We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views of Mt Kazenchunga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mount Siniolchu
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best views of Mt Kazenchunga”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The best part of this hotel are the views. I stayed there for two nights in late February as part of a tour package arranged by some friends. Overall, it was good but could have been an awesome experience if the hotel could take care of some basic items. It is a beautiful property situated at the base of the Einchen Monastery and the views of the mountain are spectacular and worth a stop in the parking lot or from the hill above even if you are not staying there. The hotel is quite new and room (#208) was clean and bed very good. The bathroom was nice but had a bad sewage smell coming from it the whole time we were there. It was tolerable but a 5 star hotel really should not have that. Also the room and dining rooms were way too cold. They need to heat the place. It was really difficult to enjoy a meal and the room when you are constantly fighting to stay warm. There was a problem with the hot water on day #1 evening and there was inadequate amounts of hot water throughout our stay. :( The room heater did not work very well and finally stopped working entirely day #2 and they did promptly replace. There was a nice buffet on day #1 for dinner but had to order from a disappointing menu on day #2. The food was good, esp breakfast buffet but we ordered alacarte dinner dishes asking for low spuceand the chef put a lot of chilies in the dish :(. They have no WiFi but did let me use a desktop in their office to check email. The staff was very nice but I think they need more direction; as the food and service was uneven and the decisions to not heat the place and no wifi are bad ones. A car service for a free ride to market area would be a good perk. Hopefully mgmt will take this seriously and take the steps to make this a 5 star place.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to ensure good views and Be sure to take several sweaters to stay warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlegoldenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the quality feedback that we always look forward to from all our guests. Yes, so much has been written about the location and the views.... but as you would also agree, it has to be seen, felt and enjoyed to actually feel the beauty of this serene surrounding. With regard to your feedback on the bathroom, we are looking into this aspect as there seems to be some sewerage issue which is being taken care off. Of course it is not at all acceptable from any level of hospitality. With regard to hot water, we have tried our best to cater to individual guests and have installed Geysers in each room. Although water is sufficient, it takes approx 20 minutes to heat to capacity and once that is utilised, it again needs time to heat afresh. Unfortunately the Room Heater stopped working which is again a technical issue and we have the provision to replace with another one immediately.
With regard to food spread and taste we are getting new chefs and ideas and definitely it will be enhanced. Wi-fi is on our immediate agenda and most probably would be installed in another 1-2 months. This Hotel is just one year old and all these provisions and services are an on going process and we look forward to ensuring thishotel to be not only the best located but one of the best Hospitality Destination in the near future.

Thanks for visiting us and giving us such valuable feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    64
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
45
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I enjoyed 2 nights in this lovely hotel in Gangtok in early February, 2013 but wish I could have stayed longer. The hotel is wonderfully situated at the top of the town within a five minute walk of the monastery. The views are lovely as is the fresh mountain air and it's a great place to walk out from. The manager and staff couldn't have been more friendly and attentive. The hotel has a pretty garden for outside drinks and luncheon. The food in the restaurant is wholesome with a local flavour. The rooms could perhaps have been a little warmer but it was the winter (low) season. Would have preferred to be able to book and pay online. Hope to return some day.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor, deluxe room for the view and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,

While acknowledging compliments is our pleasure, at the same time it gives us more reasons to maintain the same and do better. Yes Locational Advantage is the USP and with continuous feedback, we have able to build an Energetic Team who understands the needs of a Leisure Traveller and doesn't leave any opportunity to make our guests comfortable and feel at home. With regard to Online Booking and Payment, maybe we would be able to do the same in near future. At the same you may also send your request on our website or direct email address.

We have cherished your stay and WE DO LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR NEXT VISIT.... SOOON

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in end Jan. We had taken Deluxe rooms. They were really nice, cleaned daily and very well equipped. There was hot water throughout the day. The comforters were really warm and they had also provided us room heaters.
The views of Kanchenjungha in the early morning and the city were really nice from the room. The hotel staff are very courteous specially those at the restaurant. Room service is also very good. The breakfast spread was great with eggs, sausages, croisants, cereal, puris and lot more. But we being foodie were expecting a better spread for dinner. They are catering more to vegeterian people than non veg. On the first night they had 6 dishes for the main course out of which only 1 was non veg. Since we were the only people staying there at that time, the chef did dish up a nice continental dinner the next night on request but again on the 3 rd night, it was the same. The only non veg item was a fish.
Although it is a 10 mins drive from the city, it would be really helpful to add a drop off and pick up from the city, since the hotel is a little on the higher price scale. Could add a few more recreational activities in house.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 2nd floor are good, specially rooms numbers 201-206 should have a better view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuBanKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Getting an Awesome Compliment is AWESOME.... I am sure you must have experienced the real beauty of this region, the tranquility, the serenity, the mountains and the whole atmosphere. Its closest to Nature. Apart from the good services, yes, we would be happy to serve the best of food, one, which is appreciated by the majority with a possibility of serving 2 non-veg. With regard to drop to the nearest market, we are working on the same and would have the same in the near future.

We truly appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us achieving what has not yet been.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed in Mount Siniolchu for 3 nights. While the lcation is probably the beat in Gangtok, it's quite far from the city centre. All the rooms are well furnished, but the best part the cleanliness. The staffs are courteous, esp those in the restaurant. They have made us feel like home. Howver the regular buffet is a bit disappointing - esp the non- veg and dessert option. There was practically no option. Here we must point out that when we have raised the issue with the manager, he hasmade arrangements according to our preference,and also did not charge anything for the packed chesse sandwich we had ordered for journey back to the station.

Only if the hotel can introduce some activities, a play area for children, a scheduled pick up drop service to the city centre and improve its quality of food, it would be a winner.After all if you are charging like a four star, you should match the amenities they offer as well.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the front wing. Also request the manager if you want anything special in your me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aparna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

First of let me thank you for choosing Hotel Mount Siniolchu, Gangtok and giving us the opportunity to serve you with your family. As suggested by you, we are already in the process of adding an activity arena with a seperate area marked especially for children. With regard to food, we apologise that we could not live upto your expectation. We have taken up the matter with the concerned and have taken your views to improve the same in our continued efforts to give the best possible in the region. With regard to distance from the city centre (MG Road) which is 1.5 km, it takes approx. 10 minutes by car and it is this unique distance from the city centre that gives this hotel its special locational advantage of being in the city but away from the crowd... We are also increasing our network to facilitate better logistical support to our guests during their stay.

We again thank you for the appreciation and the suggestions and ensure you that your next visit would be more enriching from all point of view.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata,india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at mount siniolchu between 23rd Jan 2013- 26th Jan 2013 with family and friends. Although the hotel is bit away from the main MG Marg and definitely not a walkable distance nevertheless its a fantastic property. We enjoyed our stay. All the rooms had splendid view of the snow capped Kanchenjunga Range. Food was good.All the staff were very helpful. But point that I would like to mention is since the hotel is a high standard category property they should be having 24 hr running hot water. The geysers took lot of time provide warm water and at the same time they should provide complimentary drop services to MG Marg. This will enhance their business and credibility. It was a vey nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avijit81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and your valuable feedback. We appreciate your suggestions and would definitely try and keep upgrading our services and product. With regard to running hot water, yes we do have the same in our future expansion plans alongwith some regular logistical support to the MG Marg which is just 1.5 km from the hotel. We thank you once again for coming, staying and sharing your experience.
We look forward to seeing you once again...
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asansol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hi!

We stayed here although for just a night but this place was beautiful and very quite and peaseful , the hotel was very well maintained the rooms & bath rooms were well equiped, the stay was quite comfotable the view from the room was great... the only thing is that he hotel is a bit away from the city center, there is ample car parfking space and as we were traveling by our own car we did not face any unconvinience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your visit to our hotel and the time you have taken to express your thoughts and reviews on the hotel. It has been our endeavour to give the best of hospitality in the region and to continuously upgrade our services through reviews of our guests. With regard to distance from MG Road it takes around 10 minutes from the hotel by car. Nevertheless it is this distance which gives the unique Beautiful and Peaceful character to the hotel which is situated 1.5 km above the city in the VIP Colony in close proximnity of the Circuit House, CM's House and the Governor's House... It gives a breathtaking view of the city below with lights after dusk with the star lit sky above in this serene surroundings with the sound of silence... all around. In the morning, if you are lucky, before the mist and clouds rise above, you will be able to enjoy the pristine beauty of the Snow capped Himalayan range....

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I stayed in mount siniolchu for 3 nights and my stay was quite pleasant. The rooms are cosy and well equipped. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was also good which is very important while traveling. If introduced with some activities in the hotel itself, it will be unbeatable.one thing that separates it from other properties is that it has a great view. Overall, a wonderful experience and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radhika2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAJAT S, General Manager at Hotel Mount Siniolchu, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Guest,
It was really one of the most appropriate time to stay in this location with the icy winds, clear mountains, blue sky and the liberty to stay "As You Wish"....Never feel away from your own homely atmosphere is what we look forward to provide our guests, of course without missing out the luxury and comfort of staying with us. Since the hotel has been operational not very long ago, we are in the process of creating Activity Spots and Leisure Areas within the hotel premises. We are grateful to you for staying with us and providing us with the opportunity of making your stay a memorable one.
We do look forward to your stay with us again. SOON !!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.8 mi away
Suhim Portico
Suhim Portico
#11 of 117 in Gangtok
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
0.3 mi away
Gangtok - Delisso Abode, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#29 of 117 in Gangtok
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#21 of 117 in Gangtok
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount Siniolchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount Siniolchu

Property: Hotel Mount Siniolchu
Address: Vip Colony Rd, Near Enchey Monastery | Near Enchey Monastery, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mount Siniolchu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after one of the most graceful snow mountains in the world, Mount Siniolchu, Hotel Mount Siniolchu is situated in the upper ridges of Gangtok (5 minutes drive / 1.5 kms, from the Gangtok main Town. Located in the tranquil surroundings of the 170-year old Enchey Monastery, the Hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of urban Gangtok and enveloped in peace and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mount Siniolchu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Siniolchu Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing