We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Moss Cottage

Moss Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunclody
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moss Cottage
Ranked #3 of 3 Bunclody B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed in Moss Cottage for two nights last week and was very happy with my accommodation. My room was comfy and bright. Mary and Brian are excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was tasty and fresh. They have a beautiful garden too so the area around the house is very restful too. The weather was good enough to go for a walk in the evenings and the countryside roundabout is really a pleasure...hilly and green with the trees leafing up beautifully.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a nice big window and overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for Moss Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay ! We stayed in room 1 very big with on suite , great view of the gardens
Full breakfast in the morning was very nice
Mary & Brian really made you feel at home
Just of the main road about 10 minute walk

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This B&B is absolutely charming! Located less than 10 minutes (on food) from the centre it is surrounded by a beautiful garden and its interieur is absolutely charming in its Victorian style. The hosts Mary and Brian are very friendly, helpful and welcoming and offer a very good breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. A B&B to recommend highly!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

If you find yourself in Bunclody for any reason then stay here. The house is beautiful in a lovely secluded garden. The hosts are very friendly and couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We had pre-booked Moss Cottage, as our first stop of our touring holiday in Ireland. Bunclody itself is a pleasant enough little market village, but we were absolutely delighted by Moss Cottage. The house is in Victorian style, down a gravel drive and nestled among trees and shrubs, with a little rill running through the lawn behind the house. The ensuite double bedroom was generously proportioned, with a view over the rear garden and nearby hills.

Brian Gilsenan's easy and welcoming manner instantly put us at our ease, and his knowledge of local country as a walking man proved invaluable. We mentioned that we were planning to walk up Mount Leinster that afternoon, and he suggested an alternative walk along the top of Slieve Bawn (Blackstairs Mountains), giving better views. We took his advice and he provided us with a laminated guide. We had an exhilarating walk which really got our holiday off to a great start.

There are three or four places to eat in Bunclody. That evening we walked around the town (takes ten minutes) checking the menus. The choice ranges from pub food, through Chinese (one restaurant, one take-away) to a couple of more serious restaurants, like the Chantry. We passed on the Chantry as we didn't want to spend €15-18 on main courses, and ended up in the Chinese restaurant thinking it was cheaper. This was a mistake, as we ended up paying €52 for a very lacklustre dinner for two, with just mains and a couple of Tiger beers. My advice - try the Chantry.

Next morning Mary Gilsenan gave us a lovely cooked breakfast and chatted about the house as we looked out through the conservatory to the secluded garden.

We paid €80 for the room and breakfast, and it was worth every cent. Although we stayed only one night, I would love to go back for a week's walking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wernerworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunclody hotels
0.3 mi away
The Millrace Hotel
The Millrace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bunclody
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadowside B&B
Meadowside B&B
#1 of 3 in Bunclody
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weston House
Weston House
#2 of 3 in Bunclody
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clody Lodge
Clody Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bunclody
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Moss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Cottage

Address: Rose Cottage Rose Cottage Hospital Hill, Bunclody, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Bunclody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bunclody
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Moss Cottage Bunclody, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing