We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never come back here”
Review of Tong'an Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tong'an Hostel
Ranked #3 of 459 Tongxiang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I slept here during a summer tour, just for one night and everything was really bad. First of all, this is not an hostel, but it is named as a 4 stars hotel. the first impression you get is that it is very nice, with all this fake old wood. nice entrance and hall. but when i entered my room...oh my god...smell of rotten things, all wet with humidity, a "view" on a forgotten garden and a wall...I asked for a change (also another couple of the group asked for a change) but even if it was just 6 pm neither of us obtained a change because they were fully booked. they neither excused or offered something to calm us...it was just our problem. the rooms were these and it was our proble if we did not like them. the beds were also very hard and a lot of items that seemed free in the rooms were asked to be paid upon checkout (a pen and a rubber?...please...). we went out for dinner and when we came back, at 10.30 pm, the lights were already off and it was quite difficult to reach the rooms because of a lof of corridors without signs...almost a labyrinth...breakfast the next morning...no comment and we also had to eat there at lunch...horrible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dschubba13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Tong'an Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Not a hostal but a hotel. Checking in was amazing. You leave your baggage to be ferried over while you get the local short every few minutes free ferry over to the island of Wuzhen West. Difficult to beat the location.

The hotel is probably no more than a few years old but beginning to show distinct signs of wear. Very bad stains in our bedroom carpet and wallpaper starting to peel off in places. Breakfast and service was fine but not up to the usual excellent standards which we have found in China.

Friendly bar service but a bit irrating to find when you arrive back at 21.15 that the bar closes at 21.00 each day.

The actual location of the hotel could hardly be bettered.

We would have preferred to have stayed at the nearby Waterside Resort whic seemed a first class establishment and we had a really excellent lunch there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I was surprised at first when I went to add a review and couldn't find this hotel as it is easily one of the nicest I've ever stayed in, in any country! Don't be fooled - the "Hostel" in the name is a misnomer. This is NOT a hostel - it's currently a 4.5 star hotel, undoubtedly on its way to 5 stars.

Although it's only four years old, the setting is that of an old Chinese water town and if you're not a fan of cookie-cutter hotels, you will definitely appreciate the charm of this place. Even stepping on the rare sagging floorboard gives you a feeling of pleasure that this hotel is so authentic to its location.

I was fortunate to get a suite during my short stay here - one living room and a bedroom with a king-sized bed for just one person - what could be more luxurious than space in China? The one less than outstanding part of my room was the fact that the bedding felt a bit damp when I went to sleep, but I suppose that's understandable when you're in a water town and I was quick to get over that one little flaw.

My friends stayed in another room just down the hall, but the views from both rooms were spectacular - both overlooked the waterway near the ferry entrance to the town. On the other side of the hallway outside our rooms was the pool. It was very large but the water appeared cloudy and I never saw anyone in it. However, this is probably due to the fact that most Chinese people are averse to getting a tan, so I didn't expect to see any locals lounging poolside. I wanted to get in myself, but didn't have the time to do that AND wander around town with my camera - in the end, my love of photography won.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for charm, luxury and affordability. Also, I'd advise going during the week rather than the weekend, especially if you're looking for an escape from the crowds that tend to appear at any Chinese destination on a holiday or weekend. You won't regret visiting this wonderful water town or staying in this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank feiheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Brenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Funnylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 10 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tongxiang hotels
Waterside Hotel
#1 of 268 in Tongxiang
68 reviews
Wuzhen Clubhouse
#14 of 268 in Tongxiang
16 reviews
Gold Riverside Hotel
#12 of 268 in Tongxiang
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wuzhen Guest House
#1 of 459 in Tongxiang
347 reviews
Dockside Boutique Hotel
#13 of 268 in Tongxiang
13 reviews
Wuzhen
Jinhanghe Inn
Jinhanghe Inn
#15 of 459 in Tongxiang
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tong'an Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tong'an Hostel

Address: No.129 Xizha Main Street, Wuzhen Town, Tongxiang, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Tongxiang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Tongxiang
Price Range: £73 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tong'an Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tong'an Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tong`An Hotel Tongxiang
Tong'An Hostel China/Tongxiang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing