We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay with a good view”
Review of Hotel Sonam Delek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonam Delek
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights in February'14 and it was really a pleasant stay, with beautiful view of the mountain from the room. The food was quite decent. The friendly staff (especially Mr. Krishna at the reception) was always there to help. The hotel is located at the center, with M G Marg only around 1 KM from the hotel. However, if travelling with kids or elderly people, take a cab from M G Marg to the hotel, instead of walking, as the road is very steep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeansN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

273 - 279 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at Sonam Delek for a couple of nights with my family and the experience was truly fabulous. The hotel is located at a mere 5 min walk from the famous M.G. Marg, and at pretty much the center of the city. Its a very good mid sized hotel complete with an in house parking space and restaurant. The hotel provides free WiFi services to its guests; much required for a traveler.
We stayed in the best rooms at the hotel adjoining the huge balcony or common space over looking the magnificent Kanchenjunga. Gotta admit; the birds eye view of the entire city with Kanchenjunga as its backdrop was the high point of its facilities at offer.
The rooms were spacious, clean, and had a very homely feeling about them. The beds were extremely comfortable and provided a much needed sound sleep after the long and tiring tourism hours of Nathu La pass. In the chill of January, we were provided with efficient halogen heaters and cozy blankets which made our winters enjoyable.
The room service was very good, quick to respond. The restaurant had a big enough menu to please the taste buds of people from around the world. (Yeah, one could find plenty of foreign guests.) Had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and the food was great and very hygienic.
For the services provided; the hotel was extremely affordable, and would recommend the hotel to one and all.
The place certainly is a home away from home and the place to stay for my next trip whenever it comes.

Regards,
Varun

Room Tip: Take the room adjoining the balcony; gives you access to the common place for a evening dinner or mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank varun_b14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at sonam sleek for four nights, we used it as our base to plan for trips to other parts of Sikkim.
We stayed in super deluxe rooms and got an off season discount of approx 20% so felt that reasonable at that price point.

Pros
The rooms were charming, well maintained and clean
Rooms on level 3 and 4 have independent balconies and wooden flooring. View from these rooms are excellent except 402.
The rooms are well decorated with traditional Buddhist/ Sikkimese furniture and wall art.
The bed sheets are clean
Service is prompt and very welcoming. Staff is very friendly and helpful especially Krishna at front desk.
The food is yummy, they have tasty north Indian food, loved the vegetable jalfrezi and alugobi.
Provide filtered water, glad that we did not have to use the mineral water bottles, definitely environment friendly.
Magazines and books are available to read in the comfort of your room.
Heaters, definitely required during the cold season
Hot water in the bathroom
Electric kettles available in the room, so easy to make tea or even if you just want to drink hot water.
Cons
Wifi is very slow and sometimes does not work at all. For us this was important as we used Gangtok as a base for travelling and we had some work ad well. Luckily we had 3G on our phones. When we brought this up with the staff we were offered the option of working from the computer in the reception.
Heaters are halogen heaters, so if its on at night, the light might disturb you.
Hot water in the bathroom is sufficient for one person to take shower. After that it becomes cold.
Restaurant can be a bit cold at night.
Room 402 is small, has carpeted floor, view of Kanchenjunga from the balcony is not great.


  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is located very close to the main market street but far enough to be quiet. The view is beautiful with the lil town nestling at your feet. And this gets even more magical at night with the shimmering lights.
The rooms are very comfortable and cozy. Though you can avoid the corner rooms on the right side as there is a wall that blocks the view further to the right, of the Kanchenjunga peaks. The service is very good. And the food is good too. Their breakfast of aloo parathas and puri-aloo ki sabji was out of the world. Their manager Subba Rao is very helpful and you would do well to take his advise on places to visit and going around.

Room Tip: Avoid the corner right rooms as they have restricted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in room 403. We called them as well as mailed before we reached there. They replied in details and was quite helpful.

Taxi from taxi stand will take around Rs120 to Rs150. (Only small cars are allowed inside the town in busy time of the day)

We booked Changu Lake tour from Hotel and was satisfied with the help.

Considering the off-season the price seemed on a higher side but the quality of everything was superb.

I will definitely come back.

Pro: Service, Food, Location
Cons:
The glass door in toilet is little embarrassing.
Food in general was very good but one time we ordered some chinese food(don't remember exactly) which was quite bad
Location is good for view but away from MG marg(10 mins walk uphill). It was okay for us but I think it is difficult for senior people (they can have cab (Rs 50) available though).

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe rooms/suit for comfort and view. All are "View Rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hi All,
hope my review is helpfull for people who wants to know about Hotel Sonam Delek.

Pros.
1. Good View from the hotel, with clear skies you can view the Mountains clearly
2. Room was clean and big enough
3. Room had a heater, which came un-charged(few hotels charge for it)
4. Restaurnt was good, Food decently priced and good
5. Centerly Located
6. Satisfactory and ideal for honey moon couples


Cons:

Corridors was dimly lit
Complimentary Tea/Coffee maker not up to the expectation


Over all: ITs a pleasent place for a Family,Couples to stay and ideal for honey moon couples.

Tips: Take room with Views and Individual Balconies

Room Tip: Tips: Take room with Views and Individual Balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank behind_the_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have gone through the website of the hotel and find good reviews on the Trip Advisor.
Based on the reviews I have booked the rooms in the Hotel. When we reached the Hotel I came to know that the reviews are satisfactory. We stayed there for three nights. Rooms are excellent. Mountain views are excellent from the rooms. All the staffs were very good, services excellent, and we enjoyed the tasty food. The Manager Mr. Krishna Subba is a very good and very helpful guy. He even arranged our tour iteranery according to our ease which was a great experience. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#33 of 120 in Gangtok
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Namnang Courtyard & Spa
0.5 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#23 of 120 in Gangtok
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Udaan Yashshree, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sterling Gangtok
Sterling Gangtok
#11 of 120 in Gangtok
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonam Delek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonam Delek

Address: Tibet Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range: £18 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two decades old and still the favorite in its category. Highly recommended hotel....The best location in Gangtok. Awarded the certificate of excellence thrice in a row ie from 2012,2013and 2014. Awarded the great destination by holiday IQ in 2013 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonam Delek Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing