We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix Bag”
Review of Sterling Gangtok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sterling Gangtok
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: Staff is too good, location is fine. Quite near to M G Road almost half a km. Good room service.
Con's: Rooms on 1st floor suffocates. Try to avoid them. No WiFi connectivity in rooms. No lift for reaching 1st floor, which is almost basement of the hotel. Not recommended if planning to stay with kids and old age parents. Charges for sabji is fine. But a single butter roti will cost you Rs 50, shockingly high price for such a hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank AkashB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Gangtok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

Thank you for sharing the feedback on your stay at Gangtok - Delisso Abode.

Your kind words about the resort location, staff and room service are appreciated. We have noted our concerns regarding Wi Fi connectivity, unavailability of elevators and pricing of food. We have shared your valuable feedback with the Resort Management Team at our corporate office.

At Sterling Holidays, we are committed to delivering memorable holiday experiences to our members and guests. We hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate this commitment by holidaying with us at one of our resorts soon.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I think this resort is not of Sterling standards
I have stayed in kodai Yelagiri and munnar
I think they are way beyond and the management needs to give a serious thought to revamp the entire facility
Location. Ok
Facilities. Average
Rooms. Crampy
Outside view. Not up to the mark
Service. Very good by the staff
Food. Good
I was disappointed at the room size and there is no proper ventilation. I stayed in room 301
There is a bus depo below and lot of nice
It is more of a business hotel than a resort

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vallivish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good hotel with great rooms and good food.
Value for money.
Avoid the large room on floor 2 which opens to the kitchen and room 207 which opens to the duct. Rooms are clean and decently furnished but do not offer views to the otherwise beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SwagataSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I Stayed at this Hotel from 9th April 2013 for about 3 nights, Close to M. G Road and in a Quiet

Location, this is A Nice and New Property Which has a Tie- up with Sterling Resorts. Mr. Bose,

the Resort Manager was Kind and Helpful. Overall, Good Experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajiv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have visited this place as a Guest as I am not a Member of Sterling Resort. I 'm surprised to experience that this property does not have their own Generator. When power is off then you have to wait till the power comes. Moreover, the toiletries and towels are very very old and not up to the mark. The Utility charges what they have imposed on us is very high compared to the utensils what they have provided to us. They have provided only Tea coffee maker machine in our room and for that they have imposed Rs.950/-+tax per day on us. My impression as a Guest was very poor and I will not suggest any one to become a member if such type of facilities are available in the above said resort. They are putting Resort in their name but it is not a resort it is just like an Incomplete Hotel. No Seperate Bar was there, No games Room for children
In spite of all cons as narrated above, the staff was very helpful and courteous. I stayed for 2 nights and 3 days

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Abhishek2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel is very good. Rooms are confortable. Staff is helpful & courtious. Walking distance from main MG road Market. Had a great time. Parking facility is there. Dining hall is well equiped. Reception center is very good

Room Tip: Room No.206. In which I stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnilLal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had booked this hotel for our stay in Gangtok and stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013. The hotel is situated very close to the MG Marg which is about a 5 minute walk and is also the main market area of Gangtok. Although close to the main road the hotel is cut-off from the street noise and the rooms offer great view of the valley.

The rooms were extremely well maintained. The staff was very courteous and helpful and was always available to offer help and guidance whenever needed. The Prpoerty Manager was also very actively involved in the daily activities and used to chat up with guests to check if they were enjoying their stay.

The food was nice with good variety and i did not observe an repeat in the menu in the 5 days spent here. We had opted for all meals package here and never had a reason to complaint. The staff also ensured that if you needed anything outside the menu, they would make it to order without any extra charges.

They have a very efficient travle deks which can arrange for various sightseeing tours at competitive rates. In case you opt to book your own cab, they also guide you with contact details of drivers who are reliable and offer good serivces.

The property is farly new and not very large but is very well maintained. One of the best options to stay in Gangtok especially if you want to be close to the main market area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SameerG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.5 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#20 of 126 in Gangtok
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summit Namnang Courtyard & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
1.8 mi away
Udaan, Woodberry Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Summit Denzong Renaissance Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Gangtok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Gangtok

Address: NH 31 A, Development Area | Near Secretariat, Gangtok 737101, India (Formerly Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 126 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range: £26 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Gangtok 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Gangtok is located on one of the highest points of Gangtok offering an unhindered view of the mighty Himalayan range. Situated in the hub of the flourishing market, this plush resort is an Ideal choice for discerning travelers from across the world. The resort is 8 km away from Tashi View Point, 24 kms from Rumtek Monastry, 42 kms from Tsongo Lake, 56 kms from Nathula and 130 kms from Yumthang Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Gangtok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Gangtok Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing