We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the average Premier...But oh dear, the restaurant..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the average Premier...But oh dear, the restaurant..”
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We always stay at a Premier, because you know what you are going to get and no nasty surprises. This one was above average, really helpful reception staff, cleaners very good - I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

The Pub / restaurant on the other hand was disgusting. Too many tables so you are crammed in. You wait for ages for a drink at the bar - not enough staff. You wait for ages for your very average food - not enough staff. The place was filthy - not enough staff.

Stay in the hotel, it is excellent quality, but eat and drink elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
We apologise for the service you received whilst dining at our Castlewood Brewers Fayre. We endeavour to give all our guests the highest level of service and on the rare occasions this does not happen we take all feedback very seriously. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be duly investigate. Thanks you very much for taking the time to review your stay as your feedback is of paramount importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    213
    75
    15
    17
See reviews for
152
178
33
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Although we only stayed one night, we found the hotel good value for money and the staff very helpful, particularly the receptionists. Although this is one of the older Premier Inns, our room was comfortable, but with windows that didn't open very far. We had a fan in the room, but one of the receptionists kindly brought us another, so we had a good night's sleep.

We had a meal at the hotel next door and this was well-cooked and enjoyable. The waiting staff were also attentive and hard-working. We saw none of the mess some reviewers have noted. Breakfast was also good.

The hotel was very busy the night we stayed, but staff coped admirably and were all pleasant and cheerful. Well done Premier Inn!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Stayed in the Premier Inn last week and have no complaints. The rooms were clean and tidy and also quiet. We had breakfast the everyday and the staff were always smiley and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic lots to choose from and they even did things like boiled eggs and porridge fresh to order. We stayed for dinner on the first night and it was also excellent with a huge choice and a great range of specials which seemed to change daily so we were never stuck for choice, though one night I asked for something that was not on the specials that day but was on one of the previous days and the staff were more than happy to cook it for me. We tried the Derbyshire across the road one evening for dinner as it is a 5 star hotel and we wished we would have stayed at the Castlewood as it was no where near as good and cost twice as much.
Fully recommend the Castlewood Premier Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeeruinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Having had a very enjoyable stay here a few years ago, we decided to chose this hotel again for a family reunion after a number of years. What a mistake, while we cannot fault the actual hotel, the Brewers Fayre restaurant attached to it was diabolical. There were 6 of us in our group and we were seated at a table not really large enough for 4, tables dirty, food on floor, food dried up, having food and drink passed over our heads as not enough room for staff to serve it properly. Orders going missing, waited over 35 minutes for starters to arrive. Decking area outside was filthy,tables full of empty plates and glasses, cigarette ends all over floor (I am a smoker) because the 1 ashtray was over flowing, when I asked for another one I was given an empty but DIRTY one. The duty manager agreed the place was under staffed and not as well run as it could be. We had booked for 2 nights and had it not have been for the fact it was a family reunion we would have checked out after the first nigh without breakfast. The restaurant experince ruined the whole weekend and we will never stay at this hotel again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank booshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality service in all establishments. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston Vasey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed there a couple of years ago with my sister and her husband, so when we planned another get together for a weekend we decided to stop there again.

There was no problem at all with the hotel, but the brewers fayre next door was a disaster, orders went missing, tables not getting cleared, ashtrays outside not emptied overnight, chips and peas on the floor for 2 days.

On our last night we complaned to the duty manager who agreed that the service was poor and he was going to point out the next morning at a managers meeting the need for more staff.

My sister was so upset by the lack of service and basic cleanliness she has written to Whitbreads head office to complain.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ace_Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very pleased that the our clean comfortable room and good hotel met your expectations. We do apologise for your experience at our Castlewood Brewers Fayre. Please be assured, at Premier Inn we endeavour to give the highest level of service in all our establishments your feedback will be investigated and duly followed up with the management team at our Castlewood Brewers Fayre. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Stayed for 1 night with a group of friends on the way to under 11s football match then on to Alton Towers. Staff at this hotel are great nothing is too much trouble. Booked the full breakfast paid for adults and all kids eat free - great value. Food in the bar during the day was also very good. Rooms clean and more than adequate for short stay. Hotel is handy for A1/M1 also good outlet shopping centre close enough to walk to. We all agreed that we would book again in the future if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0lidaymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that our hotel and facilities met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. Thank you for your feedback regarding our team at Mansfield, they will be delighted to receive your comments. They are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Clean rooms with very friendly staff who seemed only too pleased to help. Linked to the Brewers Fayre pub which also had friendly staff and served very nice meals from a varied menu.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2010
Thanks for your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one, and you enjoyed our clean comfortable hotel, great team members and restaurant facilities. Your feedback is so important to us in our endeavours to provide all our guests with the best level of service. Thanks again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.1 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,566 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
Travelodge Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton in Ashfield
221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Alfreton
Travelodge Alfreton
#1 of 1 in Alfreton
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mour Hotel
Mour Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annesley
613 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
6.1 mi away
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mansfield
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Address: Carter Lane East | Alfreton, South Normanton DE55 2EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short drive from historic Matlock and the Peak District, next door to East Midlands Designer Outlet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel South Normanton
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel Derbyshire/South Normanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing