fan and there was no need for it during our visit, but not sure if it gets warmer in peak summer, in which case a non-ac facility might be uncomfortable. Due to the monsoons, we also faced a lot of bugs in the night... we kept the balcony and windows shut, so not in the room itself, but the critters would somehow invade the bathroom while we slept. The toughest part was that telephone reception at the property, especially at the higher floors, was quite weak and fluctuating, so forget gprs already... unfortunately, the wifi at the hotel was also dysfunctional during our entire stay, which proved to be highly problematic for us since we had to arrange for some urgent documentation over the net on our first day there. Also, we found the cab rates offered here for the Nathula/Tsongmor trip quite high as compared to rates offered by the local agents.

That apart, we had a lovely time at Royal Demazong. The food is decent, nothing extraordinary, but the buffet spreads are excellent and not to be missed. Quite happy with the experience, and would recommend the place to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somdutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Somdutta,

Thank you for the feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you holidayed at the Club Mahindra resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience at our resort. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here during July,and it is one of the very nice, peaceful resort in midst of mountains.

Service staff is very courteous , food was good and rooms were impeccably clean. We even learnt how to make Momos. I would have loved , if food had more local variety.

Fun zone was also exciting, and for the first time in Club mahindra resorts, i found Souvenior shop to be good.

However, the only negative point , is that it is too far from the main city , and you need to depend on hiring private taxi every time. It would have been great , if they would have some shuttle service to drop you in town.

Overall, great staff, great experience and a peaceful visit

Room Tip: Pick up rooms at the top as they have good views, however you need to walk up the stairs for the same.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichaRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Richa,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We are glad you liked our accommodation, service, hospitality and enjoyed the activities at the resort. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here during the lashing monsoons in July 2014. Gangtok is a beauty by itself, and the resort location is marvellous. The rooms are cosy, the staff courteous and friendly and there's nothing left to be desired during your stay here. A true holiday in the hills and enjoyable even if you are left in the resort without any sight seeing plans. We visited east Sikkim through the well organised travel desk arrangements, enjoyed local cuisine incl local drinks through the ever-helpful restaurant staff, availed the holiday activities for our daughter from the Fun Zone at resort and had a truly memorable stay here. Make sure you spell out what you want such as an expert driver to take you around, local cuisine like momos, Thukpa, etc.. And the staff will go out of their way to serve you. The people of Sikkim seem very simple and nice at heart, and touring around locally is a no-brainer. The MG market is worth visiting with all kinds of shops and every bank's ATM to fund your shopping. Very well planned market area, reminded of Chinatown markets abroad.

Top marks to Club Mahindra resort and its staff for making our trip worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up as you can see the beautiful valley spread before you.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitaKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi Amita,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you holidayed at our resort. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Our resort staff will certainly be delighted to receive your compliments. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have been taken wonderful holiday at Gangtok in the month of May 18th to 23rd 2014 at Royal Demazong.We have visited Namchi,Nathula pass,baba mandhir,Darjeeling .Its a great experiance at Royal Demazong resort.We feel as like as our home when ever stay club mahindra resorts. Service was so nice by staff.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank bestbiotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi,

Thanks so much for writing in! We are glad to have received your feedback regarding your stay at our resort as it provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed overall experience our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thanks once again and looking forward to welcoming you at our other resorts soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were Exhausted of Delhi Heat,so me and my Husband decided to visit mountains,along with my 9 year old Daughter.North East was in our wish list from long,so decided to visit it this year in June,inspite of being Rainy season there. We landed at Bagdogra and then 4 hours we were in Gangtok. We stayed in club Mahindra Resort Gangtok for 3 Nights. Beautiful,peaceful as its 8km away from the city.The resort had breathtaking views of the Himalayas from the room. It was quite,private,away from the hush and rush of the city.Which is what we were looking for. Staff was very well educated,humble,polite.
The fun zone was also very nice, where my daughter spend time and me and my husband use to go to play pool in the evening. They played a very interesting documentary Mount Everest. Which was very educational.The food spread was also very nice. Once evening we also learnt how to make Momos ,which was fun and in the evening had what we tried to make.
The travel Desk people were also very nice and helpful. They organized a day trip for us,where we could choose our own itinerary and we also visited Nathula Pass & Rumtek Monestray which is a must visit if you go to Gangtok. The best time to visit Sikkim is Oct- March.

Overall pleasant and Peaceful Vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayasareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Gangtok, Royal Demazong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Jayasareen,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Gangtok resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the hospitality, but also the activities our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews