We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Derbyshire Derby
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great staff”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst away on buisness, check-in was a little slow but the staff throughout my visit were very helpfull and polite. The rooms were comfortable. I was a bit dubious about being so close to a busy motorway but found the traffic noise was not that noticeable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased the team enhanced your stay. Our location just off Junction 28 of the M1 is ideal for both people travelling on business and those wanting to relax and explore the beautiful Peak District.

We hope to welcome you back again soon at one of our hotels within Principal Hayley.


Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    564
    327
    124
    84
See reviews for
186
733
37
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We are staying at The Derbyshire whilst our daughter is doing her Duke Of Edinburgh award..
After reading some reviews we were expecting an old fashioned hotel - but it is not.
On arrival the receptionists were very helpful. We had booked a Groupon deal which included evening meal with a bottle of wine & breakfast & we paid a little extra to upgrade to a superior room.
The room is lovely & spacious with a really comfy bed & is modern, not old fashioned. Yes it's an older design TV but does that really matter when you can still get all your channels?!
We expected a limited choice menu in the restaurant but we could choose anything we wanted & the food was Gorgeous.
After a comfy nights sleep we have just been down for breakfast which again was really nice with the added bonus of freshly squeezed oranges, my favourite!
When we checked in We said we may use the spa as we have time to fill before we collect our daughter later so the receptionist said we could check out at 1pm, which was very kind.
So all in all I thought I would leave a review as I don't normally bother.
We weren't really expecting much from our stay here so we are pleasantly surprised by the Hotel as a whole.

Room Tip: We paid only £13 more for a superior room which was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Trish

Thank you for review, as a team we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We offer a wide ranging menu in the restaurant, in addition we have a lounge menu and room service so it all depends what you fancy.

We hope your daughter completed her Duke of Edinburgh and we welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from our second trip to this hotel, had a great travel zoo deal yet again. The food was really lovely although fewer choices than our last visit about 7 months ago, also your not allowed to have the wine in the restaurant now ,which I cant understand why. Yes the rooms are a little dated but are very clean. I love the pool & spa area and even tried out the well equipped gym this time. The staff are all friendly and helpful and I will defiantly be returning in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed another stay at the Derbyshire Hotel. We change our menus on a regular basis.

It is great to hear you used the gym as well as our swimming pool, sauna, stream room and Jacuzzi

Best wishes
Joel Fagg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This place is Amazing but very expensive i went for a wedding after party it was brilliant the music was blasting everyone up on the dance floor but we brought a 2 small cokes and a pint of Guinness and it came up to 11.85 that is a bit expensive don't you think for 2 cokes and a pint of Guinness very ridiculous i think this is my opinion like i said before don't go if u don't have the money no judging but this is my personal opinion. I would recommend for the value of the night but not for the drinks

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Angela

Thank you for your feedback.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the wedding celebrations. We have a dedicated team looking after weddings and all special events to ensure they creating lasting memories Thank you for your feedback on the bar prices we regularly review our prices along side similar 4* hotels and guest feedback; we will be sure to take your comments into account.

We hope to welcome you back again for another event.


Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

this was the second time me and my hubby have stayed here friendly staff and can't do enough to help breakfast again was great buffet style the rooms are a little tired but clean well stay again here x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph73gc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It was wonderful to welcome you back. We are pleased the team helped enhance your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

we stayed here with a Groupon voucher which was worth it. The hotel is clean. the only part we didn't appreciate is that the sauna was not working and then in the morning we decided to go and relax in the Jacuzzi and that wasn't working. Food at the restaurant was really nice but expensive if you didn't have a voucher.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PDKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay. We endeavour to address all maintenance aspects as quickly as we can.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The reception staff are friendly & helpful and the hotel is just off the motorway but without any noise. Free ample car perking. The Spa & pool area are lovely & clean albeit a little small but that's where the positives end really.
We got a great deal including dinner for a 1 night weekend stay and emailed in advance about any room upgrades available that we could buy - we are still waiting for a reply - very poor customer service - and the only hotel not to reply to us this year!!! We found our room to be outdated, tired & altogether shabby with a musty "damp" smell. The TV is the oldest thing I've ever seen - and had no picture to it.
The evening meal was a disaster - I ordered the Tiger Prawn pasta dish which didn't have any tiger prawns in it when I mentioned this to the waiter he came back from the kitchen with an apology from the chef and advised that a portion of Tiger Prawns were on their way - what actually turned up nearly 20 mins later was a replacement meal - still with no tiger prawns - instead a handful of small salad prawns which had then been cooked & shrivelled to the tiniest little dots had been chucked on top. Dessert was no better - ordered them only to have one brought out while told they had run out of the other - so we ended up eating dessert separately. We were offered free coffee as compensation but politely turned this down as it was so late only to be charged £2 for tap water!!!!!
Breakfast was average if not slightly poor - English breakfast items running out, staff seemed to be running around unnecessarily topping up cereals while people stood in a line waiting for sausages or eggs. We asked for coffee 3 times and eventually got it 35 minutes after sitting down to breakfast. By far the worse hotel we have stopped in this year.
To add insult to injury they kept £50 secured against my credit card for almost 2 weeks after check out and only released once I called the hotel - with not even so much as an apology.
Altogether a pretty poor show really - I don't normally complain to be honest - horses for courses you get what you pay for but this hotel sucked with its lack of communication, organisation & inability to serve what's on its menu - go to the Premier Inn across the road at least you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn across the road!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel F, Manager at The Derbyshire Derby, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We value all comments so we can learn from how different guests found their stay. We are sorry for the short falls during your stay and we will review the all aspects with the team so we can make changes as needed.

We do have a duty manager available 24 hours a day to assist guests wherever possible.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Normanton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
9.9 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
242 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
733 reviews
11.0 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
610 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
1,181 reviews
10.4 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derbyshire Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derbyshire Derby

Property: The Derbyshire Derby
Address: Carter Lane East, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Derbyshire Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-friendly and very comfortable, you'll feel relaxed from the moment you arrive. Near the heart of the Peak district where you will find delightful walks and spectacular views. Chatsworth House, fun-packed thrills of Alton Towers, and extensive shopping at East Midlands Outlet are all nearby. Enjoy our modern gym, indoor pool, spa bath and optional health & beauty treatments. Beautiful suites available for meetings and events, from conferences to weddings. If you are planning a trip abroad, the hotel is just 30 minutes from East Midlands Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Derbyshire Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derbyshire Hotel South Normanton
Derbyshire South Normanton
The Derbyshire Derby South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing