We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and tired BUT…..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Derbyshire Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dated and tired BUT…..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is dated, tired and ready for refurbishment BUT having said that we found it very clean, the bed very comfortable, the staff in all areas very friendly and helpful and the food though limited on choice, with perhaps an over selection of burgers, of a good quality and well presented. Breakfast was freshly cooked and hot with a reasonable selection. All in all excellent value. I have to agree with other reviewers though that the drinks at the bar are well over the top on price. I have stayed in 4 star hotels in london with cheaper bar prices. The managers claim of competitive with local I find hard to believe!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Elaine G,
Thank you for your comments from your recent stay.I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and your bed comfortable. I will pass on your comments about the staff.
The hotel has refurbished the bar and reception areas this year and we will continue to do this in other areas next year. I will take on board your comments on bar prices and look into this.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    516
    304
    110
    79
See reviews for
169
663
36
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

First impressions count – if only all reception staff were as efficient and friendly as the lady who checked us in. Our room was cosy and had everything you could have needed. We had a lovely relaxing stay – we spent the afternoon in the swimming pool, jacuzzi and saunas. Our meal in the restaurant in the evening was really good – we both chose the Cajun salmon followed by a cheesecake and a lemon tart. Breakfast the following morning had everything you could want from cereals, fruit, hot items and toast. I really can’t understand the negative reviews for this hotel, I could not fault it. The management should be proud of their staff – everyone we came into contact with was friendly, polite and had a smile (which is very rare these days !!). Hopefully a Christmas bonus will come their way !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PebblyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear PebblyBeaches,
Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you had a good first impession as this is important to all customers. Its good to hear you made use of our leisure facilities and enjoyed your meals with us.
We are very proud of our staff here and they will be delighted with your kind words.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Having read the reviews I was a little worried, but apart from some worn carpet in the most public areas, corridors etc everything was really good. The staff were great, especially the restaurant staff, the meals were suburb, the rooms were clean and very comfortable room 141, I only used the steam room in the leisure complex to try and counteract all the food I ate, so can't comment on the rest of it but it all looked good and welcoming. . Wifi was free, although there were some dead spots, but it was accessible in the room, foyer etc.
Well worth a visit,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Niel E,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you found your room to be clean and very comfortable and enjoyed the meals in the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to our staff.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones



The staff were great, especially the restaurant staff, the meals were suburb, the rooms were clean and very comfortable room 141, I only used the steam room in the leisure complex to try and counteract all the food I ate, so can't comment on the rest of it but it all looked good and welcoming. . Wifi was free, although there were some dead spots, but it was accessible in the room, foyer etc.
Well worth a visit,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the recent reviews on this hotel I can only think that those people stayed in a different hotel to me!
We have just returned from a two night break and cannot find fault with the
Derbyshire Hotel. We stayed in room 156 which was lovely, clean and full of numerous equipment which helped make our stay even more comfortable, tv, tea making facilities, trouser press, iron/board. We experienced no noise whatsoever. We used the pool, sauna and jacuzzi and were greeted with cheerful helpful staff wherever we went in the hotel.
We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and left each time very happy. The restaurant staff were all very efficient, and eager to to please.
Particular thanks go to the bar staff who changed the Sky channel to allow us to watch the West Ham v Norwich football game and who were on hand to serve drinks afterwards when West ham lost!!
There is no charge to use Wi-Fi in the hotel and we were given advice on how to connect when we arrived. Something a previous review had disputed!
Ladies on the reception, thank you for your advice on what to see and where to go. We had a great time at Chatsworth House.
Our party of 4 adults have all enjoyed a wonderful weekend away and would not hesitate to thoroughly recommend this friendly, efficient ,modern comfortable hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Kim B,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found your room and dining to expectation. Chatsworth is a great place to visit and not to far from the hotel. We usually show the football matches in the bar and other sporting events.
Thank you for your recommmendation.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed on a fantastic package of DB&B plus wine plus £10shopping voucher for £85. Rooms were fairly basic and the hotel didn't quite live up to its potential despite all the staff being very friendly and efficient. Hotel and rooms looked tired, food was ok but nothing special and we left with the feeling hat if the hotel lived up to the quality of the staff, it could have been a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to Norwich for a family renunion I must say this was a very nice hotel. We booked it with a Groupon voucher and and very pleased with the standard of the rooms and the hotel itself. very clean and comfortable with lovely friendly staff we had a dinner bed and breakfast deal with a bottle wine great value, dinner was lovely and the double cheese souflee was fab . This hotel is just of the motorway more for business. but we both found it was very convenient for stopping over travelling south.Didnt manage to get to the leisure centre but it looked great, will stop here again and try it out.One complaint if it is a moan was a glass of wine was very expensive, check out for drinks deals!!! I would definately stay here again when we go down south.

Room Tip: We had a lovely quiet room away at the end of one of the corridors overlooking the spa a wee bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sallyw90,

Thankyou for your recent review. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and staff friendly. I will pass on your comments to the Chef on your meal that you found lovely. We cater for business and leisure guests given our location to road links and attractions.
It will be a pleasure welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I had the misfortune to stay at this hotel due to Business between 25 and 27 October.
Oh Dear!! I have stayed at it before in very dated and shabby rooms with mattresses that you can feel every spring so was aware you have to be careful which room you stay in, and be prepared to complain and get moved to another room when you see the first offering. However this weekend all of the many guests in the restaurant at Breakfast were told by the restaurant staff each morning due to the Hotel having a new directive by Management only side plates were allowed for your breakfast! - these were only a little bit bigger than a saucer (It was so amusing watching everyone trying to get their portion of badly branded beans, with disgusting cuts of greasy bacon and fried potato on a side plate)!!! - I know times are hard for us all - but I have never experienced anything like this how very mean! It caused a great big stir and lots of discussion by all - As for the quality and choice at breakfast it was so very bad - The baked beans had a very bad taste - No mushrooms (most hotels have grilled mushrooms) no vegetarian choice,- unbelievable! The bacon looked like the cheapest cut as thin as it could be covered in fat and floating in grease, tomato's were limited and they run out! and fried potatoes YUK! - that's it, Oh and the brown sauce was in a cafeteria clear plastic bottle and disgusting, the fruit was out of a tin swimming in juice - No fresh fruit in site, no choice of fat free yogurt what a a very very poor selection! Oh and you could have a cereal - but these were all open - in bowls and looked unrecognizable and unappetizing. Some in our party were meant to be staying 4 more nights this week but after the breakfast fiasco managed to get moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Pay your money and take your chance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennybabeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlynnJ, General Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear JennybabeBath,

Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay. Let me aplogise that your experience was not to expectation. I have reviewed your comments and have met with the management team to ensure procedures are in place that this does not happen again. Breakfast is a key area that our guests use and has to to the right quailty and standards of service.

Kind Regards
Glynn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
10.3 mi away
No photo provided
9.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing