We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and welcoming”
Review of Nam Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nam Long Hotel
Ranked #2 of 38 Dong Hoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vientiane, Laos
2 reviews
“Very helpful and welcoming”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The staff had been very helpful and polite, they even took a notable extra step. I indeed forgot my camera and other stuff in my locker before taking a bus to Hanoi and they sent it for me the next day, everything packed very carefully, I was amazed to get it back so easily and cheaply (just paid the bus driver for the delivery), a big thank you to this wonderful team and I recommend it strongly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benoit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    124
    33
    3
    7
See reviews for
28
155
77
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at nam long hotel for 2 nights. Took a train from Hue to dong hoi (3hrs, $10 USD for soft seat tix). I booked a standard double. We paid $22 USD per night for 2 people. It was a cheap hotel (hostel like feel-since they had dorm rooms available) so I wasn't expecting much. Room was surprisingly large with a double bed and single bed, fridge, water boiler, and old TV. The room was clean, towels fresh, sheets were good.

My only complaint was the bathroom...the shower was open to the bathroom so if you used it, the entire room would be wet. They did provide shower slippers, which was good. The other thing about the bathroom I hated was this little pipe that came out of the wall and had water that flowed out of it into a small drain in the corner of the bathroom. It reeked of sewage when we flushed the toilet. And sometimes it flowed on it's own. It was always clear water but it was very smelly. We ended up using the shower head to rinse the floor after we saw that it was flowing water. Again, it was a cheap hotel. You can't expect luxury.

The common area was cozy where backpackers can hang out. There's 2 computers that can be used to check mail and look things up. There's not much to do in Dong Hoi and the town closes early. Local restaurants available for food but not many options and very home style cooking. The hotel has a menu with food available. They served fried rice (40,000 dong), fried noodles, spring rolls, pho, etc. for breakfast, the hotel served fried egg with french bread, fried noodles, muesli, etc.

We booked a 2 cave tour with the hotel- phong nha and paradise ($800,000 Dong each). The phong nha discovery Tour started at 830a-5:30-6pm. We were picked up at our hotel in a nice AC bus, given 2 bottles of water and drove ~60km to the river. We took a boat up the river through phong nha cave and were dropped off and walked around a bit. At paradise, they put us in buggys that drove us to the stairs (~500 steps) that you walk up to the cave entrance. I definitely recommend doing the caves. Paradise cave was just recently open to the public in 2010. The tour ended with a swim in chay river. We went around 430pm and it was filled with local kids swimming and their mothers doing laundry. The kids were really intrigued with us (I'm vietnamese american and I was with 4 white guys-American, Brits, aussie) and started to pester us. But our tour guide was good about keeping us safe and yelled at them.

Also, the hotel had options for single day cave tours which usually lasted half day. All the tours ran daily except for the 2 day trekking tours which you have to inquire about.

Other note: some travelers from our hotel left on a sleeper bus from dong hoi to hanoi. I met a girl doing a day trip from Hue to dong hoi for the caves who mentioned
there were no bus options from dong hoi to hanoi and she said researched every option. I told her we had backpackers from our hotel leave every night via bus to hanoi. So if you are in her situation, check with the hotel. They may be able to book local buses that are not available in search on the internet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sqtrinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We had the lovely big high ceilinged room with curved windows on the 2nd floor. Nice and clean, bathroom good with toiletries. Air con and fan + opening windows so you can choose. The best thing about Nam Long is the staff and family members. They are so calm and obliging. There were 3 different sets of travellers all catching various night transport and they let us all wait there and use the shower, so much nicer than waiting till 12.30am at the train station! Thank you all so much for your kindness.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel staff spoke great English and sold caving tours for standard prices. The 8 bed dorm room was large, beds cleaned daily. In the room was 2 air con units, flat screen cable TV, 2 bathrooms, lockers, soft mattress bunk beds with towels & toiletries provided in the room. I opted for the $7 inc breakfast rate. Breakfast menu was pretty standard, included a drink. For dong hoi this is great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkdfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here in March. We were more then happy with the service. Its a family run business and they really go out of their way to help you. The rooms were clean, the beds were large and it was comfortable. Nothing extremely fancy but not lacking one thing. They do laundry and recommend tours! Very helpful. We arrived a day early and they quickly accommodated us. The owner even helped us find a hotel in Hue for a reasonable price. I would recommend anyone to stay here. Also the breakfast was fantastic! You don't need to leave the hotel.


I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgillooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Good clean room, good breakfast. Nice location for walking along the river promenade, with the lovely rainbow lighted bridge at night. Booked our cave tour through them--a highlight of our trip. Nice helpful staff. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked in here as a quick dorm stop over in between Hue and Phong Nha. Efficient service, helpful front desk, free upgrade to private triple room. Bathroom facilities could have been cleaner. For the price and convenience, can't complain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dong Hoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#7 of 24 in Dong Hoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Muong Thanh Luxury Nhat Le Hotel
1.2 mi away
Cao Minh Hotel
Cao Minh Hotel
#4 of 24 in Dong Hoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nam Long Plus Hotel
Nam Long Plus Hotel
#1 of 38 in Dong Hoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminai Hotel & Cafe
Geminai Hotel & Cafe
#3 of 38 in Dong Hoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Spa Resort Quang Binh Vietnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Long Hotel

Property: Nam Long Hotel
Address: 22 Ho Xuan Huong Street, Dong Hoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Binh Province > Dong Hoi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dong Hoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nam Long Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nam Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nam Long Hotel Dong Hoi, Vietnam - Quang Binh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing