We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel without management/customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tamarind Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarind Residency
Ranked #38 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel without management/customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in this property for two nights on the recommendation of a travel agency that arranged our Sikkim trip. This property is ok in terms of its room facilities like spacious room and hot water, but it seriously lacks customer service, to name a few incidents one night on the request of a group of customers they changed their dinner timing without informing rest of guests hence we were kept waiting, when we asked manager why their was no communication he promptly blamed it on his staff. One morning while ordering tea/coffee to room service we had someone slammed our phone. There is no experienced staff with customer service taking care of hotel and that shows up during your stay, would not recommend it that price where lot many options are available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    22
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
224 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel during our Sikkim Trip in April, 2014. The hotel is just not worth the money. The lifts are antiquated and make noise that makes it impossible for anybody to get a sleep during the night. The service is really pathetic. The quality of food is just subpar.
We had also stayed in another hotel (Suhim Portico) for couple of days during same trip and it just was much better in all aspects compared to this hotel.
We ordered two teas three times during our stay, once we got one and half tea, once we got one tea and another time we got three teas.
The bathroom is broken and for a hotel in hilly region, the geyser just doesn't provide sufficient heating capacity,

Room Tip: If you really have to stay here, stay as far away as possible from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vavasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

People and staff are helpful food was Excellent and rooms has a beautiful view of hill and surroundings, the dinning hall and reception is well decorated and looks great i will only say one thing "We had a wonderful time over here" and I would definitely recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diptesh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jammu City, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

"I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in tamarind" Hotel Staff is friendly but most important the Manger (Mr. Nima) of the Hotel is very wonderul person, i newer forget that personality.
I will prefer everyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MainiSandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Excellent service backed by a good restaurant. However, property needs maintenance in many places. Cleanliness is good which is the reason I am giving ti a 4 star. Staff are friendly but Wi-Fi is bleak like most of the other properties in the Hills of WB and Sikkim. No parking at the Hotel which is a sort of drawback if you are driving.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very pleasant experience. The ambiance is wonderful and the rooms are large and cozy. The location is average but convenient. You can get taxis for local visits and jeeps for visit to Nathula pass, Baba Mandir and Changu lake.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BJSMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Tamarind Hotel Location is good - close to market. One can hire a share cab from here to reach the market. Rooms are quite spacious. The hotel looks like under renovation. Because though the room bed and wardrobe looked new furniture however, the carpet was looking very old and dirty. Bath was good too however, geyser heating capacity was less than bath tub capacity so one got to wait for next 30-45mins for water to reheat. We were only guest when we stayed there. However, service was strictly ok. They at first dint provide the heater. It is impossible to survive without heaters in Gangtok in Nov/ Dec. On insisting were we given the same. Food was ok (not so bad not so good). Dont expect the internet to work. For the tarriff they charge you can find better options.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PiyushJalandhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gangtok
13.0 mi away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#33 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#3 of 113 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
12.3 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#23 of 113 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Yarlam
Yarlam
#1 of 6 in Lachung
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
18.0 mi away
Etho Metho by RightClique
12.5 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Residency

Property: Tamarind Residency
Address: Upper Tathanghen, beside SSB camp, Gangtok-Nathula Road | Below Mintokgang, Gangtok 737116, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tamarind Residency, a rare jewel nestled in the lap of the Himalayas offers natural beauty with breath taking valley view, tastefully designed decor that will arouse your senses for a perfect dream holiday in lavish Sikkimese hospitality. The Tamarind Residency in Gangtok is the only family owned, family run hotel in the 3 star categories focused in perfecting your experience.Our views are exactly as what you would like for a luxurious stay in a hill-station in the serene atmosphere of the snowy mountain range.We are located on the Ridge which is perfect tourist spot. The Ridge Park along with Flower Exhibition Centre is perhaps the only place which has special attachment in every Sikkimese Life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Tamarind Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Residency Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing