We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Golden Pagoda
Ranked #88 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hi All,

Golden Pagoda is located at M.G marg and is a descent place for stay. As I have seen negative feedbacks on this hotel in this forum, I called up and spoke to Mr. Baljit and gave them my view about their hotel. The reason provided was satisfactory and as promised, all facilities were provided. Mr. Baljit is a man of his words. So no regrets for choosing this hotel. But there are few things which hotel can keep in consideration for attracting more tourists like more varieties of food and being bit more responsive in terms of service. Overall nice stay I must say.

Best Regards,
Durga Prasad

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durga91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
18
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

It is situated at middle of the MG Road of Gangtok. MG Road is walkway only. All kind of transport facilities are prohibited round the clock. However, hotel is near to two Taxi stands which are at walking distances i.e. local as well as WB, South & North Sikkim. MG Road is decorated with flower pots and fountain. Road is constructed with stone and having wooden benches for sitting.

Who ever is coming to Gangtok is going for shopping to MG Road market which good for western outfits and first replica of branded footwear.

Vegetarian food is being served in room service as also at its rooftop dinning area/restaurant. Food is reasonably good. You can have valley view from back side rooms and from rooftop dinning area/restaurant.

Deluxe rooms are well furnished with LCD TV and running hot and cold water. Rooms are small but good. Bathrooms are very congested. Having three floor but No lift.

Management and staff are co-operative.

Its value for Money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take third floor back side room for valley view and front side room for MG Road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chetankpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdogra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2012

came with family and stayed in this hotel. Apart from location there is nothing good about the hotel. It is strong recommendation that please plan your vacation and donot get misguided by any one. i just suffered a lot at this place, rooms were dirty, there was actually no room service was provided. only one person was there for all roles like a superhuman. Food was such that after receiving the order we went out for survival.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

Gaya, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is situated at M G Marg, Gangtok. M G marg is mall and center place of attranction. Mr. Harish K Prasad, owner of this hotel is very genuine and polite person.One can not bore. but do not buy anything from M G Marg becoz items are costly and it is tourist market better buy from Lal Bazar just at walking distance and local market.

Room Tip: select front facing room. you will enjoy view of M G Marg from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiwarygaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

i came to gangtok recently and stayed at golden pagoda. But it was a wrong decision. Some reviews gave it all praise and i followed them. There is nothing good about this hotel. I suffered a lot, and nobody else should suffer in this hotel when coming to such a good place as gangtok. The room is so small i felt like i was in a small cell or something. When i asked the manager to change my room, he declined in a rude way. The standard double room for rs 1500 is not even fit for a single person to stay without feeling pushed in by walls from all sides. I wanted to change my room because in my experience, nobody has ever cheated up front by charging so much for so little. This is like daylight robbey and the hotel owner is shameless in not reducing the price or at least talking nicely. Those who liked this place must be naive tourists who are just happy to have gone somewhere.

The food i had at the golden pagoda's so-called rooftop restaurant were overpriced. They were hastily made in a small kitchen and served badly. The waiters were rude and did not follow even simple instructions.

I was too upset when i found out that the sheets smelled of fungus. When i called the bell boy, he came with some extra sheets and was clearly drunk. There is no doubt this hotel has lots of drunk staff at night. This is a serious offence. None of them had any fear or regard about some customers complaining. Golden pagoda is on the middle of main mg marg in gangtok, which is a good place, so the hotel owner has held every tourist to ransom since people like to stay in the main town.

Next time when i am in gangtok i am not staying here. Dont stay here you too if you dont want to ruin your vacation. What u can do is to go in and see for yourself before booking. This place is a swindler, a BIG one. But tourists with brains will instantly see through.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The hotel is located right on MG Marg in Gangtok, which is the main street of the town. Location wise, the hotel is situated at the right place. But of late tourists have been moving out into homestays in the countryside. So hotels that previously boasted of good days must serve their customers really good, otherwise they will be forgotten immediately. Golden Pagoda is a prime example of something good that went seriously wrong. I booked the hotel for four days. The room I got was roughly the size of my arms extended. Since it was off season, I got a discount, but even at the normal price you will feel cheated with the size of the room, as I felt the discounted price was also high for such a pathetic size. Sample these:

1. The bedcover was soggy. It was mildly wet to touch. It was monsoon when I went there, but what the hotel did was to prepare my room during the time of booking -- about a week earlier -- and then shut the door all the time. There was no maintenance in between. The hotel just cannot excuse itself from good service even if it was the rainy season. The least they could have done was to put fresh bedsheets and pillow covers a day before we came.

2. The staff were drinking alcohol. The room service man who came to deliver a water bottle reeked of alcohol. I had to ring three times on the intercom line at 9.30 pm to ask for water. The man didn't even reply, but slammed the phone down. I understand they are also humans who don't like to be disturbed at 9.30 pm by some stranger tourists, but then I am tempted to ask a question to the hotel management: What are room service staff for? If somebody is running a hotel, that somebody better run it like a hotel should.

3. Uncomfortable vibe. Yes, this one is subjective, but every tourists out there will know what I am talking about. You enter a bad hotel and you get a not-so-nice stare from the staff on every floor. They look at you and give passive remarks about your 'race' or 'from where you come'. To prevent such behaviour that is why there are a number of hotel management institutes across the globe.

4. The hotel doesn't have mosquito repellent device. When I asked for one at night, the man on the other end of the line said, "Sorry. We don't have." An All-Out, or any popular mosquito repellent device is the basic necessity in a hotel room, anywhere in the country. You never know when a mosquito will bite you, whether in Gangtok, Bangkok or Kabul. The least the hotel could have done is to send somebody at the local shop and get one repellent device. I would have gladly given the money.

However, the hotel staff did change the sheets immediately when I brought the odour issue to their notice.

In the end, I have come to the conclusion never to judge a hotel by its name, like a book by its cover (sometimes it's ok to judge a book by its cover). Golden Pagoda has got nothing of the sort it seems to promise. On a hunch it looks like it will be some exotic place with nice oriental cuisine, but all you get is oily paranthas, very bad tea, coffee of unknown origin, etc.

I can safely say that this hotel is not for younger couples who are looking for a good stay in Gangtok. I suggest they must move out of the increasingly commercialised MG Marg and check the pristine surroundings of Gangtok. MG Marg looks like a street in Jaipur's Walled City area now, and thereby hangs a tale. One portion of MG Marg where there are some sweet shops and departmental stores are littered with paper and plastics, while the other portion where there are some cafes and authentic local cuisine are so clean and well-maintained because of the right attitude.

Golden Pagoda must shed its hypocritical marketing trick. The name pagoda is misleading and the service even worse. I would be more happy staying in this hotel if I came with a family of four to eat pakodas and samosas and paranthas, looking for a true blue Marwari service -- not an original Sikkim experience.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all, but if you have to stay, choose any room that looks out tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank indiajourney52001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is located on the most visited and shopping area, The MG Marg. Though the room is small, the location suits very much. They have heater available at an extra cost as we went there in peak winter(Jan 2010). The hotel is good enough to dump your luggage and spend the whole day sightseeing. Though they have their own restaurant we never went there as there are many just outside the hotel.
They have a travel desk too which helped us to manage the trip to Lachung the very next morning though we checked in at around 8pm. Overall a cute little hotel in the best location.

Room Tip: Chose the Himalaya facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Myself09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#47 of 118 in Gangtok
181 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
Hotel Rumtek Dzong
#104 of 118 in Gangtok
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#40 of 118 in Gangtok
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saramsa Resort
Saramsa Resort
#20 of 118 in Gangtok
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sikkim Retreat
The Sikkim Retreat
#31 of 118 in Gangtok
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#42 of 118 in Gangtok
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Pagoda

Property: Hotel Golden Pagoda
Address: M.G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > East Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 118 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Golden Pagoda 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Pagoda Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing