We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The other end of this world.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathula Pass

Nathula Pass
Ranked #1 of 58 things to do in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The other end of this world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stupendous. Pristine white snow. 14,500 ft. above the MSL. Feels like we have reached the end of this world. Staying there for half an hour was a tough job. Wonder, how our army guys live there regularly. Hats off to them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PLGOENKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    877
    242
    45
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“The top point - border between India and China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nathula Pass is located at a very high altitude in Sikkim. One can visit the place on a day trip from Gangtok city. Nathula is a pass between 2 nations, it needs permission to visit the place. In winter the place remains covered with snow. The road is rough due to weather at such high height.

It is a must visit place for all travelers to Sikkim.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Abhijit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tour of Sikkim is incomplete without Nathula Pass !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked the cab a day before for Nathula Pass, Baba Mandir & Tsangpo Lake. We presumed about the cold weather at Nathula Pass & we were so wrong. Must feel for the soldiers who live & guard our borders at such high altitude. Never thought we will be able to go so close to the Chinese border. Don't run around as the oxygen is very low & always heed to the advise of the soldiers. Photo id is a absolute must if you want to visit this place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratyush_Sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmednagar, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must visit place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

There is an Army post in Nathula pass on Indo- China border. after reaching there we can understand how difficult it is for Army to secure our borders. Place is excellent. Roads for reaching there are not good, but this is the case in allover Sikkim.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankur602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must visit if u go Gangtok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Gangtok would be incomplete if you do not visit Nathu La pass. The way to Nathu La, you can find beautiful waterfalls and lakes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCJRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nathula Pass also viewed

 

Been to Nathula Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing