We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excelent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Plaza
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Gangtok
New Delhi, India
1 review
“excelent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I came Royal plaza in the second week of June , I was given 216 , Room is full of view from three corners , appreciated the Charley provided to us with best compliments from the General manager , hotel staffs are very well mannered . but load shading in the city is a issue . I must thank to the Front Office Manager for making out nice itinerary which made my trip successful . Hotel AC is quite effective , Digital weight machine in the room is a added up new facility . Lobby is very large and from Coffee shop Reception Staffs looks small . will thanks for making our stay memorable . Will suggest to book rooms in 2nd Floor because of View from the room is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajbirsingh22092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHIRSHENDU K, Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from The Royal Plaza !!!

I express my sincere gratitude to you on behalf of the entire team for choosing The Royal Plaza as the right place for your stay in Gangtok.
Thanking you once again for your kind and encouraging review. This will help us to motivated our staff and ensure that we keep on improving on our services as to make the stay of our valued & esteem guests much more comfortable.


Regards,
Rameshwar Singh Jamwal
General Manager | The Royal Plaza | Upper Syari,Deorali, Gangtok- 737102, Sikkim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    78
    30
    17
    16
See reviews for
76
47
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gangtok, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is hotel little far away from the MG Marg , I stayed with the Group in the last week of June we all were 20 rooms group ,this hotel Casino in-house but entry is chargeable . we stayed in 6th floors rooms are very nicely maintained, Mini bar is chargeable , madam at the Reception & restaurant staffs are very polite. Foods are tasty. For Vegetarians options should be more . We certainly thank to the Manager Mr. Shirshendu whom we met upon check in time , he is seems to us very faster while speaking , we like the hotel over all .



Suggest to visit this hotel in Summer because this hotel have central Air-condition .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arunisha2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHIRSHENDU K, Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from The Royal Plaza !!!

I express my sincere gratitude to you on behalf of the entire team for choosing The Royal Plaza as the right place for your stay in Gangtok.
Thanking you once again for your kind and encouraging review. This will help us to motivated our staff and ensure that we keep on improving on our services as to make the stay of our valued & esteem guests much more comfortable.


Regards,
Rameshwar Singh Jamwal
General Manager | The Royal Plaza | Upper Syari,Deorali, Gangtok- 737102, Sikkim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I found this hotel pretty good. I reached hotel 1 hr before check in time but was given room instantly by front office, when requested. I was in valley view room and view was simply awesome. I have lots of memories and unforgettable moment spent together with my wife in this hotel. only drawback is service, kindly improve upon this..

Room Tip: Valley view rooms are really awesome..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SinghManoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHIRSHENDU K, Manager at The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Warm Greetings from The Royal Plaza !!!

I express my sincere gratitude to you on behalf of the entire team for choosing The Royal Plaza as the right place for your stay in Gangtok.
Thanking you once again for your kind and encouraging review. This will help us to motivated our staff and ensure that we keep on improving on our services as to make the stay of our valued & esteem guests much more comfortable.


Regards,
Rameshwar Singh Jamwal
General Manager | The Royal Plaza | Upper Syari,Deorali, Gangtok- 737102, Sikkim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The valley view from the rooms is breathtaking and this was the only good thing in the hotel. The hotel has the dumbest staff ever. It is a nightmare to interact with them! We even had to carry the luggage to our room since the bell boy didn't know what to do! Carpets in the corridor are old and have a musty smell. The food tasted decent. Overall experience was pathetic. Putting up in this hotel is ruining your peace and holiday since every now and then you have to fight with the staff for very basic things!

Room Tip: Valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agish86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siliguri, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Everything that can be wrong, is wrong with this hotel. Even though it was an advance booking and we checked in late at 4 pm, our rooms were not made ready for us until 6 pm. The hotel staff is extremely rude and unhelpful. The carpets smell, the view from rooms is that of old and dirty houses. There was no drinking water, no hand towel, no toiletry - nothing at all in the rooms. The housekeeping staff take half an hour to get anything at all, that is if they care to even answer the phone! The food in the restaurant was cold, stale and distasteful. But was topped everything was the outstandingly rude behavior of Madam Sunanda at the reception. She made sure that she alone is able to ruin the trip of guests to make the mistake of checking into the hotel. We would have walked out on the first day itself had we not prepaid the amount. Never ever will stay at this hotel or any other sarovar property ever.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choudhrysneha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel big with poor housekeeping, carpet smells view from rooms you see old apartments dirty.
Location can never come again concrete jungle of the hills.
Staff is helpful , food is nothing great to talk about .
Will as such won't visit the place will advise to find a hotel with some view of mountains or hills.
Rooms are also dated.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vishalvinayak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We, a family of 4 stayed in the hotel for 2 days in the month of May (6-7). The hotel welcomed us very well. However, during the stay we did feel that service needs to improve. During the breakfast also, the service was not prompt. The housekeeping was not upto the mark. The toiletries were not replaced everyday. In one of the rooms, the curtain in the bathroom was just not there. The ambience and other things were good, the hotel definitely needs to improve its service and the way a couple of front office staff behaved with the customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chjprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
1.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Denzong Regency
1.3 mi away
The Elgin Nor-Khill, Gangtok
1.8 mi away
Summit Norling Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Keepsa Residency
The Keepsa Residency
#29 of 110 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Summit Nam Nang Courtyard & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel New Orchid
Hotel New Orchid
#4 of 110 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Plaza

Property: The Royal Plaza
Address: Upper Syari, Deorali, Gangtok 737102, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gangtok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst such lush green hilly terrains, a breathtaking topography and misty mountains, emerges The Royal Plaza [A Sarovar Hotel] at Gangtok, the Capital of Sikkim. This luxury hotel is ideally located and one of its kind in all of Sikkim and the North East. The Royal Plaza aptly complements the exotic locale. It provides a magnificent view of a valley with a tributary of the Teesta River and an extension of the Khanchendzonga Range from the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Plaza Hotel Gangtok
The Royal Plaza Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing