We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort
Ranked #57 of 119 Hotels in Gangtok
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hi we had stayed there for 2 nights no doubt hotel is good in short one can say value for money hotel but food quality and distance from taxi stand is issue. one can take shared taxi or book full cab to reach hotel and my sincere advice one should eat outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amit_pruthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

I had first booked himalayan retreat hotel at pelling and subsequently at gangtok. I was told that the main hotel building at gangtok is full and i will be offered accomodation in their newly constructed annexe building (1 min walk from the main hotel). All this turned out to be rude surprise when we were sent to another hotel - Mayel Llang. Further I had booked Super Deluxe room and paid for it but the other hotel said they only have deluxe rooms since it is a budget hotel. Since i was travelling with my family, I had no option but to relent and stay at the other hotel.
Spoke with the booking executive - Ms. Tumpa. She explained that their definition of super deluxe room is one with mountain view. The lady has got a very glib tongue and is full of lies. Travellers please beware whilst dealing with this lady. But I must admit that Mayel hotel staff were nice and offered good food. They also told us that many other travellers have been cheated in this manner.

Room Tip: Do not deal with Ms. Tumpa.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank sandeeps_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumpa D, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your review. We have checked your booking again & We found that before getting advance from you, you have been informed that as our main building sold out & We can arrange your stay at our annex Hotel. Accordingly We have arranged your stay at our annex Hotel .
Also note that it has Super Deluxe room category ( You can check their website also ), which has been provided during your stay. Though We feel sorry for the inconvenience, if you had any.
Hope, in next visit you will stay with us, if you book in advance .
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

v had a stay for 3 nights at this hotel during diwali vacation..... but as its seen in images and its reviews and rating i dont think its trustable..... after reading its review i had selected this hotel..... but rooms are not clean, pillow and bedsheet smells badly, bathroom was not clean properly.... problem of hot water due to electricity problem... in restaurant only few items were there.,...... and its far from main city area so you have to satisfy your hunger with this only two three items regularly in restaurant.......its a budget hotel..... means in very low charge so dont expect much more.......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank same_394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumpa D, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback . We sincerely care for your concern. We already replaced all bedsheet & pillow cover with new set . We always try to keep our property neat and clean but sometimes when we are fully occupied, its a challenge to us. We accept the fact that this Hotel belongs to budget catagory, though We try to put our best so that guest feel like homely stay.
Thank you for again for your feedback & will try to take appropriate measures.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we booked 3 rooms for 3 days from 15/5/14 to 18/5/14 I was promised Super Deluxe Room ( Mountain view ) room no.203 by Tumpa Dutta, but instead of booking in advance i.e. in FEB 14 i was not allotted the mentioned room. Tumpa Dutta should try to keep promises given to customer .After contacting manager he said that Himalayan retreat in pelling & in Gangtok are different management . I was offered rooms in Trateng residency hotel on M. G. road but after visiting it we decided to stay in this hotel as the rooms their were smaller than Himalayan Retreat .Food is not up to the mark. Manager BISHNU RAUL helps for booking vehicles for sightseeing at cheap rates.We were lucky to get Permit to Nathula pass as only 75 Vehicles permits are issued in a day . If you intend to book this hotel contact Manager BISHNU RAUL 09832352312

Room Tip: room no.203
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RANEMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumpa D, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience . We feel sorry for your inconvenience. Normally We do accept booking by room type not by room no. Also room no. 203 is Execuitve Deluxe room, not Super Deluxe . Right now the two property under different management but very soon it will be merged & hope you will visit again & you will get the same ambience here, like our Pelling Hotel, within 3 months. Thank you for your suggestion & advice .
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My experience was good except trip to Lachum, as is was on the sharing basis. The entire trip to Lachum was managed by the local travel agents on whom the Himalayan Retreat management had no control. The agents took 10 to 11 people in a vehicle like Tata sumo. and the hotel arranged by them in Lachum was just like a hutment.

Even the Manager of Hotel Gangtok hotel did not apply for permit for us for Nathula Pass and hence we were not allowed to visit that place. No Satisfactory reply was given to me for the same either by Manager or the Management.

The hotel in Ganagtok viz Himalayan Retreat was not upto the mark. Had lots of cockroaches. The hotel in Darjeeling, Hotel Lyang Residency( Himalayan Retreat and Resort) at Gangtok and at Pelling were very good.

Room Tip: Never go in a Sharing vehicle, If you can afford a private one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AtulThakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumpa D, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Sir, Thank for for sharing your experience with us . Its feel good to hear that You have like our accommodation at Gangtok, Pelling & Darjeeling . We have noted your concern . Normally sharing trip managed by local agents are economical . Therefore We always inform our guest that it may not be comfortable though as private trip are very costly , We had to arrange shared trip as per guest's requirement as like yours. And We have no choice left except to arrange it through local agents. Regarding Nathula visit also We always inform our guest before booking that Nathula visit is subject to available permit. The availibility of permit depends on daily qouta issued by Govt. & during pick season some tourists may not get permit due to excess application . We have no control on it. Thank you again your sincere review & looking for your next visit again with us.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After staying in Himalayan Retreat Pelling, i was expecting much from Himalayan Retreat Gangtok.. as the hotel was located in state capital.. but it was not up to the mark.. Pelling hotel is new up cumming property.. & Gangtok hotel is old one.. hotel is not in good condition, even rooms are small ..& hotel is located 20 min (by car) away from M.G road (market place)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pranoti_Rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumpa D, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your valuable feedback . We acknowledge the fact that there are differences among our two Hotels . Our Gangtok Property is budget/Std. accommodation where as Pelling property is a Deluxe 2 star new Hotel with different recreational activities . As Gangtok Property is old one, We have set plan to renovate the Property after this busy season. Hope you will visit again & find a new look / makeover of Himalayan Retreat, Gangtok next time.
Thank you again. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed there as a group of 38 members on excursion to Gangtok at the end of December last year. The first day they told that we have to be relocated in a nearby hotel as their rooms were not free, even though we had made prior booking for the exact date. The next day we shifted back to Himalayan Retreat with our group taking up all the rooms in the hotel. The next morning we were supposed to wake up early for visiting Tsangu Lake, but to our dismay the bathrooms were out of running water. Most of us had'nt used the bathroom till then but the manager said our group have used up all of the storage tank water. Our trip was delayed by a good 3 hours till all of us could properly freshen up. The next day also was the same story,,, no water again in the morning. What I understood was that the hotel does'nt have sufficient water storage to run at full capacity. Another evening the lights went out, and the electricity problem was rectified about two hours later. Food was okay, but nothing fancy. Rooms were quite spacious and neat, also nothing fancy out there. Highly recommend the rooms facing the valley. Leaving aside the water problems we faced, Himalayan Retreat is an average budget hotel. Only positives I found were the arrangement of bonfire in the evenings.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Debarshi_Baruah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumpa D, Guest Relations Manager at Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Sir, Thank you for sharing your experience. We have noted your concern and will try to take appropriate measures. Also We feel that we need to clarify few things . Your booking has been made by a travel agency & We informed them, starting from initial query, that on first day We will provide associate Hotel, as rooms already sold out at our Hotel before booking.
Water problem is a major concern in any Hill station like Gangtok. Water supply available only two times a day from govt. authority. Though We have rain water storage system separately but sortage of rain sometimes lead to water sortage, specially when Hotel is fully occupied with all room on quad sharing ( 4 ) basis. Though We have send a note to our management team to apply for another water supply connection or other alternative maesures.
Apart from that, We feel happy to hear it that You have enjoyed your trip .
Thank you again for sharing neutral & sincere review.
Hope, You will come again with friends !
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.6 mi away
Central Ninamma Boutique Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel Jignam
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sonam Palgye
Hotel Sonam Palgye
#40 of 119 in Gangtok
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#34 of 119 in Gangtok
84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel ReNam
Hotel ReNam
#37 of 119 in Gangtok
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sikkim Continental
The Sikkim Continental
#70 of 119 in Gangtok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort

Address: B.r.ambedkar Road,upper Sichey | Near Tamnag Gumpha, Opposite of Tibetan School, Gangtok 737101, India (Formerly Himalayan Retreat)
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 119 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range: £7 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalayan Retreat and Resort is located in the lush green hilly surroundings, one of the most picturesque spots in Gangtok. The resort offers the best in comfort with extra large bed & large view rooms. The resort has a private garden in front. From guest room you can view the peaks of Himalayan Mountain to breathtaking view of snow peaked mountains. It’s away from hustle bustle of the crowd but still near the main town. Along with free WIFI & desktop Internet access, car parking, hot water, and delicious dishes available round the clock. We offer all kinds of support for transfer, tour & sightseeing to our valued customers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Himalayan Retreat Cum Resort Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing