We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad- mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Millrace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Millrace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bunclody
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good and bad- mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here 8th-10th Nov. Had a lovely weekend but the hotel is really lacking in some areas. The girl on reception was lovely and friendly. We went to our room (211) and there was note on the desk saying that there was no heating and it was beyond their control. Fair enough but surely the receptionist should have said this to us on check in. I thought this was very poor to not recieve a verbal explaination or apology. There was a little heater in our room that we left plugged in when we went for dinner and the room was warm when we returned.
The Danu Spa was great. We had some lovely treatments and the staff were lovely. I would use this Spa again. So relaxing. The leisure facilities need a serious upgrade. The ladies changing room looks so dated. The toilets were unclean and changing area needed to be swept. The paint is peeling off the walls and rust on metal fixtures. Although there are lockers available, you cannot LOCK them!! No pad locks or keys available. We had to return to our room and leave our valuables there. Not a great option either to be honest.
Dinner on the first night was not good. We both ordered the burger and it tasted awful. Chips and onion rings were gorgeous though. The waiter noticed we had left the burger and offered dessert free of charge. Nice gesture. After dinner, we went to the bar for a drink. Asked for a pint of Bulmers draft, tap wasnt working. Asked for pint bottle of Bulmers light, only 2 left and they werent in the fridge. Asked for a bottle of Corona and got a lemon instead of a lime in it. My friend was drinking Disaronno and when we went to the bar for a second round, there was Disaronno left. The bar lacks atmosphere. I know these are minor details but its supposed to a 4 star hotel and its the little touches that make it. Dinner on Sat night was fab. Beautiful starters, gorgeous steak and dessert. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of options to order from. The only issue was breakfast on Sunday morning. It took 25 mins for someone to take our order, no tea or coffee offered. We were sitting for 40mins in total before we recieved breakfast and had to ask 3 times for toast.
Overall, we had a lovely weekend and the staff were friendly and welcoming. There is alot of stuff that the hotel needs to work on to maintain a 4 star status. Saying this, I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    210
    177
    96
    77
See reviews for
203
370
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kilnaleck, Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here with friends in the summer and although its a basic hotel, it does what it says on the tin! Bunclody is a quiet enough spot but we found some decent pubs in the town. Staff were pleasant and the meal we had in the roof top restaurant was good without being spectacular. Good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was using my Kindle and left it under the pillow, did not realise until I started to unpack after I got home. I phoned the hotel and was told they would call back when they checked lost property. We had to ring back on three occasions and on one occasion were advised that the room was occupied and it would be the following day. Again we had to ring back, I know I left it there and the last thing said on the phone was "hope you find it". I understand the Hotel had to be careful how this was handled but I feel they were not very proactive in their approach. The night stay was fine but it made it an expensive and frustrating visit for me. I contacted Amazon, had to redo passwords and they have deactivated the Kindle-element which is a help --I had a lot of books!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time with a gang of girlies for over night stay with Hotel Break deal inc Spa treatment. Spa is small but cute, staff are lovely. Relaxation room perfect for a small group. Swimming is again small but cute. Rooftop restaurant is very good standard the food was again excellent. Staff were very attentive. A very pleasant moderate price no risk stay if you are looking for somewhere affordable an hour from Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KymberlyDunneFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Rooms were only ok, quite dated. Ours was a good size though, a large suite that comfortably accommodated us and 3 kids. Towels were limited in number and thin!
Staff were very nice and got us babysitters for the night.
Pool was nice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NikiDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Lovely rooms. Bar service and breakfast sedrvice excellent hot and more than enough. Small local village and bars. Bar next door to hotel great craic and lovely food also. Nice drive into Waterford City for shopping. Golf course just across the road set in lovely grounds with lovely views worth going up to the clubhouse to have a coffee and take them inn. Lovely beer garden outside hotel to enjoy fresh air and sun. Will defo go back.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out to the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle_bolger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Down
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Millrace for 3 nights recently. Room & en suite was clean & perfectly acceptable with comfy bed. Towels were a bit thin & no complimentary toiletries provided. Tea & coffee making provided in room but no biscuits. Bar and public areas clean & modern style but lacked ambience/atmosphere. Think this may have been as it is quite bare of adornments & curtains which would give a more luxurious feel. Breakfast was very good with a cold self service selection & hot breakfast made to order. We had a meal in the roof top restaurant on 1 evening. Food was delicious & staff were very attentive. We ate in the bar on another evening, again food was great - very good value & great staff. We used the pool & leisure facilities which we found to be adequate but in need of an upgrade. We did enjoy our stay here & there was nothing in particular that we would complain about but just felt there was something lacking as it doesn't have those little luxurious extras that you get from most other 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunclody
11.6 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
23.9 mi away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
12.9 mi away
Amber Springs Hotel and Health Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
21.8 mi away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
15.7 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millrace Hotel

Property: The Millrace Hotel
Address: Bunclody, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Bunclody
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bunclody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millrace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Millrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Millrace Wexford
Hotel Carlton Millrace
The Millrace Hotel Bunclody, County Wexford, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing