We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable and warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Patna, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very hospitable and warm”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night during off season and received a good discount. The staff and owner were very good and catered to our needs very well, ensuring that we enjoyed our brief time here. The location is very central and acceaible. The hotel has its own parking facility and food is great as well :)

I would recommend getting a room with a view.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anandkoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    80
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
144
62
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ambala
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

an excellent place to stay..with all the required amenities..situated in vicinity to MG marg gives you freedom to reach out there with ease. The owner Mr. Pinto and Mr. Migma are always available to provide with any sort of help you require. They never let me feel that I am half a country away from home. Would recommend this place to every1.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Varun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guwahati, India
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was really a very amazing time spending 4 days in Pintu Jee's Bamboo Grove R......! Nice Location, nice view nice food with home style, nice ambience, nice quality staff... and a very touching hospitality by everyone. A very big thanks to Pintu jee for being so nice with us.....my family really enjoyed the trip and hopefully looking forward to be there within the snows soon.....Raktim B. Guwahati

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raktim60381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This really is a lovely hotel with a good mountain side view of the Kanchenjunga and the Himalayan range but most of all lovely rooms , good room service and humble staff .... A hotel it really has a spectacular view and prices are reasonable with such a big cottage to yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranshu_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we stayed here for couple of nights and must say that we enjoyed every moments of our stay.We felt ourselves out of the world while staying here.The room where we stayed was a delux which was very big and ofcourse very clean and hygienic.The view from our room was superb and had proper ventilation in the room as well as in the bathroom.The hotel campus was absolutely clean.lastly not forgeting the management of bamboo grove was awesome.we would recommend this hotel to others.Excellent service overall.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarshVnsKolDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Its homely atmosphere gives it an edge over other hotels.Small and beautiful place to stay.
Their restaurant is superb.Reasonable rates.The breakfast made our days.Tranquility for which we visit a hill station is felt here after we have spent the evenings in the hustle and bustle of the M.G. road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shivangi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location is good as it is just off the main street with good ample parking space which is a very rare in Gangtok. You can walk to the M G marg in 5 mins which is the main centre of Gangtok. The room was clean and comfortable. The view from the room is quite pleasing as you can see the mountains instead of other buildings. Since it is away from the main road, it is quiet and peaceful in the evenings. The beds and linen were clean and comfortable. The shower was hot and bathroom is spacious.
The hotel really is an oasis as you come out of the hustle and bustle of the MG Marg into the tranquil hotel.
Reception staff was very pleasant and helpful. The in house restaurant serves good food.
I would stay here again and also recommend

Room Tip: If you value a great view, book a room on the upper floors

Room Tip: Room Tip: If you value a great view, book a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akhilesh_hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.3 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#6 of 118 in Gangtok
88 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 118 in Gangtok
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.3 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Hotel New Castle
Hotel New Castle
#7 of 118 in Gangtok
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Grove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Grove Retreat

Property: Bamboo Grove Retreat
Address: Gyatseling | Kazi Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bamboo Grove Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city and still maintaining its sanctity, the hotel has been aesthetically designed to blend with the environment and reflects the rich Sikkimese culture. The boutique hotel is just two floors and an attic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bamboo Grove Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Grove Retreat Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing