We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my husband went to this hotel,great staff ,very clean and tidy hotel,We stayed for 2 nights the bed is comfortable .We are happy with our stay and we will be back again...They also have wi-fi available and that is a plus:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellaTheEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments.

It is good to read the team enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,626)
There are newer reviews for The Derbyshire Derby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed on a Groupon deal so price was good.

Nice friendly welcome and no problems checking in. We had room 182 which was a couple of minutes walk from reception down stairs. Room was clean and a good size with a really large double bed.

The spa facilities are nice and clean and wasn't that busy when we stayed. Tried the steam room, sauna, pool and jacusy all really good. Not sure it would have been as relaxing if it was busy.

We had dinner in the tempest restaurant, my wife had the steak (£7.50 supplement if your on a meal deal) and I had the baked salmon. Both where great. Only complaint I have was that the service was a little slow and the double cooked chips my wife had where soggy, personally I would have sent them back, but, each to their own. breakfast was spot on served buffet style.

Wouldn't hesitate to use them again as we really enjoyed our stay. The staff where all friendly and helpful to the last man/woman and deserve a pat on the back.

The location is quite convenient, just off the M1 junction 28.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank littlelegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased you had such a good stay. Thank you for your feedback; we welcome all feedback so we can develop our service further.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a business trip. Straight of the motorway so handy. Bedroom clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom was cleaned and maintained. Only disappointment was the quality of the television and audio which was very dated. Wifi was available in all areas of the hotel through a code from reception. Breakfast was okay, and staff all friendly and helpful. Evening meal again was okay. So all in all would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnydays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Derbyshire Hotel. We are very well located off Junction 28 of the M1 and on the door step of the beautiful Peak District.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked to stay here for a long weekend, I must say was excellent value through the hotels website. The room was clean and had all the features you would expect from a 4 star. Gym and spa facilities were very good, nice pool and hot tub and very well maintained. The breakfast was excellent and well staffed. Bar and staff very good, drinks expensive ( always are in hotels - no problem!)
Ignore the negative reviews they are rubbish often coming from people who are miserable and clearly have no idea what they are talking about!
This is a well run hotel with excellent management, and I shall be recommending this FANTASTIC property to my business associates to stay when we come up from London.
Hopefully when I am next on site I will get to thank the General Manager personally, I did thank Louise on reception who I observed during my stay and her work was exceptional and was extremely helpful and pro active.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the car park are nice.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you with staying at The Derbyshire Hotel.

I will share your comments with the full team and I know they will be delighted. I am pleased Louise helped enhance your stay and as the General Manager it is a pleasure to read your feedback and hear you enjoyed your time. Please do contact us direct if we can assist with any business event for you. We have 14 modern event rooms so we can cater for 2 – 250 delegates with a dedicated event team on hand to help at every point.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for both business and another relaxing weekend in Derbyshire.


Kind Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my husband stayed one night on a Travelzoo deal. It was excellent value for money. The staff were first class from start to finish. We used the spa facilities which were great. Our evening meal was lovely and very well presented. Our room was comfortable if not a little dated in appearance. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Michelle

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay to much and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. It is always worth looking at Principal Hayley Hotels & Venues main website www.principal-hayley.com for a variety of packages and offers for all.


Kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Weekend conference, nice facilities and very helpful staff. Food throughout was excellent. On the first night my bedside lamp was not working and the mattress was uncomfortable, both of these were rectified as soon as reported and charmingly, a complimentary box of fudge was left in apology. Swimming pool facilities were good and provided welcome relief at the end of formal sessions and before dinner. I would happily return to this venue.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host your event at the weekend and help make it so successful for you all. As a team we strive to ensure all guest stays are as enjoyable as possible and we are delighted we helped this happen for you.

We hope to welcome you back again for another Conference or a relaxing break in the spectacular Derbyshire countryside we are so near too.


Kind Regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just back from a two day conference at the Derbyshire. Although it's quite difficult to get to by public transport (I suspect it's really aimed at car drivers, as it's just off the M1), once there, the welcome was warm. The staff were great - very friendly, and always willing to go the extra mile.

Food in the bar is quite expensive (£10 for a Panini - very good, though) - unless you're eating on an expense account!), but all the meals we had in the restaurant were excellent - cooked breakfast buffet with options, great coffee, and speedily served dinners of great quality. One thing - the restaurant isn't huge, so you may have to wait if you arrive at a popular time. Also, unusually, you have to wait to be seated at breakfast. Not a problem, but most hotels seem to let you wander in at breakfast (which suits me fine!)

My room was a fair way from reception - a good five minute walk down stairs, and along several well signposted corridors. Once there, it was very warm (commented on by several other guests - in their rooms that is, not mine!), clean and well maintained.

Overall, the Derbyshire might not be the perfect location for a Peak District weekend (there are lots of places closer to the dales, and places with more atmosphere), but if you need a location for a conference, or a high quality hotel close to the motorway, you won't go far wrong with the Derbyshire. It's a hotel that means business.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Adeythom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the conference and found the hotel enhanced your event. We are well located near the M1, junction 28; for travel by rail both Derby and Nottingham train stations are a short taxi ride away.

We hope to welcome you back again soon either for another event or for time to explore the local area.


Kind regards
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,266 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,429 reviews
10.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range: £57 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing