We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Ranked #1 of 113 Hotels in Gangtok
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A heritage property , the hotel is very well located , just off the main town centre of Gangtok . We spent 4 nights and were looked after extremely well . The hotel is full of antique furniture , photographs and paintings . Small and cosy . We had a deluxe room which was spacious . Courteous staff and good food . Priced higher than most Gangtok hotels but worth the comfort .

They could set up a better travel desk

A beer in the lawn overlooking the valley and the football stadium is recommended

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lawn have a great direct view but are smaller . ideal for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pks714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Sir and Madame !

Thank you so much for appreciating the Elgin Nor-Khill Gangtok and giving us your words of encoragement , it means a lot to us and to the staff of the hotel. We look forward to having you with us and serving you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    124
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
136
133
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just back after a 4 night stay at this hotel in Gangtok from 16th-19th June 2013. The location is great, set on a hillside overlooking the valley and Panjore stadium. It's a period property and they have done a good job in preserving the history of the place. Furniture, decor and the rooms take you on a journey to an era gone by. The lobby and the dining room is just breathtaking. Very comfortable stay and very efficient service of staff. They are well mannered and helpful. The garden is a place to be in. Well maintained and has plenty of seats to enjoy the countryside.

Every good place has a 'mole' ! Here it's the Reception. They shall book any city or out-city tours but the rates shall be way above the ones quoted by the travel offices in the city. On interviewing the drivers of the cabs it was found that the Reception manager Mr. G___n makes a neat pocket money out of all the bookings made through him. I must say he has an enviable job ! No receipts of course, unless you insist, then he gives it on a plain slip of paper.

Anyway, many would argue that this may be taken as a service charge for making that 'phone call' as all tours are out-sourced. Yes, but the fact remains that he takes a good commission which is not official and has nothing to do with the hotel.

I shall recommend this place to all though you may find the tariff a little steep, but it's worth it.

Before I close, I shall mention that they have a pair of Simonis (I hope I am right about the breed) dogs who are just darlings. Very cute and very friendly. They are let off their kennel in the mornings to romp about the garden and are a delight to watch and cuddle. Pasted a couple of pics.

Room Tip: Just try to get local travel bookings from the many travel agencies in the town. You shall save a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drddas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Sir and Madame !

Thank you so much for appreciating the Elgin Nor-Khill Gangtok and giving us your words of encoragement , it means a lot to us and to the staff of the hotel. We look forward to having you with us and serving you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmednagar, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel is in a good location regards to the City Center. The rooms are antique, eccentric but tastefully done. The room size is a bit small & no two rooms are exactly the same. The lobby in general, exhibits a warm & cozy feeling.
The employees are very courteous & helpful & the service is impeccable. Mr. Gyan at the reception is very hands on.
That being said, I don't think the hotel is particularly value for your buck. I think drinking water, either in bottled form or otherwise, should be a given & complimentary at this price point & it is not. That is a disappointment.
Also, shower pressure & temperature controls in the bathroom leave a lot to be desired.
The charging stations are not conveniently located at all & some of them don't work outright. The electrical fixtures, in general, leave a lot to be desired.

If I were to return to Gangtok, I would consider this option only if it was less priced than what I paid. I may try some other ones, depending on availability.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deovratk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Sir and Madame !

Thank you so much for appreciating the Elgin Nor-Khill Gangtok and giving us your words of encoragement , it means a lot to us and to the staff of the hotel. We look forward to having you with us and serving you once again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The service at this hotel is sparkling and genuine. We loved it. Food is traditional (spicy by my standards!) Indian food with Bengal influence. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is close to the local bazaar.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffreyVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Nor-Khill, I am told, is "a House of Treasures" and looking at the pictures hung on the walls of the Hotel it is a paen to the life and times of the erstwhile Chogyal of Sikkim. Pictorially the walls tell the story of the rise and fall of the man who ran Sikkim before it was annexed as a part of the Indian Union.
Sitting on the lawns which overlook the valley the view is magnificent although Gangtok has very little rustic charm left. It is a bustling Capital of the State of Sikkim, crowded, traffic-heavy and unlike everything a Hill Station should be. But the little corner where the Hotel is located is fro the times gone by.
The rooms on the first floor are well-appointed and well-maintained. The Bathroom clean and comfortable. The food was workman-like, adequate and wholesome. The staff were very good, helpful, keen to make you feel wanted. The stay left you with a god feeling. It should be your first stop if you are visiting Sikkim.

Room Tip: If you are elderly avoid the first floor. The stairs will tire you as you have to do them more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bube46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhansi, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Nor-khill has long been regarded as the most coveted place to stay at Gangtok. Now operated by the Elgin group, this hotel was originally built as a royal guesthouse. It is situated on a narrow ledge and commands an excellent view of Mount Kangchendzonga.

The interiors are exquisitely furnished with antique furniture, traditional carpets and rich thangkas. The maintenance is impeccable. Fresh flowers brighten the lounge and dining areas. Numerous black and white photographs adorn the walls – mostly showing the erstwhile royal family dressed in all their finery.

The rooms are graciously furnished and beautifully lit. The bathrooms – with their enamel bathtubs, shower curtains and wood panelling – have a distinctly European ambience.
Staying at Nor-khill is like stepping back into time, as you are treated like a royal guest. The staff are extremely courteous, even deferential – though guests who do not come up to their exacting standards might face a hint of disapproval!

Nor-khill lacks most of the facilities one associates with luxury hotels: there is no swimming pool, gymnasium, spa, disco, souvenir shop or casino! But one can spend a restful morning reading a book, sipping green tea and munching freshly baked cake. Or one can while away the hours gazing at clouds moving across one of the world’s highest mountains, from the comfort of a basket chair under an umbrella on the lawn. In case one cares to venture out, the renovated Paljor Stadium - with its synthetic turf and multi-coloured seats – is just beyond the boundary wall. Or one can ascend the steep road outside the hotel to reach MG Road crossing in just a few minutes.

Stay at Nor-khill if you like scrambled eggs, toast and marmalade at breakfast, or fish cutlets and soufflé at dinner; or if you appreciate antique furniture, silver-plated cutlery, bone china and starched white napkins. Avoid staying there if you enjoy activities like swimming or dancing, if you hate climbing stairs – or specially – if elaborate billing systems bother you!

Room Tip: Valley facing rooms give an excellent view of Kanchendzonga at dawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The Nor-Khill is a true gem for travellers here in the eastern Himalayas.
Helpful, efficient staff running an outstanding operation, the building is immaculate from it's rooms and suites to the lobby and dinning room, a lovely garden with a priceless view, the Nor-khill is a bench mark in Himalayan hospitality.
Having spent the last decade working and travelling in South Asia, the Nor-khill is the by far the best hotel that I have had the pleasure to visit in this hemisphere.
In my opinion, it is the only hotel in Gangtok.
Happy trails everyone,
Canada

Room Tip: Room 403 was my favourite but the suites are superb as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHBG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 113 in Gangtok
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sonam Delek
Hotel Sonam Delek
#3 of 113 in Gangtok
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
0.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
0.3 mi away
Summit Golden Crescent
Summit Golden Crescent
#24 of 113 in Gangtok
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok

Property: The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
Address: Paljore Stadium Road, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Spa Hotel in Gangtok
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Family Hotel in Gangtok
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elgin Nor-Khill ("the house of jewels")is known for its tradition and ethnic Sikkimese ambiance. It is now a luxury heritage property. The Kanchan garden affords a rich view of the hills with the Mount Kanchenjungha in the background, which inspired the Chogyal (King) of Sikkim to paint for hours. The Elgin Nor-Khill was built by the King of Sikkim in 1932 and is the oldest heritage property in Gangtok, the property has played host to numerous celebrity guests such as his holiness The Dalai Lama, Hollywood stars Sir Richard Gere, Michael Douglas and Shirley Maclaine, the US Ambassador to India His Excellency John Galbraith and many more. The lobby is resplendent in the bright folk Sikkimese art with design motifs depicting dragons and flame symbols to thankas and ornate Sikkimese furniture (bachu, chocsue) and traditional jewelry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgin Nor-Khill Gangtok Hotel Gangtok
Nor Khill Gangtok
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing