We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muck Diving in Dauin is a ton of fun...and so is the atmosphere of Liquid Dumaguete!”
Review of Liquid Dumaguete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Liquid Dumaguete
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dauin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a great time at Liquid! The STAFF is phenomenal....Zoe Latimer is so sweet and funny and helpful. The front desk staff (especially Ness!) is very helpful too.... The DM's (Jun and Alan) we had were so good at what they do...pointing out the teeniest, tiniest, CUTEST underwater creatures ever! we also loved how they have a dry-erase board to give us very THOROUGH pre-dive plans...the most thorough dive briefings we have ever had in fact. We enjoyed Apo Island. We also loved how many choices we were given...we can do one dive, two dives, three dives, night dive etc. all on our own or with other people. I had a DM all to myself one day. small groups are always nice, and a change from what im used to (LARGE groups...ugh). The staff that assists the DM's are also so so helpful. they would never let me carry a thing on my own! We also took our enriched air class with Berlinda who is a wonderful instructor. The accomodations are comfortable. Liquid is advertised as a Flashpacker's resort and it was perfect for our needs (a couple travelling, on a budget since this was the first of three stops in PI and Palau). we are a very simple couple and care more for the diving aspect than the ammenities a place has to offer. that being said, the only reason I am docking a star is because the food at Liquid was a bit too salty for me. i prefer eating local food when on vacation and the Filipino options I had did not taste like home, nor did it taste like the restaurants around Dumaguete. The cab ride to town is 350 pesos by trike or 700 pesos by cab ONE WAY so we spent way too much time and money going back and forth for lunch and dinner. There is no fridge in the rooms and because they don't allow food in the rooms we spent too much time going back and forth for our meals. The drinks and bar snacks we did love though! Other people loved the lunch and dinner so it may be just because I am going to marry into a Filipino family and prefer my food a certain way ;) and they will accomodate vegetarian diets. all in all, i loved this place and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBuiLiesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and kind words about myself and our staff. We are very proud of all our staff and it is always great to hear that our guests are made to feel welcome and part of our family. Our DM's have all been with us from the start and we are super proud of the effort and care they put into each and every dive.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our food, this is something we take great care in and always welcome comments and advice. Having a limited menu means we can concentrate on perfecting each dish. I will certainly tell our kitchen staff that you felt the meals were a little salty. Hopefully on your next visit to us you will find our food more suitable.

We do not allow food in the rooms purely from an insect perspective. The ants in this country are voracious and once they get into a room they are pretty hard to get out. They can even get inside sealed tuppaware!

Great t hear that you enjoyed Darlene's cakes and snack food, I will make sure to tell her.

Overall I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you back here for another diving holiday - next time I promise more local foods and less salt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this resort and wish we could have stayed longer. From the moment we arrived, we were made feel welcome by the friendly staff and owners. Everyone made an effort to remember our name which was a nice touch.

The food was good, especially their home made cake. Every evening we ate with everyone else in the resort which gave us a chance to talk about the day's diving and get to know people. Afterwards you can chill in the chill out area with a San Miguel with your new friends.

The highlight of that trip for us was the diving. Loads of sites around the resort. Our day out to Apo Island was probably our favourite. There are also plenty of muck diving and interesting macro life.

Thank you to Zoe, Tim and the staff

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyC555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your diving holiday with us here at Liquid. We will make sure to tell Darlene that you thoroughly enjoyed her home made cakes!! It is always great to hear that our staff make our guests feel welcome and a part of the family. The diving in this region is spectacular and we are very lucky to have some exceptional dive guides to look after our guests. Hope to see you both back here one day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

just stayed 4 nights at liquid and enjoyed it to bits!
liquid is a dive resort near dauin.from dumaguete either take a tricycle or a bus and get off at the petrol stop in bulak. than walk 10min through pittoresk scenery to liquid. liquid can also arrange pick up for you at additional cost.the basic but comfortable cottages are all beach front and set in a beautiful garden with lots of open green areas. a pool deep enough to do your open water and a small part for kids.although my little ones prefered the deep pool.there is very comfy restaurant,cafe,lounge with great quality of food with fix food times and limited menu.wi-fi available at the restaurant.the dive staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. even the ones who never dove with you! everyone is concerned about your well being and the owners zoe and tim will go above and beyond to help you out with anything.
they arranged babysitter for us so we could do our dives and even let our kids be in their private house to watch tv and their very well mannered kids shared all their toys with our girls!
the dive to apo island with liquid was exceptional. provided home made chocholate chips cookies and fresh fruits,coffee tea and a great selection of food for lunch. the boat trip to apo on their big white and beautiful banka was very comfortable and relaxing.
their very international dive crew is so helpful that one wants to become friends with all of them!
our dive masters allan and rocky and the helpers on all the days were exceptional!!! jim,michelle,berlinda,carlos were always available for questions and concerns. if you want to go on great dives with great crew,great staff in general and owner whom you want to be friends with and all in a beautiful setting than i can totally recommend you liquid!

Room Tip: all cottages face beach front and are equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that your girls had fun with our children. It is always lovely to read that our guests have had an enjoyable experience and that our staff are what make Liquid special. We hope to see you and your family back here one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Well, where to start.. Liquid have perfectly met their desired market, flash packers as Zoe so aptly put it on the first day, ppl who don't need air con and TVs but instead want clean, basic rooms in a perfect setting with quality diving and great food. The staff have been amazing and make you feel so welcome. We loved the family style dinner, it allows you to get to know everyone and they will adapt the meal if there's something you can't eat. It's hard to single one member of staff out as they're all so helpful and they really do go out of their way to help you including booking our ferry tickets, helping us find accommodation at our next stop and even picking the tickets up for us! You really can tell that the owners, Zoe and Tim are well travelled... They have taken all the features that work in other dive resorts and put them all together to create a professional but relaxed environment. There aren't many places that we visit twice but liquid is one of them, well done guys :-)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jkpdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Jenny and Warren, Thank you so much for the lovely review. We try very hard to make all our guests feel relaxed and like part of the Liquid family, so knowing we succeeded with you both is great. As a flashpacker resort our aim is comfort on a budget, so thank you for telling us that is exactly what we are doing. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in the Philippines and we look forward to seeing you both back here soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hello everybody!
I would highly recommend Liquid as your choice to stay at the Dauin Coast.
The Resort is so beautiful with nice bungallows spreaded by the garden with a nice pool area to relax and enjoy the sun...
And yes, you have many nice resorts in other places...but Liquid stands out for the friendly and relaxed atmosphere!!!
Every evening everybody will gather and chat in the chill-out area, share experiences and travelling tips....
The staff is so helpful and friendly...always smiling...
The owners are always around too and they will always try their best to make your stay memorable.
The food is really tasty and it's always changing and even after a month staying there, I can't remember having the same dish twice!
You should try the fresh baked items...mmmmmmmmmmmm!
DIVING IS GREAT!!!
Doesn't matter which kind of diver you are, you will always find your choice at the Dauin coast.
Muck diving for the critter lovers, beautifull corals and turtles on Apo Island...or drift dives with big groups of barracudas...
I was lucky to see so many froggies there!!
Wonderpuss, tiger shrimp, different types of ghost pipefishes, blue ring octopus, leaf fishes, flying gunards....SO MANY CRITTERS!!!
The dive guides are very good on finding all the smallest critters...and the dive center manager and instructors are proffesional.
But....it's not only diving in the area.....
If you are not interested in diving, there are many other possibilities to do around...specially for nature lovers.
I went to a beautiful and impressive waterfall called Casaroro...it's worth a visit!!
And there are different hikes, lakes and swimming areas as volcanoes aswell.
My next holiday in the Phillipines I will go back to Liquid again!!

So I would like to thank all of you: Zoe & Tim,Darlene & Al,Jim & Michelle, Berlinda, Rocky, Jun, Allan...and ALL the nice staff of the resort....BECAUSE YOU MADE MY TIME THERE!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvita242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Silvia, Thank you for your lovely review. It was great having you stay with us, you really did feel like one of the family and we were all very sorry to see you go. We hope you enjoy your new life in Jordan and come back and see us for some more great diving and trekking!! Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We had the opportunity to spend a few nights at Liquid in early January while on a trip to the Philippines. While we are not divers we had an exceptional time at the resort. The effort put forward by the staff and owners of the resort (Tim and Zoe) to insure a great experience was far beyond what is usually expected when travelling and resulted in us having the great time that we did. We can only imagine how much greater of an experience we would have had if we were divers. Some of the highlights of the resort and our experiences are as follows:

• The food/menu offered by the resort is 1st rate, every night we enjoyed a delicious meal and had the opportunity to get together with other guests during happy hour & dinner. Darlene, Tim’s mom, is an amazing baker; her deserts & cookies are the best. Every night during Happy Hour there’s a 2 for 1 special, the drinks are all excellent but loved the Mojitos the most.

• The resort staff was very friendly and attentive at all times but especially in the dining/bar area for breakfast and dinner.

• The price of the rooms and the meals are more than reasonable and we were actually very surprised at how little the bill was for our stay especially as it included all our meals and drinks.

• The owners Tim and Zoe are both very hands on owners and are fully engaged in the running of the resort including joining guests in the evening for the daily happy hour and group dinner.

• On the day that we were to leave to return to Cebu the main passenger ferries were not operating as there was the potential for a storm to hit the area. Zoe took the time to set up alternative arrangements for us to be able to take a small truck ferry to Cebu Island. This included setting up a van to drive us to the ferry as well as having another driver waiting for us on the other side. Both drivers indicated that Zoe was calling them to follow up on our progress to make sure we arrived at our destination. This was exceptional service that went well beyond what could be expected and took any worries we had about having to change our return trip plans at the last minute.

• Over all we found the resort provided great value for the cost, owners and staff that truly care about their customer’s vacation experience, a great opportunity to meet others and to experience Dumaguete.

Thank you Tim, Zoe, Darlene, Al and all the Staff at Liquid for an excellent stay.

Ken and Kathy

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Kathy and Ken, thank you very much for your lovely review. It is great to hear that you think our resort is good value for money and that you loved the food in the restaurant, especially the cookies and cakes that Darlene makes! We try very hard to offer an eclectic range of foods at a reasonable price. Thank you once again for the lovely review and we hope to see you both back here one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed a week at Liquid. I was looking forward to my stay, as I had read many great reviews. I was not disappointed at all, everything surpassed my expectations! I have been to the Philippines 5 times and this was by far the best experience. The cabins were very comfortable, and the food was terrific, with a snack menu and baked goods available all day. For a solo traveler especially, their 'family style' dinners and pre-dinner happy hour are a great way to be social and get to know people. Tim, Zoe, and all the staff are very kindly and are never in too much hurry to answer questions or just to chat. If you don't require air con (it was certainly cool enough at night in Feb; summer might be hotter, but there is a cooling breeze most of the time.) or TV, this place has everything you need. I was even able to access the wi-fi from my cabin most of the time. They offer useful services like laundry as well, at a reasonable cost.

The coast is mostly sandy bottom, with little creatures (muck diving) but the areas immediately in front of the resort have coral-covered masses (some quite large) that have a big variety of bigger creatures too; jacks, barracudas, turtles etc. And of course there is Siquijor for walls and Apo for corals, which are a a boat ride away. Dive groups are small, about 4-5 people max per divemaster, and they have no problem taking out a single diver; it was just me and the divemaster for a number of my dives.

I didn't do any training dives while there, but I did observe training sessions going on; Liquid is a great place to learn to dive or upgrade your skills. You will get a lot of personal attention, and there is an emphasis on safety and personal comfort with regards to diving conditions.

Overall, this was a marvelous stay, could hardly have been better...can't wait to visit again!

P.S.: Also: I saw about 2 mosquitoes the whole week...this is a big bonus!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the lodge (the non-sea view ones) often allow you to get a wireless signal from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nmcdonald71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiquidDumaguete, Owner at Liquid Dumaguete, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Nathanielle, thank you so much for the lovely review. Very pleased to hear that we surpassed your expectations, this is definitely something that we strive to do with all our guests. Our staff are what make Liquid, so it is wonderful to hear that our guests think all our staff are helpful, nice and generally very happy! We wish you luck with your return to 'the real world' and hope to see you back here one day soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
1.8 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#14 of 35 in Dumaguete City
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dumaguete Springs Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Acqua Dive
Acqua Dive
#1 of 3 in Zamboanguita
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Salaya Beach Houses
Salaya Beach Houses
#7 of 16 in Dauin
54 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wellbeach Dive Resort
Wellbeach Dive Resort
#3 of 3 in Zamboanguita
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liquid Dumaguete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liquid Dumaguete

Address: Km 12.5, Bulak, Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Oriental > Dumaguete City > Dauin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dauin
Price Range: £28 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liquid caters to the modern day traveler that can do without Television, mini bar or a private butler, but still wants a comfortable place to hang their hat. A budget PADI 5* IDC dive resort based in a quiet beach location 25 minutes from Dumaguete city. Scuba diving in the Philippines is amazing, explore it with our PADI 5 Star IDC Dive Resort. Liquid Dive Dumaguete is your home away from home where you are part of the family. Affordable, comfortable modern facilities with a native twist set on a large beach front property with views of Apo and Siquijor Islands. Whether you are a flashpacker, backpacker or holidaymaker Liquid is the place for you. Talk to like minded travelers over family style dinners after a day of world class dives. Our team understand the need for comfort on a budget in a friendly relaxing atmosphere and that's exactly what we offer, after all we live here!! - eat, sleep, dive...live - it's that simple ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Liquid Dumaguete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liquid Dumaguete Philippines/Dauin, Dumaguete City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing