We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed here with a Groupon voucher which was worth it. The hotel is clean. the only part we didn't appreciate is that the sauna was not working and then in the morning we decided to go and relax in the Jacuzzi and that wasn't working. Food at the restaurant was really nice but expensive if you didn't have a voucher.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PDKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay. We endeavour to address all maintenance aspects as quickly as we can.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    574
    332
    129
    86
See reviews for
186
749
37
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The reception staff are friendly & helpful and the hotel is just off the motorway but without any noise. Free ample car perking. The Spa & pool area are lovely & clean albeit a little small but that's where the positives end really.
We got a great deal including dinner for a 1 night weekend stay and emailed in advance about any room upgrades available that we could buy - we are still waiting for a reply - very poor customer service - and the only hotel not to reply to us this year!!! We found our room to be outdated, tired & altogether shabby with a musty "damp" smell. The TV is the oldest thing I've ever seen - and had no picture to it.
The evening meal was a disaster - I ordered the Tiger Prawn pasta dish which didn't have any tiger prawns in it when I mentioned this to the waiter he came back from the kitchen with an apology from the chef and advised that a portion of Tiger Prawns were on their way - what actually turned up nearly 20 mins later was a replacement meal - still with no tiger prawns - instead a handful of small salad prawns which had then been cooked & shrivelled to the tiniest little dots had been chucked on top. Dessert was no better - ordered them only to have one brought out while told they had run out of the other - so we ended up eating dessert separately. We were offered free coffee as compensation but politely turned this down as it was so late only to be charged £2 for tap water!!!!!
Breakfast was average if not slightly poor - English breakfast items running out, staff seemed to be running around unnecessarily topping up cereals while people stood in a line waiting for sausages or eggs. We asked for coffee 3 times and eventually got it 35 minutes after sitting down to breakfast. By far the worse hotel we have stopped in this year.
To add insult to injury they kept £50 secured against my credit card for almost 2 weeks after check out and only released once I called the hotel - with not even so much as an apology.
Altogether a pretty poor show really - I don't normally complain to be honest - horses for courses you get what you pay for but this hotel sucked with its lack of communication, organisation & inability to serve what's on its menu - go to the Premier Inn across the road at least you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn across the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value all comments so we can learn from how different guests found their stay. We are sorry for the short falls during your stay and we will review the all aspects with the team so we can make changes as needed.

We do have a duty manager available 24 hours a day to assist guests wherever possible.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Shanklin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Yet again the Derbyshire delivered. Despite accommodating such a diverse client base the staff manage to make everyone feel welcome as individuals. Rooms are comfortable and spotless and well maintained,which means everything works as it should. All meals are inviting and varied delivered in a comfortable, calm, organised attentive setting.
The Staff of the Derbyshire Hotel are it`s greatest asset, they are all consistent in their approach and have bought into the Management philosophy of customer care which sets them apart from the rest.

Room Tip: Cleanliness and functionality are universally excellent, perhaps if you are an extremely light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure to have you staying again.

All of our team are dedicated to ensuring our guests are well looked after the hotel delivers for them.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My very clever wife managed to find a deal - £110 for two of us for two nights, including breakfast. Cheaper than the Premier Inn the other side of the road :)
Service was great with friendly staff, from Reception to the Restaurant, helpful and smiley. The breakfasts were quite possibly the best I have ever had in a hotel anywhere; the food was well cooked, tasty, and plenty of it, and, best of all, piping hot. It's so easy to get cheap beans, fatty bacon, or bready sausages ... not in this hotel! The food was top quality ingredients, well prepared, and ready to eat ... couldn't ask for better.
Decor is a bit tired in places, though the public areas were top notch and well looked after. Bed a bit too soft for my liking, but that's just a personal preference.
Plenty of car parking, and we had no problems with noise from the nearby A38 or M1 traffic. Good speed on the WiFi.

We were there because I have family and friends in the area, but if you're looking for somewhere to stay while you get out and about, you'll struggle to find a better location, with Derby, Nottingham, and Sheffield in easy reach, and the beautiful Peak District a short hop away. Give it a try, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a firm mattress if like me that's your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your review and kind words about the team.

We are delighted you both enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are very luck with our location as you said and we have a range of offers available on the Principal Hayley website.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Booked a twin room on a room only basis for two nights as I was attending a training course for the weekend. I arrived at 7pm and checked in with ease. I was advised that I was in an adapted room as that was the last room left which didn't bother me as it meant it was on the ground floor and was close by. On entering the room I didn't get the wow factor and found the room a bit dated. Bathroom was clean and tidy but the shower wasn't very powerful and the shower head didn't seem to fit the holder properly so the water came out at a funny angle but it was in working order and was hot. There was several light switches in the room that didn't appear to work anything and the TV was hidden away in a big cabinet. Unfortunately the TV was not at all up to date (not flat screen) the remote control didn't work and because the TV was so old and cumbersome it had a bad flicker to it which meant I couldn't watch it as it would have given me a migraine. The bedroom was so hot in the night I felt I was in a sauna but the bed was very comfortable and pillows were soft. On the whole the room was clean and tidy but very disappointed and how dated the room was for the money I paid. I did not eat in the restaurant as the food prices were, I thought, expensive.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We value all our customer comments and always use them to make improvements wherever we can. I am sorry you felt the hotel was not as modern as you desired. We have a rolling programme of refurbishment and a dedicated team working on this. We have recently refurbished the bar, lounge and reception area.


Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We traveled in a large party - two coaches - but we were all made to feel individual and made very welcome. All the staff were friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble. The food was excellent and despite the majority of waiting staff being young (and probably part time) they had been very well trained so service was smooth and professional; no mean feat when there were 90+ of us.Bedrooms were clean and comfortable with all facilities provided but the television in our room was a bit dated and the picture quality not good but who stays away to watch television! Some of the bedrooms are a long work from Reception so if you have trouble walking ask for a room close to Reception. It was noticeable that every member of staff said 'hello' when you met them around the hotel. Reception staff were brilliant with Louisa being very professional and friendly, checking that everything was OK with each table at dinner. Top marks for the staff and the hotel - a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you have difficulties walking ask to be located close to Reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

The team always enjoying hearing about guest stays and how they helped make it extra special. We are dedicated to ensuring all the team are well trained and ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay.

We hope you will make it back again either with the group or on your own to explore more of the Peak District.

Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Have stayed here on a couple of occasions whilst working away from home and would stay again. Friendly check in and welcoming staff. Rooms have always been comfortable (very comfortable beds) with good bathrooms and all the amenities you would need. Food and drink options good although a little on the pricey side. Good breakfast options. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It is good to hear you had another enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again soon.


Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
601 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,203 reviews
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
754 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,372 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing