We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent view and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golden Pagoda

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gangtok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Golden Pagoda
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Gangtok
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent view and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Nice hotel for stay with family. Mr. Baljit is nice person and helps a lot. Located on M.G Marg which says almost everything about the view.

Thanks to Mr. Mriganka Mondal (+91-9434488707) for arranging everything for my visit to Sikkim and return on such a short notice. You just name it, he will find a way to get it done. No worries at all if Mr. Mondal is there. I will recommend anyone and everyone to get in touch with Mr. Mondal if you want to save your money and time and ofcourse lots of tension can be avoided. He is very nice person to interact with.

Room Tip: Go for Mall view. Rooms are nice and descent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durga91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    24
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
16
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Situated in MG Marg the bustling center of Gangtok its worth the money.Centrally located.Staffs are really good and well mannered.Specially the manager Mr. Baljit who never says No to any thing.Just tell him something it will be done.Food quality is good,Enjoy the view of M G Marg from your room or the restaurant.If want the view of valley the prefer back side room and for MG marg front room.

Room Tip: All room are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bijoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Hi All,

Golden Pagoda is located at M.G marg and is a descent place for stay. As I have seen negative feedbacks on this hotel in this forum, I called up and spoke to Mr. Baljit and gave them my view about their hotel. The reason provided was satisfactory and as promised, all facilities were provided. Mr. Baljit is a man of his words. So no regrets for choosing this hotel. But there are few things which hotel can keep in consideration for attracting more tourists like more varieties of food and being bit more responsive in terms of service. Overall nice stay I must say.

Best Regards,
Durga Prasad

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durga91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

It is situated at middle of the MG Road of Gangtok. MG Road is walkway only. All kind of transport facilities are prohibited round the clock. However, hotel is near to two Taxi stands which are at walking distances i.e. local as well as WB, South & North Sikkim. MG Road is decorated with flower pots and fountain. Road is constructed with stone and having wooden benches for sitting.

Who ever is coming to Gangtok is going for shopping to MG Road market which good for western outfits and first replica of branded footwear.

Vegetarian food is being served in room service as also at its rooftop dinning area/restaurant. Food is reasonably good. You can have valley view from back side rooms and from rooftop dinning area/restaurant.

Deluxe rooms are well furnished with LCD TV and running hot and cold water. Rooms are small but good. Bathrooms are very congested. Having three floor but No lift.

Management and staff are co-operative.

Its value for Money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take third floor back side room for valley view and front side room for MG Road view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chetankpandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdogra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

came with family and stayed in this hotel. Apart from location there is nothing good about the hotel. It is strong recommendation that please plan your vacation and donot get misguided by any one. i just suffered a lot at this place, rooms were dirty, there was actually no room service was provided. only one person was there for all roles like a superhuman. Food was such that after receiving the order we went out for survival.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gangtok hotels

Gaya, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is situated at M G Marg, Gangtok. M G marg is mall and center place of attranction. Mr. Harish K Prasad, owner of this hotel is very genuine and polite person.One can not bore. but do not buy anything from M G Marg becoz items are costly and it is tourist market better buy from Lal Bazar just at walking distance and local market.

Room Tip: select front facing room. you will enjoy view of M G Marg from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiwarygaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

i came to gangtok recently and stayed at golden pagoda. But it was a wrong decision. Some reviews gave it all praise and i followed them. There is nothing good about this hotel. I suffered a lot, and nobody else should suffer in this hotel when coming to such a good place as gangtok. The room is so small i felt like i was in a small cell or something. When i asked the manager to change my room, he declined in a rude way. The standard double room for rs 1500 is not even fit for a single person to stay without feeling pushed in by walls from all sides. I wanted to change my room because in my experience, nobody has ever cheated up front by charging so much for so little. This is like daylight robbey and the hotel owner is shameless in not reducing the price or at least talking nicely. Those who liked this place must be naive tourists who are just happy to have gone somewhere.

The food i had at the golden pagoda's so-called rooftop restaurant were overpriced. They were hastily made in a small kitchen and served badly. The waiters were rude and did not follow even simple instructions.

I was too upset when i found out that the sheets smelled of fungus. When i called the bell boy, he came with some extra sheets and was clearly drunk. There is no doubt this hotel has lots of drunk staff at night. This is a serious offence. None of them had any fear or regard about some customers complaining. Golden pagoda is on the middle of main mg marg in gangtok, which is a good place, so the hotel owner has held every tourist to ransom since people like to stay in the main town.

Next time when i am in gangtok i am not staying here. Dont stay here you too if you dont want to ruin your vacation. What u can do is to go in and see for yourself before booking. This place is a swindler, a BIG one. But tourists with brains will instantly see through.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gangtok hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tashi Delek
Hotel Tashi Delek
#81 of 111 in Gangtok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sagorika
Hotel Sagorika
#32 of 111 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Grove Retreat
Bamboo Grove Retreat
#8 of 111 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Central Hill Resort Gangtok
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
Hotel Saikripa Gangtok
#40 of 111 in Gangtok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
Hotel Sher-E-Punjab
#7 of 111 in Gangtok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Pagoda

Property: Hotel Golden Pagoda
Address: M.G. Marg, Gangtok 737101, India
Region: India > Sikkim > Gangtok
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Gangtok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Golden Pagoda 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Pagoda Gangtok, Sikkim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing